We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I spent three days at the Oceano based upon a friend's recommendation. What a pleasant surprise! Our room was comparable o those we've had at the nearby Ritz. The mini-suite had a included a comfortable seating area with fireplace and an over-sized private balcony with a view of the harbor.

While the hotel amenities (bar, restaurant, spa,etc) are not quite on par with the Ritz, the older facility is very well staffed and maintained and and comfortable. We will definitely go back for another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a large balcony with a view of the harbor. Room 302 is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    114
    39
    23
    20
See reviews for
70
217
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding recently and it was overall a great hotel in a good location. Hotel is in the harbor (not really oceanside) and has nice views of the boats. The rooms are quite nice and new with ocean charm. All of the standard rooms also have a comfy sitting area, 2 TVs, fridge, and Aveda bath products. The rooms themselves are quite nice!

The location is great too- its walking distance to many of the shops and eateries in the area. We enjoyed the Half Moon Bay Brewing company which was right next door.

Tips on rooms:
The room on the 1st floor from 110-120 are literally right next to the ballroom. This is a very popular hotel for weddings and will likely be hosting a wedding there on weekends. If you are part of the wedding, then it might be convienent to stay in these. If not, I would really try to avoid them due to the
loud party noise that will likely go till 11pm.

Room Tip: Tips on rooms: The room on the 1st floor from 110-120 are literally right next to the ballroom. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. We were told we were in the honeymoon suite and we may have been. I expect there were other suites in the hotel which were the same. The room had a nice fireplace, sitting area, balcony with a great view. Cleaning service was very late in the afternoon and had to be requested. Parking garage is great, right under the hotel and elevator takes you to your floor. I wonder about the security with the issue of anyone can enter the parking garage and ride up to any floor. The biggest problem with the hotel is the fog horn which never stops and occurs every eight seconds. You had better bring earplugs. I could be wrong, but it appeared the hotel was cutting back on use of AC in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to put you in a room where you do not hear the fog horn. Good luck with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in one of the villas, it wasn't ocean facing. But the room was huge. Perfect for our group of 4, plus a one yr old. There was a kitchen, since we only stayed one night, we didn't use it. They also provided this white noise machine in the room and it was great. our baby slept so well. The only thing is that the crib feels flimsy and it wasn't set up for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I attended a wedding reception on Aug 30,2013. The facility is beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. The reception staff were amazing. As guests, we had everything we needed, exactly when we needed it, and staff was practically invisible. The food was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very lovely hotel overlooking the marina. The rooms were suites - however we had room 310 which had a very strange layout - king bed had about 5 inches of room on one side next to a half wall making it near impossible to get into the bed on that side -and the a furniture seemed out of place. Turns out our friends showed us their room, and it was wonderful..(.room 310 was much shorter and narrower)...the bed was very comfortable, and the service excellent. I would rate it 5 stars if they had told us about this room and gave us a choice of another room or a discount rate.....It obviously affected my enjoyment of the room by having to slide along the wall and fall into bed backwards!!!! This room would be fine for one person.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina have a bit of street noise, but the ocean view is wonderful and the fog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The friendly staff certainly makes up for the hotel lacking some essentials. The restaurant off the lobby seemed like an afterthought, was kind of dark and cramped. By the time we checked in, around 7, the bar was crowded with what sounded like several loud locals. We aren't against anyone having a good time but it felt like we were crashing a private party. A nice feature of the hotel is the preferred parking spot for hybrid and electric cars. First time we have ever been offered!

Room Tip: Ask not to be over the garage entrance. The balcony is not that private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.