We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time at Oceano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely time at Oceano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Adored my stay here, everything was great from room to staff to location! Loved loved it!! Grew to love the foghorn, sort of a heartbeat after a while....adorable, quirky boutique just down the block, Nasturniums! You won't be disappointed!! Sam's Chowder House and Barbara's Fishtrap both very good!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    77
    28
    19
    11
See reviews for
45
174
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my second stay at the Oceano hotel and spa. Its a very nice hotel over looking the harbor in half-moon bay. I like the rooms on the second floor a lot better, we were on the ground floor this time and the view was not much. There are some great restaurants in the area, the staff very helpful and nice, a little pricy in my opinion, but so is everything in the area. When its hot in the Sacramento area its a great place to go cool off, listen to the fog horn open up and get that ocean breeze. There was one spot in the granit on the half wall in our room that looked like it was missed by the maids, about half dollar size a little nasty looking, and my friends down with us in the next room did not get the water bottles. I will return though, and let them know about these little things in an e mail.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view, ground floor really looses the view of the harbor. If you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice and confortable hotel, whole decoration and ambiance is really perfect, our room was just I requested, from pillows to towels, they did amazing job, I travel with my family so I was really happy; I recommend it for all families and couples!, even solo travelers.
The only thing the place may improve is some nice face or small smile when check in /check out,
so serious the guys in there

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view, anyplace is really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a birthday surprise to find out I was headed to the Oceano at Half Moon Bay! I walked into our suite and had a beautiful floral arrangement waiting for me from my husband. They did an amazing job with his over-the-phone instructions!
We had a harbor view and enjoyed every minute of it including the quaint harbor images and sounds of the fog horn. If you do not like the sound, they supply ear plugs!
Everything is super clean and comfortable. The staff is exceptional and room service delivered promptly with a smile!
Dinner was at Mezza Luna - wonderful and lunch was at Half Moon Bay Brewing Company where the bloody mary's were divine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The best Hotel I've ever been to. Comfortable beds, beautiful room, lovely view. Also enjoyed the gym open from morning till 11 p.m. Spa also available. We truly enjoyed our stay and we recommend this hotel to newly weds and couples. Ideal for families too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are a light sleeper the fog horn might keep you up, it is also close to local business' so early in the morning there is unloading delivery trucks and garbage truck noise. We stayed in the Pier Point which is separate from the main hotel. It was nice and private with a fireplace and harbor view. The room was quite cold until we found the small portable heater in the closet. Free wi fi signal was not strong enough to use at our room. I got the room for $150 so not a bad deal overall.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here when we were traveling down the California coast before heading to Carmel. It was a great spot and beautiful hotel. The room was extremely clean, very up to date, and had every ammenity we needed plus some, although I do not remember a pool here. It was just a quick walk to Half Moon Beach and there are restaurants/cafes right next door. My favorite hotel by far on this particular trip.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the marina. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Moon Bay's newest hotel located on the edge of the Pacific with views of Princeton Harbor, a quaint fishing village. Luxurious furnishings and comforts compliment the maritime setting. The hotel has a large ballroom, meeting rooms, a full bar with food service as well as room service. Weddings and banquets are a specialty. Several fine restaurants are nearby, and local activities include golf, championship surfing, pier and deep sea fishing and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.