We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Oceano Hotel and Spa Half Moon Bay is located in an ideal spot near the marina in Half Moon Bay. Many of the rooms overlook the marina and the room we had was an oversize room with a nice size area for relaxing. There are several restaurants (non chain) within walking distance and some within a short drive of the hotel.

The service from the hotel staff at the front desk was one of the best I have experienced in California. The value at this hotel is underscored being in a great location in the marina.

We will be staying there again when in Half Moon Bay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor do not have as good of a view of the marina as the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    103
    37
    22
    19
See reviews for
64
208
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel one night for a special birthday occasion. The good is that the rooms are spacious, the wifi is free, and the front desk staff seem attentive, responsive, and welcoming. After checking out, I left with the feeling that the place is struggling on many accounts. The decor is confused..is is ocean side or victorian. (sailboats on ball, more victorian furnishings down below except for the glass coffee table with seashells below. Is it arts and crafts...mirrors decorated with buttons.
Unfortunately there were disappointments. Although the wifi is free, it kept dropping connection and I heard other guests talking to the front desk about this also. No fan in the bathroom? Double shower conditioner samples, but no shampoo. For Sunday brunch, wait staff was very insistent we not sit down until the hours listed, but then all of the food was not set out yet either when the time arrived.
Beds are comfortable and the view was nice. Confusion about the bill afterwards with charges not dropping off after calling about an overcharge. Again, while friendly, they seem to be struggling and things just seemed a little off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good location for dining. Rooms are beautiful and clean. Love the fireplace and decor. It is in the harbor so you will want to drive to get to a good beach. We had a last minute family emergency and they were gracious enough to allow us to cancel one of the rooms without charging. Not so much a family hotel but it still worked with our little ones. I would go again on a romantic weekend with my husband for sure.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room so you are not right on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Newish, mid-range resort hotel also promoting - and drawing - small conferences. They ought to improve their level of services or stop pretending that they can accommodate business travelers. The internet service is slow. The business center not up-to-date and not staffed.

That said, the rooms are pretty, and probably a good deal for the price for vacationers. Water views in a small harbor moving from commercial to leisure use. This part of the coast is chilly and fogged in much of the year. But it's pretty when the fog lifts, especially in the short, early spring when the hills are green. The weather makes it a beach resort only for folks who surf in wet suits.

I suppose the price is low because it's not really a beach, not really a resort, the HUGE advantage it does have is proximity to the Bay Area. $95 cab ride from SFO. And, notoriously, there is only one, 2-lane road on this stretch of coast (that's one lane north and one lane south). Traffic is horrendous, so you don't really want to leave your resort and spend your day sitting in traffic.

On the other hand - you can walk (bike, run, ride a horse) for miles north or south along the coast. Half Moon Bay isn't Big Sur, but it is very pretty.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, they all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great little hotel with beachy, old New England feel, but it’s only 5 years old, so everything is new and updated. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Our Princeton Suite had this great sitting area with fireplace, 2nd TV, fridge & wet bar. Balcony with a view of the water, too! Excellent value for the money. Use the “white noise” machine they provide and earplugs if the fog horn bothers you…we did and slept great! You can walk to a variety of good restaurants or the harbor for fishing or whale watching.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san leandro, california
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Oceano Hotel in Half Moon Bay a few times. It's in the coastside foggy town of Half Moon Bay just south of San Francisco. Half Moon Bay used to be a sleepy fishing town known for its rum running back in the Prohibition Era but in the last few years it's changed to be quite a destination. The Oceano was one of the first full resorts to open up in town and it's amazing. It's beautiful spacious rooms have beds so comfy it's hard to get out of them to go walking around. Especially since virtually every room has a view of the bay and harbor. It's within walking distance of amazing seafood and Italian restaurants and just a short walk from Mavericks - one of the most famous big wave surfing beaches in the world. Some people say the sound of the foghorn keeps them awake but it's like a lullaby to me. It's one of our favorite places to go when we want a relaxing getaway that's relatively close to home. It's a little pricey but they often have online specials so you just have to keep an eye out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Bay. You can choose a higher floor where you have a balcony or a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a gem this spa is in our town! I went in this morning with tight shoulders, sore back and just stressed out. I felt calmer as soon as walked in. Courteous and quiet staff, gentle music and aromas. I relax in the lounge for a bit then had the most amazing massage by Stephanie M. I prefer a firm massage and she was perfect. The tension in my shoulders relaxed and my aches disappeared. I walked out with a new lease on the day. Thank you Nichole for listening to my requests!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.