We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Struggling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Struggling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel one night for a special birthday occasion. The good is that the rooms are spacious, the wifi is free, and the front desk staff seem attentive, responsive, and welcoming. After checking out, I left with the feeling that the place is struggling on many accounts. The decor is confused..is is ocean side or victorian. (sailboats on ball, more victorian furnishings down below except for the glass coffee table with seashells below. Is it arts and crafts...mirrors decorated with buttons.
Unfortunately there were disappointments. Although the wifi is free, it kept dropping connection and I heard other guests talking to the front desk about this also. No fan in the bathroom? Double shower conditioner samples, but no shampoo. For Sunday brunch, wait staff was very insistent we not sit down until the hours listed, but then all of the food was not set out yet either when the time arrived.
Beds are comfortable and the view was nice. Confusion about the bill afterwards with charges not dropping off after calling about an overcharge. Again, while friendly, they seem to be struggling and things just seemed a little off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    85
    32
    20
    15
See reviews for
52
187
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good location for dining. Rooms are beautiful and clean. Love the fireplace and decor. It is in the harbor so you will want to drive to get to a good beach. We had a last minute family emergency and they were gracious enough to allow us to cancel one of the rooms without charging. Not so much a family hotel but it still worked with our little ones. I would go again on a romantic weekend with my husband for sure.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room so you are not right on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Newish, mid-range resort hotel also promoting - and drawing - small conferences. They ought to improve their level of services or stop pretending that they can accommodate business travelers. The internet service is slow. The business center not up-to-date and not staffed.

That said, the rooms are pretty, and probably a good deal for the price for vacationers. Water views in a small harbor moving from commercial to leisure use. This part of the coast is chilly and fogged in much of the year. But it's pretty when the fog lifts, especially in the short, early spring when the hills are green. The weather makes it a beach resort only for folks who surf in wet suits.

I suppose the price is low because it's not really a beach, not really a resort, the HUGE advantage it does have is proximity to the Bay Area. $95 cab ride from SFO. And, notoriously, there is only one, 2-lane road on this stretch of coast (that's one lane north and one lane south). Traffic is horrendous, so you don't really want to leave your resort and spend your day sitting in traffic.

On the other hand - you can walk (bike, run, ride a horse) for miles north or south along the coast. Half Moon Bay isn't Big Sur, but it is very pretty.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, they all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great little hotel with beachy, old New England feel, but it’s only 5 years old, so everything is new and updated. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Our Princeton Suite had this great sitting area with fireplace, 2nd TV, fridge & wet bar. Balcony with a view of the water, too! Excellent value for the money. Use the “white noise” machine they provide and earplugs if the fog horn bothers you…we did and slept great! You can walk to a variety of good restaurants or the harbor for fishing or whale watching.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san leandro, california
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Oceano Hotel in Half Moon Bay a few times. It's in the coastside foggy town of Half Moon Bay just south of San Francisco. Half Moon Bay used to be a sleepy fishing town known for its rum running back in the Prohibition Era but in the last few years it's changed to be quite a destination. The Oceano was one of the first full resorts to open up in town and it's amazing. It's beautiful spacious rooms have beds so comfy it's hard to get out of them to go walking around. Especially since virtually every room has a view of the bay and harbor. It's within walking distance of amazing seafood and Italian restaurants and just a short walk from Mavericks - one of the most famous big wave surfing beaches in the world. Some people say the sound of the foghorn keeps them awake but it's like a lullaby to me. It's one of our favorite places to go when we want a relaxing getaway that's relatively close to home. It's a little pricey but they often have online specials so you just have to keep an eye out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Bay. You can choose a higher floor where you have a balcony or a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Granada, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a gem this spa is in our town! I went in this morning with tight shoulders, sore back and just stressed out. I felt calmer as soon as walked in. Courteous and quiet staff, gentle music and aromas. I relax in the lounge for a bit then had the most amazing massage by Stephanie M. I prefer a firm massage and she was perfect. The tension in my shoulders relaxed and my aches disappeared. I walked out with a new lease on the day. Thank you Nichole for listening to my requests!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This boutique hotel, located across from the harbor is luxurious and the lobby is beautiful, very welcoming, with friendly and accommodating staff. Our deluxe king suite was very spacious decorated with the white "distressed" furniture decor. The sitting area had a flat screen on the wall, fireplace, wet bar. The fridge had a strong fishy smell; must have been a leftover dinner that was leftover way too long. Too bad housekeeping couldn’t have placed a box of baking soda in there to take care of the odor. That was the only minus (and a small one). Nice size bathroom with tub and separate shower. The king size bed was very comfortable with soft linens and pillows. You could hear the fog horn off in the distance which didn’t disturb my sleep at all (they have ear plugs in case you need them). There is also another flat screen in the hutch. We enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant (they have a small breakfast buffet on Sunday which has the usual fare; toast, eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast, hash brown potatoes, bagels with smoked salmon, fresh fruit (very good), yogurt, pastries, orange juice, coffee, tea. They also have room service which is a nice touch and free internet. I didn't take advantage of their spa services, so I cannot comment on that. We enjoyed our stay at Oceano and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A room facing the harbor is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Moon Bay's newest hotel located on the edge of the Pacific with views of Princeton Harbor, a quaint fishing village. Luxurious furnishings and comforts compliment the maritime setting. The hotel has a large ballroom, meeting rooms, a full bar with food service as well as room service. Weddings and banquets are a specialty. Several fine restaurants are nearby, and local activities include golf, championship surfing, pier and deep sea fishing and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.