We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed during the weekend of February 16-17. This place was great. The staff, the location everything was perfect! It is within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. Absolutely no complaints. If you are headed to Half Moon Bay definitely consider this place for your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    85
    32
    20
    15
See reviews for
52
187
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Although this is far from a cheap option, there's no doubt this hotel has a great location overlooking the harbour and is of a very high quality. We were going on a boat trip first thing in the morning and the location was perfect, being only a 5 min walk to the departure point.

Our suite was superb - beautifully finished, spacious and well furnished with a balcony affording sea views. The staff were very efficient and willing to help. Reasonably priced food is available in the bar and there's a great "pub" serving Half Moon Bay Brewing Company's excellent beer, just up the road.

Room Tip: Suites with harbour views are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had our wedding here and it was an amazing experience. The staff here is amazing. The venue itself is beautiful. They specifically have an outdoor ceremony area as well as an outdoor reception option during the Spring and Summer. For anyone getting married the beauty of this place is they are able to provide everything. We didn't even buy or make table centerpieces. The food also is very good.

For anyone looking for a getaway this hotel is an amazing option for that as well. I got to stay in one of the bigger suites and on the night before one of the regular suites. All the rooms are amazing and come equipped with a gas fire place and a small living area. Even the smallest rooms are quite large. I believe every room also has a patio.

The hotel is located in a nice little area with some other restaurants right near a small pier.

One other thing, this is also the location where the Maverick's surf contest festival is held.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel with nice size rooms. Amenities are top notch and the location is wonderful. If you are on the ocean side you may hear the fog horn all day every few seconds., it did not bother me. I was there was a business event, food was well prepared.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

we loved the Hotel,service,room,location,spa. the day of the Mavericks on Sunday we ask how to get into event that was held at Oceano. We would have to pay $20 a piece to get in. The gentleman behind the counter gave us 2 free passes. It happened to be my girlfriends birthday. Thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the second week of January...What an AWESOME location !! We came here to enjoy harbor views and to enjoy the local seafood.--being Steps away from the wharf restaurants and shops was a PLUS. Half Moon Bay is a small working mans fishing town--couple of days at the Oceano is all it takes to enjoy this.
I would definately upgrade to the second floor as the views are amazing. Our room, 2036 was amazing. Vaulted ceilings, large sitting area to include 50" flat screen, fireplace, granite mini bar area and a small kitchen table. The balcony was dead center of the harbor with amazing sunsets.
Room service was decent, prices were VERY reasonable. Spa treatments seemed a "bit" pricey.
When we go back to Half Moon bay WE found our place at the Oceano !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Lovely room with a small balcony and nice view of the harbor. We had a deluxe room which is laid out like a studio. Very nice amenities. We got a deal through travelzoo so it was reasonably priced. Came with a voucher for the restaurant which is more like a bar, reasonably priced but mediocre. One design flaw, there is a window over the sliding door that lets light in. Made it difficult to sleep late.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Moon Bay's newest hotel located on the edge of the Pacific with views of Princeton Harbor, a quaint fishing village. Luxurious furnishings and comforts compliment the maritime setting. The hotel has a large ballroom, meeting rooms, a full bar with food service as well as room service. Weddings and banquets are a specialty. Several fine restaurants are nearby, and local activities include golf, championship surfing, pier and deep sea fishing and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;