We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had our wedding here and it was an amazing experience. The staff here is amazing. The venue itself is beautiful. They specifically have an outdoor ceremony area as well as an outdoor reception option during the Spring and Summer. For anyone getting married the beauty of this place is they are able to provide everything. We didn't even buy or make table centerpieces. The food also is very good.

For anyone looking for a getaway this hotel is an amazing option for that as well. I got to stay in one of the bigger suites and on the night before one of the regular suites. All the rooms are amazing and come equipped with a gas fire place and a small living area. Even the smallest rooms are quite large. I believe every room also has a patio.

The hotel is located in a nice little area with some other restaurants right near a small pier.

One other thing, this is also the location where the Maverick's surf contest festival is held.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel with nice size rooms. Amenities are top notch and the location is wonderful. If you are on the ocean side you may hear the fog horn all day every few seconds., it did not bother me. I was there was a business event, food was well prepared.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajivT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

we loved the Hotel,service,room,location,spa. the day of the Mavericks on Sunday we ask how to get into event that was held at Oceano. We would have to pay $20 a piece to get in. The gentleman behind the counter gave us 2 free passes. It happened to be my girlfriends birthday. Thanks for the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the second week of January...What an AWESOME location !! We came here to enjoy harbor views and to enjoy the local seafood.--being Steps away from the wharf restaurants and shops was a PLUS. Half Moon Bay is a small working mans fishing town--couple of days at the Oceano is all it takes to enjoy this.
I would definately upgrade to the second floor as the views are amazing. Our room, 2036 was amazing. Vaulted ceilings, large sitting area to include 50" flat screen, fireplace, granite mini bar area and a small kitchen table. The balcony was dead center of the harbor with amazing sunsets.
Room service was decent, prices were VERY reasonable. Spa treatments seemed a "bit" pricey.
When we go back to Half Moon bay WE found our place at the Oceano !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Lovely room with a small balcony and nice view of the harbor. We had a deluxe room which is laid out like a studio. Very nice amenities. We got a deal through travelzoo so it was reasonably priced. Came with a voucher for the restaurant which is more like a bar, reasonably priced but mediocre. One design flaw, there is a window over the sliding door that lets light in. Made it difficult to sleep late.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank creativity2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock, california
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were invited to a New Year's Eve wedding to be held at the Oceano. Not wanting to drink and drive we took advantage of their room discount which was what I thought the room should be going for, not liking to spend $300 to sleep! The spacious room and view of the harbor were well worth it, furnishings interesting and not at all average hotel decor. They went with an ocean theme! What a concept. We did complain about the poor internet and rec'd our $5 back, but another guest got free wi-fi! And after reading other reviews we wondered where our bathrobes were! I'd like to go back to Half Moon Bay to spend time in the town and area but I think we'd rather stay closer in to town. In addition, the adjoining shops weren't all that interesting and most were empty!! I must compliment the hotel on their friendly and helpful staff. They were always smiling and more than ready to help. By the way, we hardly heard the fog horn and were in room 320....stay on the 3rd floor if at all possible.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor and away from the banquet rooms if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Oceano Hotel on our drive from San Francisco to Carmel. Our room was excellent with a living and kitchen/dinette area. Not an awful lot to do in the immedfiate area but worth driving into Half Moon Bay itself for quaint shops. We drove down the coast in the evening for dinner at a beach restaurant as there isnt much in the hotel area. The hotel is clean, nicely furnished and we would stay there again. We were lucky the fog horn didnt bother us!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
5.8 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
1.5 mi away
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
Cypress Inn on Miramar Beach
#1 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay Harbor, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Half Moon Bay Harbor, the Oceano is one of the Bay Area's favorite hotels. Luxurious suites boast private balconies and fireplaces within a seaport architectural style. The hotel offers over 12,000 square feet of outdoor and indoor meeting space including the Grand Ballroom, meeting rooms with ocean views, and outdoor garden and tent space. The lobby Bar and Grill offers guests casual coastal fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner or private in-room dining. With coastal views and dedicated events staff, Weddings and banquets are our specialty. Several fine restaurants and boutiques within walking distance. Surrounding activities include golf, championship surfing, kayaking, pier and deep sea fishing, horseback riding, sailing, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing