We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a couple to find some relaxation time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for a couple to find some relaxation time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the Oceano for two nights. The hotel is very close to the ocean and I believe most of the rooms have some kind of a view. The rooms are very large and have a gas fireplace, a nice touch which my wife enjoyed immensely. Our room also had a mini refrigerator, safe, robes, balcony and coffee maker. Only the single serve coffee maker could use an upgrade, the rest of the room was newly appointed. We had the lowest price room, and it was great. Several restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel. We did not use the spa so I have no knowledge or recommendation of it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    91
    34
    21
    17
See reviews for
55
193
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the Oceano for one night for a family reunion. The hotel is very close to the ocean and I believe most of the rooms have some kind of a view. The rooms are very large and have a gas fireplace, a nice touch. Our room also had a mini refrigerator, safe, robes, balcony and coffee maker. Since we had the lowest price room, I assume all the rooms have these amenities.

The gym was excellent and there was only one other person working out when my husband used it. The gym hours are 5 am to 11 pm.

One thing we didn’t like was the early checkout-11:00 (even though the directory of hotel services in our room said that checkout was 12:00). Underground parking was plentiful and free of charge.

We had the breakfast buffet in the hotel’s restaurant, which was a good value at $15.00. The restaurant is quite small and is little more than a bar and breakfast room. There are several nice restaurants within walking distance. We had dinner at one of them, Mezza Luna, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

my family (wife and two kids, 6 month and 3 years old) spent 1 night at this hotel in July. everything that is advertised is true, beautiful hotel, nice view of the bay, spacious room. HOWEVER, to our big disappointment they did not have any crib for our youngest son; they just said they didn't provide cribs, but could give us more pillows instead...! in my opinion, it is just unacceptable that an hotel of this level is not equipped for families, or at least does not advise you of such inconvenience when you book your room, especially when you pay 350 usd for one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My sister and I had the "Royal Treatment"at the spa. It was awesome! Everyone at hotel was very friendly. We did not go without any need meet. Can't wait until the next trip. Next time we might try leaving the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned home from my daughter's wedding at the Oceano Hotel in Half Moon Bay. There are not enough thank you's on this planet to express my gratitude to Nancy Nerhan and her staff. Nancy is the events and banquet planner and she did more than just help plan this wedding. She went above and beyond anything I could ever imagine possible. And she did it with kindness, grace and love that poured from her heart. This woman is amazing in the way she puts everyone at ease and makes every little detail come together. From the rehearsal dinner, right down to the most gorgeous beach site ceremony and then back to the hotel for the dinner and reception. There was not one nano second that I felt nervous or troubled that something might go wrong. She had everything flowing perfectly and her staff feeds off of her energy. It is very obvious that they adore her as we also came to do. You cannot help it. Members of the groom's family are Vegan and she made sure that they had food to suit them. And speaking of food....holy smokes...talk about delicious. It was all fresh and the meat and fish were cooked perfectly. Nancy was with us every step of the way to make sure that my daughter's wedding was "what she dreamed of". The bride and groom also spent the rest of the weekend at the hotel for a little bit of R&R after the wedding and Nancy was still making sure they were comfortable and being taken care of with some extra goodies in their room. Anyone thinking of going to the Ritz for a wedding should just drop the thought...go see Nancy at the Oceano. You will NOT be sorry!!! One more thing, this hotel is beautiful and so clean and you cannot help but love the little shopping mall attached. I did get a chance to be in my daughter's suite...amazing!!! My daughter treated her new husband to a massage in the Spa. He said it was the best massage he ever had!! If you want the total experience, just go to the Oceano!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is our second time to stay at the Oceano hotel and we continue to love it here. We had a 3rd floor room this time...a Deluxe King Suite...that faced the harbor, it was wonderful. My wife especially loved sitting on the balcony, watching the boats come and go...and also loved the soaking tub in the bath.

As others have said, the Oceano staff are truly wonderful. The first room we were booked into was reversed, according to our tastes, and we were cheerfully moved to another just down the hall. At most places you just have to take what they give you...but not here!

In-suite breakfast, and even dinner, is delightful if one is just too tired to visit one of the nearby restaurants. On our last night, we went to Mezza Luna, a wonderful Italian resturant within easy walking distance, and enjoyed the authentic seafood cuisine that they offered.

All in all, the Oceano is the best hotel in the area and we will return here again and again when visiting the North Coast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I planned an overnighter in Half Moon Bay - original thought was the Ritz-Carlton, but at almost $600/night, decided to book at the Oceano. The only other option in Half Moon Bay (if you're looking for an onsite spa) is the Beach House which is just about a mile south of Oceano. Booked a King Suite at the Oceano which had a nice view of the harbor/ocean, and is conveniently located across from the famous Barbara's Fishtrap and a number of other places to eat.Location on the harbor is nice, but if you want to be next the beach, then the Beach House is the better bet. Oceano was clean and quiet, front desk service was excellent, has underground (free) parking. Entrance to the spa was outside of the resort, a bit strange not to have access from inside the property. Spa was small, and uncrowded, in fact it was only my wife and I at the time. However, it was clean, professional and the services were typical resort spa quality (along with resort spa prices).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay

Address: 280 Capistrano Road, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half Moon Bay's newest hotel located on the edge of the Pacific with views of Princeton Harbor, a quaint fishing village. Luxurious furnishings and comforts compliment the maritime setting. The hotel has a large ballroom, meeting rooms, a full bar with food service as well as room service. Weddings and banquets are a specialty. Several fine restaurants are nearby, and local activities include golf, championship surfing, pier and deep sea fishing and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceano Hotel And Spa Half Moon Bay
Oceano Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.