We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Save Saved
You added Sonoma Orchid Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sonoma Orchid Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12850 River Rd., Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
4th Night is Free
Ranked #2 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

After a night camping and getting ravaged by racoons in Yosemite, this was just perfect. Great place to chill out, either in the lounge (I played the piano when no one was around), or outside by the wonderful hot tub. Already lots of good comments about breakfast, cookies, etc. but coffee was great too and Brian and Dara hooked us up with a great driver, Sonia, who did us an amazing tour of 8 wineries - typical british tourists - but it was the best day of our holiday. the place is wonderfully twee, homely and relaxing and the pets add to it. Getting up for breakfast at 9 is well worth it to meet some of the other fun guests - a great mix of ages/backgrounds and all good fun. Flashy hotel it is not (we did that in Vegas), but homely relaxed vibe and comfy beds it is - its like staying with a long lost uncle! We'll be back!

Room Tip: we stayed in the main house and away from the road - would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    35
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
123
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This place was great! We loved the amazing breakfasts every morning (decadent french toast soufflé for example) and all of the small details that Brian and Dana paid attention to- homemade cookies in the guest kitchen, newspaper and DVD’s for guests, towels nicely rolled up outside by the hot tub- were really appreciated. We also loved the abundance of antiques and other great home décor pieces that made for a really cute B&B feel. The fact that all of the eggs and vegetables come fresh from their property is another plus! I see other reviews that comment on the noise, but we were not bothered at all and I am VERY sensitive to noise. We were in the Madrone so I can speak to that room and say it was quiet!

The inn is located a very short distance from the Red Wood Forrest and coast and definitely in a ‘small town,’ so if you are looking for rustic (in a nice, not crappy way!) this would be a good fit for you. For us, it was perfect as we were going for a cute bed and breakfast feel.

Overall we had a great experience and would definitely come back. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great hosts, great breakfasts, and just generally cute! Thanks Brian and Dana!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This romantic hide away is situated right next to the Russian River, and all the highlights of Sonomas vineyards and restaurants are within easy reach.
The lively River Road separates you from the river, but the traffic dies pretty much down during the night, and the bedroom of our Laurel suite is amazingly well protected from all noises the outer world might have in store for you.
Still one should not be too sensitive to surrounding noises: Being located in an historical wood house this inn is all but soundproof. So bring your earmuffs if you are easily disturbed!
The delicious breakfast is served at precisely 9 a.m. on two large tables, nice for social butterflies and it is very, very useful to have the two hosts help you organise your day and provide you with advice, everybody tends to participate, which can be great fun!
Last not least: That guest house is furnished with a really exquisite taste and with much love. Look closer, you will discover lots of beautiful, cute and surprising details. Please, treat it all with the same care and love the owners have for you as guest!

Room Tip: Laurel suite has a pretty soundproof bedroom as far as the street noise is concerned, the cabin behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The location is right by a noisy road. Our cabin seemed a bit dingy with stained carpet and the towels smelled of mildew. Killed about 5 wasps and flies in our room but that is probably seasonal. The breakfast wasn't bad but it was pretty light and we left still feeling hungry. Inside of the farmhouse is quaint and it was nice dining family style with other guests for breakfast. There is a separate guest kitchen with fridge and all the utencils and plates/glasses you need for enjoying wine and cheese, etc. from the neighboring vineyards. The town of Guerneville is a bit funky, and I didn't realize the town is billed as being the "ultimate gay and lesbian playground" - so there you go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hosts are terrific, served the best breakfast I've had anywhere, and were extremely helpful in helping us plan our days. The rooms itself was only OK: Small, dark, and with traffic noise (although the traffic was not unbearable).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is not a hotel at all, it's a bed and breakfast. The grounds feel a little like a summer camp site more than a hotel or inn, but our individual room was very very comfortable. The bedsheets are so luxurious, and each room has a private entrance and a private bathroom. The communal kitchen is stocked with plenty of wine glasses, cheese boards, and mugs that my husband and I used daily for wine and cheese we bought at nearby vineyards that we visited (and no, we didn't have to do the dishes). We loved the fresh baked cookies and tea, and the breakfasts were delicious and unique. We enjoyed socializing with the other guests over breakfast, something you definitely don't get at a hotel. The owners Dana and Brian were really knowledgeable about nearby restaurants, vineyards, and attractions and were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

nice b,b but much more like an inn or small hotel, nice range of rooms and a range of prices , owners really helpful , family style breakfasts with all guest around two tables which is great to chat , might not suit everyone.
In good location outside town but on main road so easy to find near vineyard .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Address: 12850 River Rd., Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Orchid Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.