We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roaring russian river road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sonoma Orchid Inn to your Saves list
Sonoma Orchid Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12850 River Rd., Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
4th Night is Free
Ranked #4 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“roaring russian river road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This romantic hide away is situated right next to the Russian River, and all the highlights of Sonomas vineyards and restaurants are within easy reach.
The lively River Road separates you from the river, but the traffic dies pretty much down during the night, and the bedroom of our Laurel suite is amazingly well protected from all noises the outer world might have in store for you.
Still one should not be too sensitive to surrounding noises: Being located in an historical wood house this inn is all but soundproof. So bring your earmuffs if you are easily disturbed!
The delicious breakfast is served at precisely 9 a.m. on two large tables, nice for social butterflies and it is very, very useful to have the two hosts help you organise your day and provide you with advice, everybody tends to participate, which can be great fun!
Last not least: That guest house is furnished with a really exquisite taste and with much love. Look closer, you will discover lots of beautiful, cute and surprising details. Please, treat it all with the same care and love the owners have for you as guest!

Room Tip: Laurel suite has a pretty soundproof bedroom as far as the street noise is concerned, the cabin behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    36
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
128
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The location is right by a noisy road. Our cabin seemed a bit dingy with stained carpet and the towels smelled of mildew. Killed about 5 wasps and flies in our room but that is probably seasonal. The breakfast wasn't bad but it was pretty light and we left still feeling hungry. Inside of the farmhouse is quaint and it was nice dining family style with other guests for breakfast. There is a separate guest kitchen with fridge and all the utencils and plates/glasses you need for enjoying wine and cheese, etc. from the neighboring vineyards. The town of Guerneville is a bit funky, and I didn't realize the town is billed as being the "ultimate gay and lesbian playground" - so there you go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hosts are terrific, served the best breakfast I've had anywhere, and were extremely helpful in helping us plan our days. The rooms itself was only OK: Small, dark, and with traffic noise (although the traffic was not unbearable).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is not a hotel at all, it's a bed and breakfast. The grounds feel a little like a summer camp site more than a hotel or inn, but our individual room was very very comfortable. The bedsheets are so luxurious, and each room has a private entrance and a private bathroom. The communal kitchen is stocked with plenty of wine glasses, cheese boards, and mugs that my husband and I used daily for wine and cheese we bought at nearby vineyards that we visited (and no, we didn't have to do the dishes). We loved the fresh baked cookies and tea, and the breakfasts were delicious and unique. We enjoyed socializing with the other guests over breakfast, something you definitely don't get at a hotel. The owners Dana and Brian were really knowledgeable about nearby restaurants, vineyards, and attractions and were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

nice b,b but much more like an inn or small hotel, nice range of rooms and a range of prices , owners really helpful , family style breakfasts with all guest around two tables which is great to chat , might not suit everyone.
In good location outside town but on main road so easy to find near vineyard .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you want luxury, don't go here. If you want nice people, great breakfasts, and comfortable lodgings in the country, this place is for you. Our room was comfortable and it seemed the bathroom had a recent makeover. The grounds of the Inn are very nice, with lots of flowers and trees and chairs to sit around and enjoy life. Brian and Dana make you feel very welcome and are great at giving suggestions of places to visit or tours to take. And the breakfasts, well, they are just terrific. We stayed three nights and were disappointed to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed were looking for several days to explore wine country and get away from the noise and hustle of work. We found the perfect place at Brian and Dana's quaint bed & breakfast. The food was made daily, with fresh baked cookies everyday, and the fruits and vegetables picked fresh from their garden on location! They are amazing hosts, very accommodating, and so friendly. Don't let the noise from River Road deter you from staying here. While the cars zooming by every now and then were indeed noticeable, they did not take away from our great experience. The room we stayed in was the Wisteria. It is relatively small, but had a queen size bed and plenty of floor space to play dominoes, watch DVDs, and spread out our luggage for four days. It had plenty of natural lighting and was very well kept. I highly recommend the Sonoma Orchid Inn to anyone wanting to getaway from city life and spend some time along the Russian River.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the the main highway to avoid unwanted noise during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Address: 12850 River Rd., Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Orchid Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.