We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoma Orchid Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sonoma Orchid Inn to your Saves list
Sonoma Orchid Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12850 River Rd., Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Kapaa, Hawaii
1 review
“Amazing Experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed were looking for several days to explore wine country and get away from the noise and hustle of work. We found the perfect place at Brian and Dana's quaint bed & breakfast. The food was made daily, with fresh baked cookies everyday, and the fruits and vegetables picked fresh from their garden on location! They are amazing hosts, very accommodating, and so friendly. Don't let the noise from River Road deter you from staying here. While the cars zooming by every now and then were indeed noticeable, they did not take away from our great experience. The room we stayed in was the Wisteria. It is relatively small, but had a queen size bed and plenty of floor space to play dominoes, watch DVDs, and spread out our luggage for four days. It had plenty of natural lighting and was very well kept. I highly recommend the Sonoma Orchid Inn to anyone wanting to getaway from city life and spend some time along the Russian River.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the the main highway to avoid unwanted noise during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    38
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
133
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Sonoma Orchid Inn is just the right distance from Guerneville, wineries and the coast. Very attractively renovated historic home and buildings with a personal touch. Dana and Brian's suggestions on places to visit were spot on and made our stay very enjoyable. We enjoyed the breakfasts--good coffee and tea, lovely fruit, etcetera. We stayed in the Hawthorne room which is spacious and private. The guest kitchen and sitting room with lovely antiques, books and seating in the main house were warm and user-friendly. Great hosts and a great country retreat.

Room Tip: Check out the website photos and check with Dana or Brian about room size and the quiestest rooms, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This little spot is nicely tucked up over the main drag out of sight. We stayed in one of the lower floor rooms, it was a little cool and damp smelling but nicely put together. The hot tub under the tree's was perfect. Thankfully here was a well stocked guest kitchen and the main living room area have a wonderful fireplace with lots of comfy seating. Breakfast was a huge surprise, it was so delicious and gourmet, Dana and Brian really make this a special place to stay. After breakfast they take the time to make sure everyone has their plans ironed out for the day, helping with questions or reservations. We loved our stay and look forward to going back, we stayed in July 2011.

Room Tip: Since it's an older house the floors can we a little squeaky, try and stay in the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

After reading a neat Wine Country travel article in our local newspaper (Austin-American Statesman) then re-checking internet info, we were confident the Sonoma Orchid Inn was a dandy location for our 3-nite home-base stay in the Sonoma Valley. What a pleasure for us to finally hit the jackpot! From our first welcome greeting by Dana and two of their "furry kids" to enjoying that final delicious breakfast spread prepared and served by Dana & Brian, this Inn truly exceeded our expectations. We chose the Madrone room because it has a private patio....good choice, so comfy and quiet. Last but not least, the Inn's location was perfect for visiting wineries as well as driving North & South along the picturesque California coast. Thanks y'all for your great hospitality!!
Ruth & B - Cedar Park, TX

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the inn and really enjoyed it. Owners Dana and Brian make you feel at home and have a delightful property with 9 rooms and a lovely grounds complete with hens that provide eggs for breakfast. Our room (narcissus) was small but clean. Breakfast is served family style at 9 daily and there is a community kitchen with juice coffee tea and home made cookies open 24/7. We will be back!
Sherry & Gary. Dallas tx

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I planned this get away with my wife for my birthday. I am an Internet guy and looked up the reviews on many bed and breakfasts before deciding on the Sonoma Orchid Inn. It was just perfect for us. We had barely parked when Brian came out to meet us and show us the facilities. This was just typical of our three day stay with the guys. Whenever we needed them, there were there and so helpful. When we wanted quiet and privacy they were elsewhere. The breakfast was served promptly at 9am, and on one of the days when we were to head out early, they even offered to put a little something together for us before we left. This was so typical of the caring service that we received during our stay. We stayed in the Hawthorne Cottage. Our room had a wood burning fireplace and a king sized sleigh bed.
There are several things to do in the area. We rented canoes and paddled down the Russian River for 3 hours stopping for a wonderful lunch on a private sandbar on one of the days. Another day, we rode a Zip-line through the redwood forest. Brian even clued us in on a local firework show that happened a few days before the 4th of July. We would have never known....
We stayed in a very nice B and B in Napa Valley the night before our stay at the Sonoma Orchid Inn, and my wife said that although the other place was very nice as well, she preferred our nights in Guerneville. She felt that they innkeepers really went out of their way to care for us. We appreciate that sort of thing.

Room Tip: We were in the Hawthorne Cottage. It was really nice with a fireplace and comfy sitting chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Our particular room (Wisteria) was near the main street, so noisy. My husband thought the room was too small. I thought our room smelled like an outhouse. (When we arrived, we were told they just steam cleaned the carpet and had fans going to get it dry.) The other rooms might be great--we don't know. Breakfast was nice, but not awesome like in some B&B's. It is not served until 9 AM. Our personal taste would be to have it earlier. The free wifi was weak in our room, but was excellent in the public room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonoma Orchid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Orchid Inn

Address: 12850 River Rd., Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly Ridenhour Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoma Orchid Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonoma Orchid Inn - it's all about location, stylish comfort and convenience. Exit the urban scene for an escape to the country. The redwoods rise, the vineyards yield fog-kissed premier Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, the coast beckons, and the scenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonoma Orchid Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Orchid Hotel Guerneville
Sonoma Orchid Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoma Orchid Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.