We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Convenient, Clean and Reasonable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River to your Saves list
Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
4444 Wood Road, Guerneville, CA 95446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPRING and SUMMER SALE
Ranked #6 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, Convenient, Clean and Reasonable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We chose the Rio Nido Lodge before heading to Sonoma County, because it is small, reasonably priced, and both close to the coastline and the many wineries in that area. We were greeted and treated like very welcomed guests by the host/owners. Their efforts to upgrade this old lodge, which they recently purchased, are evident everywhere. The rooms are small but finished with a nod toward luxury and a good price! The area is quiet and off the main highway which adds appeal for us. It is mostly very quiet, but I'd recommend choosing the side toward the parking area if cars going by early morning or late at night, as they do on the neighborhood side, might bother you. The full breakfast Brett prepares is delicious and nutritious and made to order. We so enjoyed coming "home" to the Rio Nido among the redwoods during our mid-week stay.

Room Tip: Choose the parking lot side of the lodge if road noise bothers you and you sleep with windows open.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Accommodations along the Russian River run from ridiculously expensive to dumpy. Rio Nido Lodge is a wonderful option. Priced hundreds below their competition, RNL is a jewel. I could tell from the moment we entered our room, that somebody knew their hotel stuff, as the room looked like a mini-version of the Carlton-Ritz. Well ... Brett spent years working for them, and understands the comforts travelers want and expect. The bed was wonderful - firm, good pillows (not too squishy), zillion-count sheets, double bagged comforter (thank you Brett!!)! The room well appointed and very clean. For a very, very old inn, all considered, the modernized touches were everywhere. We noticed, and we appreciated it! The inn is located off the noisy highway, in a dense redwood forest, and it was dead quiet during the evening hours. Perfect for deep sleep. Our hosts were up early, readying the kitchen for breakfast. We loved ordering from a menu - thank you for the wonderful selection! The scramble was cooked to perfection, and with an abundance of hot coffee, the perfect start for our day of adventure along the Russian River. We'll definately stay at the RNL again, and hope you will too!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front office are quieter, and away from foot and car traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Everything said about the welcoming hosts, food and comfort of the rooms is true. The added, wonderful bonus is that the Lodge is right in the middle of a grove of old redwoods which provide shade, coolness and beauty. Noise is not an issue, but when the perfect stillness is occasionally interrupted by a car or garbage truck, one might notice the change. We did not hear a sound from the Roadhouse, but were not there on a Saturday. The hosts just bought the property in July, 2013. They have done a great deal of work on it and will continue to do so, which means that it can only get better.

Room Tip: Travellers with mobility issues should note that the upstairs rooms are accessed by a steep, narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent three night in the Rio Nido Lodge in the middle of a touring holiday. It was a great place for a relaxing break with lots to do in the surrounding area. Plenty of wineries nearby and restaurants in Guerneville. Our hosts were very welcoming. Breakfast cooked fresh every morning by Brett which was excellent, homemade jam and excellent coffee on tap. The bedroom was clean and had everything we needed for a weekend stay.
Brett and Yulia have been doing up the Lodge since July and there is a theatre attached which might provide additional entertainment. There is a roadhouse opposite the hotel which provides food at reasonable cost. Noise from the theatre and the roadhouse did not impact on our stay.
Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The road alongside the Russian River is busy and noisy, yet the hotel is far enough away from the road that we didn't hear any road noise. Many of the other hotels in the area are right on the road and must be very noisy.
The rooms were lovely, very comfortable and well appointed. The rooms are cool as they are in the tall redwood trees.
The owners of the hotel were welcoming and provided excellent personal service.
The breakfast is made to order and has to be the best we have had on our trip around California.
The hotel rates are very reasonable and provides excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I found the Rio Nido Lodge because for my boyfriend's 30 birthday and I wanted to take him to a bar in the middle of nowhere, but I also didn't want to have to commit to driving us all the way home. I saw the Rio Nido Roadhouse while on a camping trip and decided that was the perfect place. So I did some research online and found the Rio NIdo Lodge! I was so amazed by the service that Brett and Yulia gave us. The breakfast they make in the morning is absolutely amazing-and they add little touches each morning to make it different. We were there for two nights and on the second night they left my boyfriend and I a gift for his birthday: homemade chocolate covered strawberries. They were delicious!!! The scenery in Rio Nido and its surroundings is beautiful...so many things to do! Anywho, to sum it up: Brett and Yulia are so incredibly accommodating and the Rio Nido Lodge couldn't be in a better spot!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stopped here late one night on the way up the coast. The 100 year building is has great charm and Brett and Yulia are doing a nice job renovating. Our room was clean, the staff friendly and a free full breakfast is included. It is tucked away in the redwoods only a few minutes from Guerneville, Duncan's Mills and Highway 1. The setting is very quiet and peaceful. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River

Address: 4444 Wood Road, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful respite in a picturesque spot with the redwoods providing a serene backdrop where modern meets rustic. This almost 100 year old Lodge has lots of unique accommodations to offer. All rooms with one king or one queen bed for a perfect adult getaway. Banquet and meeting space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Nido Lodge At The Russian River Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.