We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth your time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porter-Bass Vineyard and Winery

Porter-Bass Vineyard and Winery
11750 Mays Canyon Road, Guerneville, CA 95446
707-869-1475
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Attractions in Guerneville
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth your time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found this winery on the internet. They do wine tasting by appointment only so we made an appointment the day before. It is a wonderful little family owned winery. The owners are very pleasant people and are working hard to produce quality organic wines. For many reasons that were explained to me they not be labeled organic but they do work hard to grown and harvest their grapes without pesticides. We had a nice little visit with them explaining the history of their winery and how they grow and harvest their grapes. Wine tasting was done underneath a tree in front of their home. We found the wines to be of good quality and were happy to purchase a few bottles. If you like to discover small little out of the norm wineries this is definitely worth it. We would go back again and highly recommend it to anyone we knew that was going to be in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Family owned small Winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

On a recent trip to Guerneville we stopped by at the Porter-Bass Winery, in part due to the couple of great TA reviews. I must say I was not disappointed.
As mentioned by others, its a bit out of the way. But that assures you that probably you are the only one at the Winery. Our 2 yr old had a great time chatting up the ducks and chicken that were roaming the farm property, while wife & I chatted up with the Owner/wife about wine, their foray into this business, region, and how they have managed to survive while still remaining to stay small. It was enlightening as well as fascinating to get to know them.
The Wines we tasted were also quite good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you are into wine, meeting the owner and spending quality time talking about their products Porter Bass is an absolute must! While it is appointment only and more than a bit out of the way, it is well worth the time. A VERY SMALL bio-dynamic winery they produce a limited selection with cases numbered in the hundreds. But what they produce is, some of the best wines I have tasted anywhere. While the high quality and small production is reflected in the price, it is more than reasonable for what you are getting. A fabulous winery we (wife and I) will make a point of returning to whenever in the Russian River area!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming Family owned Vineyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Sitting beneath the walnut tree, I tasted several varietals of wine and learned a great deal about the beginnings of this charming family owned vineyard.
The grounds are picturesque, the family is friendly and knowledgeable and the wines are delightful.
Its a nice stop without having to drive too far outside of the city of Guernville.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porter-Bass Vineyard and Winery also viewed

 
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Porter-Bass Vineyard and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porter-Bass Vineyard and Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.