We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scones to Die For!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Grove Cottages

Save Saved
You added Fern Grove Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fern Grove Cottages
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   16650 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Ferndale CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Scones to Die For!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We just spent one night at Fern Grove Cottages in a cute little cottage. It was old, funky, and cozy! The gas fireplace kept the place comfy. The grounds were lovely, even in early December! The best thing about the experience, however, was the marvelous breakfast. Freshly baked scones, yummy biscuits, fresh fruits, breakfast breads, and good coffee + good company made for an outstanding breakfast. And, the house-made lemon curd was amazingly tasty!

No, it's not plush or modern, but Fern Grove Cottages is a good choice when staying in Guerneville.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    36
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
71
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Fern Grove for 2 nights. The cottages were darling and clean with comfy beds and within walking distance to town. The Armstrong redwoods were maybe 5 minutes away, don't miss them. We had a gas fireplace in our room with a little kitchen (microwave no stove). This worked out perfectly. The breakfast was wonderful. Homemade lemon curd, scones, granola and jams in the cozy dining room. The grounds were beautifuly maintained. Margrett the Inn Keeper and her staff were warm and friendly. The rates were afforadable. We would surley stay at Fern Grove again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

After finding this wonderful B and B purely by fluke it is unlikely that my wife and I will stay anywhere else when we visit the area again in the future. Make sure you talk to both innkeepers when you're staying fr recommendations for food (boon being my favourite), or wineries. The breakfast in the am is just the right amount of food to get you going for a day through wineries or adventuring into the outdoors.fantastic place for these two canadians

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Point
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had a wonderful timing staying at Fern Grove for the 3 days I was there. The pictures are a very good representation of what FG looks like, and my room was quite clean as other reviewers have said. Continental breakfast was excellent and the staff was wonderful. I wish I was still there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I and my wife stayed 4 nights at Fern Grove Cottages in September and had a lovely time. The setting and gardens are lovely, the cottages very clean and quiet, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was very good with a variety of scones, pastries, cereals, juices, etc. Margaret the innkeeper was very helpful about the local area, including the restaurants. We were there for the scenery but some of the other couples were there for the wine tasting in the area, and Margaret was knowledgeable in both areas. We look forward to staying there again whenever we can.

It is close to Armstrong Redwoods State Preserve (lovely area to walk) and Bodega Bay, another nice seacoast area.

Room Tip: If you are used to large rooms or suites when you travel, you may want to choose one of the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were greeted by a very friendly staff menber and had a room with a spa. We have a room with a spa and was decorated with a butterfly theme. The grounds are beautiful and the lobby has a warm inviting area with a fireplace, where a homemade breakfast is served. Everything is homemade, wonderful scones, assorted nut breads, granola and yogurt, toast, bagels, coffe and teas. Close to shops and place to eat and the redwoods. Looking to our next visit.

Room Tip: every room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

More than a place to stay, Fern Grove Cottages is a quaint and memorable experience. Friendly, accommodating staff, beautiful grounds and "creature comforts" make this a destination for our future visits to Northern California. Can't recommend it more highly!

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is adjacent to a busy highway. Opt for a cottage toward the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fern Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grove Cottages

Address: 16650 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fern Grove Cottages 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Fern Grove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grove Cottages Hotel Guerneville
Fern Grove Cottages Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Grove Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.