We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Heaven - will definitely be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Sonoma Inn & Spa to your Saves list
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Piece of Heaven - will definitely be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights after a few days in San Francisco - and what a nice contrast. We chose to stay in Guerneville because it was close to the Korbel Vineyards which we wanted to visit, and it proved to be a good choice. The hotel is perfectly situated overlooking a vineyard and the Redwoods, such a beautiful and peaceful setting, and the air feels so pure when ypu breathe it in every morning! It was amazing to stand on the wooden deck with a coffee in the morning and watch the mist over the trees, which inevitably would clear by 10 o'clock with the sun bursting through.
We were really pleased with our room as it was spacious, very clean and had a wet bar.The bed was very comfy too and we had some great sleeps! It really was like having your own little cabin away from it all - but the sleepy, interesting town of Guerneville was literally just a short walk away for bars or a little shopping, for example, the Safeway had everything you might need, and the famous Taco truck was there for evening snacks should you be tempted. The pool too, was very clean and it was ultra-peaceful to lie on the comfy beds in the afternoon in the peace and quiet with the fantastic views all around, and there were always fresh towels on a table so you didn't even have to ask at reception. The owners were very friendly and helpful, although we did our own thing, but knew they were available should we need any advice. We had to check out early on our last day so didn't get time to say goodby but I'm sure we'll be back as we loved it so much!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    56
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
103
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We travelled to Russian River over the Labor Holiday, and West Sonoma Inn was unquestionably one of the most comfortable, and relaxing hotels at which I've stayed.

The service was excellent, with an incredibly helpful, freindly, and outgoing staff, who made every effort to ensure that our stay was perfect. The morning continental breakfasts were a great way to begin the day, with fresh fruit, pastries, and excellent coffee on the outdoor veranda right outside.

The location was perfect, at the quiet end of a street in downtown Guerneville, and was a perfect base from which to explore the town on foot.

The inn, and its wonderful pool, was tranquil, quiet, and very relaxing.

Excellent high-speed WiFi blanketed the entire inn and grounds, so I was able to check email, read the news, or just surf the web looking for area restaurants from the pool, the outdoor veranda, and of course my room. I've stayed at top-notch business-oriented hotels in major cities that did not match the quality and accessibility of Internet connection provided by this Inn.

I would never stay at another hotel in Russian River, other than the West Sonoma Inn. Just a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the West Sonoma Inn and Spa for just over one week in September 2010. We had our own chalet which was beautifully decorated and well equiped for all our needs. Guerneville is a small town but provides a great base to explore the surrounding countryside and we found the front desk at the inn very helpful and knowledgable when it came to booking activities and looking for good places to eat. The Russian river is only a stone's throw from the resort and affords fantastic boating and kayaking even for a novice like myself. We also spent a pleasant afternoon wine tasting and another hiking in the incredible redwood forest a 5 minute drive from the inn. The best part of all these actvties was returning to the inn and relaxing in our own private hot tub with a glass of wine while enjoying a view of the endless vineyards and majestic trees which surround the resort! My hisband treated me to a massage in the on site spa which was fantastic. We were also lucky enough that while we were there there was some great live blues and jazz in the town.
The West Sonoma inn is family owned and run and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. I was glad we had left the kids behind as this was not really the resort for young children, but for adult relaxation and peace and quiet it was perfect!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort madison, ia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We had a wonderful stay, a great room, and more importantly terrific help. Naveed was a great host, he helped us plan our excursions. We followed his advice and had the best time. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed at the West Sonoma Inn for our wedding weekend last October. The staff was incredible—Heidi, Karen and Naveed did an excellent job of accommodating us, as well as fulfilling any requests we had throughout the weekend.

The setting was absolutely perfect; we stayed in a Vineyard Cottage Suite—great view and very private, with a back deck and hot tub. There was coffee and breakfast in the Redwood Room each morning, which was a great start to each day. We loved how the property was laid out. The rooms were spread out across the property and there was a nice variety of room types for our guests to choose from.

We had a barbeque for some of our guests in the courtyard on Friday night. Heidi was amazing at helping us coordinate that. One of the most important things to us was that our wedding guests felt welcome and comfortable during their stay. Everyone we spoke to had a wonderful time and truly enjoyed the weekend. Thank you to the West Sonoma Inn and amazing staff for everything you did to make our wedding weekend so special!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waialua, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Arrived early from our flight coming from Hawaii.....they quickly had the room cleaned so we could check in and get settled. Super friendly staff that made every effort to make us feel at home. We had the larger 2 bd cottage perfect for 2 couples. We had closed court yard and took advantage of the space to bbq and relax. The wine tasting event topped off the stay. Made new friends and enjoyed some new blends. Perfect location for touring the area or racing Vineman 70.3......we will come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Best Inn in Guerneville! From the Saline pool to the Redwoods surrounding it... wonderful, relaxing and amazing customer service. Tucked away enough to make your temporary home a haven and close enough to the action to park your car and forget about it for the length of your stay. The staff is incredibly sweet and knowledgeable of their surroundings. I don't hit a winery unless I get a heads up from them. I have stayed at West Sonoma on several occasions. Play and rest... always just what I need. Great for kids as well. BBQ, eat out or order in... all fantastic at West Sonoma. Their is a room for everyone. Wether you are looking for a romantic getaway , fun with friends or bringing the kids... this is the best place to be. There are rooms with kitchens, detached cabin like getaways and rooms with a hot tub for 2 looking out at vineyards... just amazing!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the stylish, newly renovated West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our rooms and suites feature plush beds, crisp white linens, Italian tile bathrooms and wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Sonoma Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.