We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable-Clean-Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West Sonoma Inn & Spa to your Saves list
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
San Mateo CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Comfortable-Clean-Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here early August, as friends were also staying and recommended it to me. The rooms are all very nice, recently updated from what I see. Immaculate! Had a room with a small deck off the back that overlooks a vineyard and to the mountain beyond. A nice surprise. My bed was ultra comfy too.
Several amenities here as well, as listed on their site. I did not have a spa treatment, although usually do. Cannot vouch for that aspect, but will do so next visit.
The staff are all very personable, helpful.Walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants, as well as the Safeway store just across the road. My room had mini refrigerator and a MW, plus dishes and utensils. (Suggestion to owners, put a small cabinet up high where one can reach those things easily.)
I'd return and also recommend this resort highly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    56
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
103
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place has just what we wanted: Great location near downtown Guerneville, it is close to the Russian River and it has a pool if you don't feel like going to the river. The rooms have been recently updated and the location and grounds are beautiful. The only thing we
missed was breakfast during the week. They have breakfast on the weekends only. The pool is a bit dated, and needs new bottom and tiles. But again, the setting is wonderful so not a big deal. Guerneville itself has several new restaurants, a new wine bar, and the black bottom market where you can buy picnic lunches or eat there. The town really needed updating so we were happy to see these changes.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the West Sonoma Inn as part of our 2 week holiday to. California. 4th July weekend is big in Guerneville, especially for Gay travellers and the party atmosphere is fantastic for everyone. There are also plenty of places to visit and things to do around the area, fantastic beaches, wine tasting and restaurants and of course the river!
We thought the Inn was good value. There were a couple of things worth mentioning:
* The views of the vineyard are stunning this time of year, but our room (126) had a car park in front of it, this was not the impression given by the photograph on their website
* The fly screen on our balcony patio doors didn't lock (it seemed broken), when we advised the reception, they did nothing about it - I thought this was poor, we had to lock our window every night, and it was hot!

That said, the location, view of the vineyard and room itself made up for a good value stay.

Room Tip: The suites directly overlooking the vineyard with uninterrupted views are definitely the best ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Can't beat the secluded location, huge pool and nice grounds, which can accommodate large groups or families. Walking distance to everything Guerneville has to offer, but setback far enough to get away from everything. Large, clean rooms, very nice inside and outside common areas and very attentive staff makes this an ideal getaway location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The town of Guerneville is definitely a different type of town... You are not going to go and expect that there are a million things to do, but that's the point. It's in an area where nature is at its finest and you can walk through Redwoods and really find peace there. You can also kayak down the Russian River or tube down it and just relax. In regards to the "transient" comment below, the people in Guerneville are definitely different and laid back.... but it is nothing to be worried about. It is also very close to vineyards (Korbel is 5 minutes away). If you are using a groupon, you probably are not going to be put in the highest price rooms, but even the "normal" rooms are still nice.. I probably also would not walk around the town at night but West Sonoma Inn is safe and we have never had any problems there. The rooms are very homey and lovely, especially the rooms overlooking the vineyards. We have never found anything outdated about the rooms. So if you're looking for a nice, relaxing, beautiful place to stay, stay here :).

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the rooms with hot tubs and vineyard views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The West Sonoma Inn is a rustic spot ...very moderately priced for the California wine region. Our room was very large and connected via a small kitchen to another room occupied by our travel companions. That was quite a nice arrangement for us and allowed us to prepare light meals and snacks during our stay. I can share a couple of things:

1. The rooms are not air conditioned...but have fans. Our room had a malfunctioning light, a broken hairdryer and non functional remote control. Not a big deal but just enough to be annoying

2. The town of Guernville is very, very quite. Besides a full service 24 hour supermarket there isn't much there. So depending on your expectations you might be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We bought a groupon for the West Sonoma Inn and spa which was advertised as a $400 plus value. Rooms were run down, but clean. Views were not what they were advertised to be. The town was run down, many transients, and very outdated with nothing really to do. It was close to many vineyards and pretty landscape. We did not feel safe to wander after dark.
The staff at the Inn were very kind and friendly. The groupon included "wine passes to 16 vineyards". However, many of the vineyards were free anyway, so I don't think that should be considered when calculating a "value" for the groupon!
Although the Inn was acceptable, it was definitely not what it was advertised to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the stylish, newly renovated West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our rooms and suites feature plush beds, crisp white linens, Italian tile bathrooms and wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Sonoma Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.