We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene setting, nicely appointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added West Sonoma Inn & Spa to your Saves list
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Serene setting, nicely appointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I can't really add too much other than a positive vote. Well kept,clean lovely place to stay. We stayed in 122 and awoke to mist shrouded vineyards out of a postcard. Fireplace, hot tub and two person shower added to the romantic setting. Perfect for our wine tours(12 in two days, thanks Jimmy). While we like to try different places, this is likely o be our choice from now on. If you can't be pleased at this place you just can't be pleased.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    58
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
106
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Fantastic place tucked in amongst redwoods and beside a vineyard no doubt.This was one stop in five planned on our ten day trip and wished we could have just stayed here as our home base the whole time! The lovely pool was appreciated as the the days there were in the high 90's. We drove just west a half hour and were into great vineyards and wineries, and if we didn't feel like doing that, we drove the short drive to Armstrong state Park where we walked in the Redwoods. The suite we stayed in was great (123). It didn't have a hot tub or a fireplace, which I am sure if we asked to change rooms, would have had our rquest met as it wasn't busy when we were there Sept 29 - Oct 3. But we liked our room right across from the vineyard which had its own deck with chairs/picnic table..we ate breakfast which we prepared in our mini-kitchen every day, on our deck overlooking the woods and vineyard! A person could walk or bike anywhere they wanted to go in Guerneville if they wanted to as there are quaint little restaurant and live, local musicians playing most nights.Everyone we encountered in town and at the Inn was helpful, courteous and friendly. Will most definitely come back again and this is a perfect time of year here if you like it qieter. Thanks WSI!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The staff is always helpful and the pool is amazing. Wish i could be there every weekend! I have been going for the last 5 years!!! you guys do a great job, you keep me coming back! Waking up and overlooking the Korbel vineyards is the only way to wake up. If you need to relax i suggest that you stay here!! It's close to all my favorite winery's!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is the only place we stay when visiting Sonoma, and we've always had a great experience. The staff is very sweet and accommodating, especially Naveed and Jenny. The view from the room we typically stay in is amazing and overlooks Korbel vineyards. Great deck with a relaxing hot tub, and a mini fridge to store your leftovers and chill wine. The gas fireplace also makes it cozy during the off season. They also often host wine tastings from local wineries, a fun thing to drop by for before heading out to dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just a quick trip out of San Franicisco and we found this hidden gem. Such a surprise to find such a wonderfuly place. From the accomodating staff to the amazing rooms, this will be a repeat destination. The room was impeccable and overlooked a beautiful vineyard. There were chairs and a Private hot tub on the deck. It was quiet and peaceful and we spent the majority of our stay enjoying wine and the views. The room had a wine opener, glasses and everything we needed and hadnt brought.
In the evening, they hosted a wine tasting with a local winery in the beautiful lobby area. This was such a nice touch and was great to chat with so many travelers from so many different places.
The grounds are well maintained, pool was nice and it is just a short walk to restaurants and the local shops. We never moved our car the entire weekend.
Coming from the noise of the city it was amazing to drive 1.5 hours and have the peace and quiet, the stars at night, the vineyard views and this amazing place.
Definitely a return soon.

Thanks

John B
San Francisco, CA

Room Tip: Call and ask, they will match a room to your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been staying at the West Sonoma Inn and Spa about twice a year for 3 years or so. I always stay in the beautiful cottage suite #121. It's a beautiful room with a deck and hot tub over looking the vineyard. It has a lovely fireplace and most off all an incredible six head shower for two.
The staff is always warm and friendly. I have stayed on sold out weekends and have stayed during quiet weekdays, from peak season to off season and the level of service is always excellent .
I recommend taking advantage of the spa while treating myself to a massage or facial.
I have stayed at other resorts in the area and nothing comes close to the West Sonoma Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place is awesome and is our favorite place to stay while on vacation. We have been staying here for many years now usually during the Russian River Blues and jazz festival. Our favorite room is 122 which is a vineyard suite room with an awesome hot tub for 2 on a private deck overlooking the vineyards. So much to see from our deck. We weren't lucky enough to be there during the grape harvest, but would have found it interesting.We are always open to new experiences. We did get to see a family of deer who roamed by early each morning. Awesome.
The room itself is very comfortable with a cozy fireplace and a kitchenette with a small fridge, microwave and all the amenities. Great shower in the bathroom with 2 heads. Our first night there we went down to the courtyard off the lobby area and barbequed.
We also spent alot of time at the pool area and the warm and inviting pool.
The place is clean, and well maintained.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
Really, I can't say enough about our favorite spot.
I am a flight attendant for a major airline and regularly stay in hotels all over the world.
This is my favorite. Now you know!!!
Diane and James Johnson
Sonoma, Ca.

Room Tip: Get one of the vineyard rooms with a hot tub on the deck. Soooo relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the stylish, newly renovated West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our rooms and suites feature plush beds, crisp white linens, Italian tile bathrooms and wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Sonoma Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.