We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra Comfortable Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages on River Road

Save Saved
You added Cottages on River Road to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ultra Comfortable Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My other half and I stayed here for a brief weekend respite as a pre-Valentine's day getaway. The innkeeper, Ted, welcomed us upon arrival and was very hospitable throughout our stay. We were impressed by the cleanliness and contemporary flair of our room, especially the modern bathroom. Ted informed us that he recently acquired the property and has renovated the rooms and has plans to do the same with the pool, just in time for the warmer weather. We enjoyed both the complimentary firepit and s'mores in the evening and especially loved the fresh homemade coffee cake offered as part of the complimentary continental breakfast. We will definitely return again, hopefully sometime soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    51
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
79
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Two years ago this B&B was nice, but since there are new owners this place is much more delightful. Everything is so charming, the rooms are very cute, you can feel like home.
The best thing is Breakfast! Amazing cookies!! Hope the next time I can buy some.

And what to say about the cute and friendly couple? If you can, I really suggest this place, you will enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

How can you go wrong in Northern California's coast? There are wineries, the rugged coast line, majestic forests, rolling hills, and a seemingly endless supply of adventures. It is why my wife and I escape to this area every chance we can to relax and refresh. We have been coming to this area for years and sometimes we camp and sometimes we stay in hotels. We recently heard from friends about a Hotel in Guerneville that came under new ownership and was apparently undergoing a revitalization of itself. My wife and I decided to stay there and were pleasantly surprised. The value of our stay was well worth the money. The three things that stick out the most were the comfortable beds, the friendly proprietors, and the smores we had in the garden at night. Awesome find and we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

My husband and I were looking forward to a much needed getaway from the city and spent one of the best weekends up in Guerneville. One of the best parts of that weekend was our stay at the Cottages on River Road. Teddy and Lesley, the owners, were more than welcoming...They showed us to our room, giving us a tour of the grounds and taking us through their beautiful garden where they have a firepit set up...in the evening they brought out marshmallows, graham crackers and chocolate so we could make Smore's and enjoy the fire. In the morning, they offered us coffee, juice, fruit, and the best freshly baked banana blueberry bread I've ever had. I could've eaten the whole loaf! They really went the extra mile to make our stay a fun, comfortable, and memorable one. Our room was perfect..the bed was so comfy, it was just what my husband and I needed...the minute we stepped into our room, we felt at home and we knew this would become a place we'd be visiting over and over again. The area is beautiful, there is so much to see and do....all the cute little shops and restaurants, the wineries, the river just across the way, the ocean beaches just down the road, and the most perfect place to stay and come back to right in the middle of it all...it doesn't get much better than that. We look forward to many more trips up to Guerneville and staying at the Cottages on River Road.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

We arrived in Guerneville mid day on Saturday and had heard how wonderful "Cottages on River Road" were. We were looking for a quiet peaceful setting and when we arrived that is exactly what we found. The resort owners and keepers, Ted and Lesley were beyond friendly and did everything in their power to make us feel at home- They had wonderful holiday decorations out and were more then willing to tell us about the area and give us ideas of things to do and see in the area. Centrally located only about an hour for San Francisco, a short drive to the beach and right around the bend from a wonderful deli and winery (Korbel winery) this place has it all. We are really looking forward to heading back up as soon as we can get away and I would recommed this to anyone that is looking for an easy get away!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

The Cottages on River Road was a perfect place for a realxing weekend. The room was very clean and the bed was hard to get out of in the morning because it was so comfortable. The grounds were kept up with a beautiful garden and giant redwood trees surrounding the property. Across the street there is a great brewery along the river and downtown Guernville is just a few steps away. Most of all, Teddy and Leslie, the inkeepers were very friendly and helpful. My fiance and I had a wonderful weekend at the COttages and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

My gal and I were driving up the 101 looking for a place to stay up in the romantic wine country. We wanted to go somewhere new. We saw the exit for "River Road" and we both knew this was the enchanted getaway we were looking to really get the flame burning! As we drove down River Road...we decided we would not stop until we got into Guerneville. We saw a vacancy sign lit up on the right side. We pulled over to check it out not knowing what to expect. The Xmas lights and holiday cheer seemed to be what we were looking for. We knocked on the door and an extremeley attractive young couple....Ted and Lesley were there to great us at the door. They had ear to ear smiles and seemed very happy to have us. They were so nice...but also gave us the space we needed for relaxation and romance! ;) As the young couple showed us to our room they spoke of the history of the property and walked us through an amazing garden! It felt as though we were the only guests there! I am reccomending this place as a nice, romantic getaway to every single person I know...and My gal and I will certainley return again soon...maybe even this weekend for the crab races!!!! Thanks Ted and Lesley for an amazing weekend...p.s. AMAZING MUFFINS!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Address: 14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages on River Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.