We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Revisit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages on River Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cottages on River Road to your Saves list
Cottages on River Road
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Summer Revisit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I have been meaning to return to the Cottages on River Road and we finally made it this past Sunday with our son, young niece and nephew. We had great memories of our first stay here a few years ago so we decided that another visit was in order. This time we checked into a River Cottage with two bedrooms which was perfect for our family. We noticed some welcome upgrades to the property, including the pool, fire pit area, and keurig coffee makers in the room. There are also other personnel in addition to Ted, the proprietor. The older woman who was at the front desk when we arrived on Sunday didn't come off as very warm but rather a bit frazzled and harried. She just didn't seem to be well-suited for the hospitality industry, given her overall demeanor. We were glad to see Ted back the next day when we went to get the continental breakfast. The last time we were here, Ted served awesome coffee cake and coffee, with some fruits. This time, there were more options, such as bagels, donuts, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. The bagels, donuts and pastries tasted fresh baked and delish. Not your average stale bagels, donuts and pastries at all. My husband and I usually avoid carbs but couldn't resist them. The cream cheese with greek yogurt, homemade jams, and fresh cantaloupe juice were nice touches. Ted remains a very warm and personable host. We won't hesitate to return to his wonderful property again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    55
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
86
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We recently stayed here over 4th July weekend. We have a 6 month old so we opted to stay in one of the two bedroom cottages with a mini-kitchenette. The hotel was perfect for us.

First, the price is right...you got a lot more than you would get another place. Second, it is super casual...nothing fancy, the cottages are basically IKEA furnished so you know the stuff is cheap but it still looks nice. Also, with all the windows closed you couldn't hear the outside...which is important when your baby is the one crying. Third, all the cottages open into a grassy area where kids were always playing and each cottage has a deck of sorts so you can sit outside. The whole place is surrounded by redwoods so even when it was super hot there was still a lot of shade. The pool is solar heated but don't expect really warm just sort of luke warm, but the weather was so hot that it still felt good. They have about 4 nice lounge chars which are super comfy I was worried that we wouldn't have a place to sit on a holiday weekend but there was never an issue and they place was completely booked. I think a lot of people head to the beaches on the russian river vs. stay at the pool.

They have free breakfast and wi-fi too. All in all, a very family friendly, quaint, quiet and relaxing place. Our cottage came with a mini-kitchenette with mini-fridge, sink and microwave. We brought snacks, beer, wine and other goodies. There is a brewery right across the street that has great beers and pretty good BBQ, you don't have to drive just cross the street which was nice. We did drive into down Guernville in the morning to get coffee at Big Bottom market which has been written up in Sunset mag a couple of times, known for their biscuits, we did this because the free breakfast at the hotel didn't start until 8am and we were up early.

There is also a fire pit with nightly smokes, another simple but impactful way to impress us. Everything about this place is easy, the management was nice, friendly and the place was clean.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a baby spend a little more to get a two bedroom cottage, it is really help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Arrived in Guerneville and we were nicely greeted at the front desk. Cottages are basically double wide trailers. Units were clean and well stocked. A very nice greeting for our dog, Sandy. The grounds are beautiful. We appreciated the Continental breakfast. Our disappointment was in the surrounding residential area and the city of Guerneville. This town is not as quaint and clean as other small Northern Calif. wine country towns. In retrospect, I would have preferred to stay in Healdsburg but could not find a dog friendly location.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that does not back up to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

we stayed here for six nights in three cabins as a family group with four young children. couldn't have had a nicer trip - the booking and check-in were easy and the rooms lovely. the two-bedroom and kitchen rooms were nice and big. honestly, with one child wanting to sleep with mom and another in a pack and play, i could have just taken a one-bedroom.
there are k-cup coffee makers and a small fridge in the rooms, along with wine glasses, cork screw, etc.. outside there is a lovely grassy area and patio for playing, as well as a fenced-in pool. each night there was a fire with s'mores and the chance to meet lovely "neighbors." frank the cat is patient with curious kids, too. great breakfast 8-10am and coffee available all day in the lobby.
the only downside in being so close to the busy road the road-side cabins do rock a bit when a semi goes by, but didn't bother us much. town is a drive, not a walk, from the site, as are the beaches.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Having visited Guerneville many times from Colorado, I have never stayed outside of main business area. I decided to try someplace new and was pleasantly surpised how welcomed I felt as soon as I walked in the front door. All the staff were wonderful and very accomodating. There was a nice mix of couples, families and pets. I had a two bedroom cabin that embodied the Zen atmosphere of the gardens and common areas. The continental breakfast was delicious and filling and the nightime S'mores campfire was a real treat. It gave folks an opportunity to get to know each other a little better in a relaxed environment. I can't wait to visit again next summer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend for one night with our children ages 9 and 12. It's not the usual type place we stay at, which are mostly bigger hotels. We enjoyed the quaintness and how welcome we felt. It's the type of atmosphere you would just never get at any type of larger hotel (which there are none in Guerneville anyway).

There was freshly made cantaloupe juice upon our arrival. We were a little early for check-in, but they suggested that we could either go into downtown Guerneville and/or Armstrong Redwood Park. We did both. We were there to just explore, and we happened across Johnson's Beach while strolling downtown. Being our first time to the Russian River, we didn't know what to expect. What a great place to just hang out for an afternoon.

When we got back to the Cottages and checked-in, we were taken to our cute one bedroom room at the top by the pool (it was the only one left when I booked just three days prior). It was very clean and updated, and the walls are a cheery yellow color. The kitchen is large with a full sized refrigerator. We were only there one night so we didn't use it. The one negative thing I'd say was that there was kind of an anti-septic cleaner type of smell in the room when we entered, and not necessarily a pleasant one. We opened the windows that we could and it was no issue. That was the other thing, only two of the windows had screens, so we couldn't open the other ones. The room also had two pull-out couches -- one full size, one twin size.

What made our stay really special here is the place is small and the way it's set-up it just seems to encourage socializing with other guests. My son immediately made friends with another 9 year old boy, my daughter ended up being a "helper" to another family who was there with their 15 month old. We sat by the campfire on Saturday night doing s'mores and just talking with other guests for over two hours. By breakfast the next morning, it was as if everyone were old friends. To me, that's the best part of the vacation.

The one thing we missed doing, that I really wanted to, was going to the brewery across the street that I had read about in so many reviews. My husband didn't care for the looks of it outside, so we ended up going downtown to a place that was very mediocre. We later heard good things about it from one of the other guests.

There is definitely noise from the road, and there was a barking dog somewhere off property that kept us up. Certainly not anything they can control, but it might be a good idea to bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

Overall, a great stay and I'd recommend it and hope to come again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a fabulous little oasis tucked away in Guerneville, Ca. We stayed 2 nights in a one bedroom cottage and it delivered exactly what was promised. The garden setting in the middle of the cottages is lovely, and the continental breakfast every morning was a welcome treat. Evenings by the fire with S'mores was big fun and the adult company had a blast enjoying the treats. Staff was very nice, and the grounds are immaculate. Would definitely stay again. Did not get a chance to swim.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Address: 14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages on River Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.