We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accomodations....really nice to our puppy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages on River Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cottages on River Road to your Saves list
Cottages on River Road
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bonita, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations....really nice to our puppy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Arrived in Guerneville and we were nicely greeted at the front desk. Cottages are basically double wide trailers. Units were clean and well stocked. A very nice greeting for our dog, Sandy. The grounds are beautiful. We appreciated the Continental breakfast. Our disappointment was in the surrounding residential area and the city of Guerneville. This town is not as quaint and clean as other small Northern Calif. wine country towns. In retrospect, I would have preferred to stay in Healdsburg but could not find a dog friendly location.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that does not back up to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    68
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
120
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

we stayed here for six nights in three cabins as a family group with four young children. couldn't have had a nicer trip - the booking and check-in were easy and the rooms lovely. the two-bedroom and kitchen rooms were nice and big. honestly, with one child wanting to sleep with mom and another in a pack and play, i could have just taken a one-bedroom.
there are k-cup coffee makers and a small fridge in the rooms, along with wine glasses, cork screw, etc.. outside there is a lovely grassy area and patio for playing, as well as a fenced-in pool. each night there was a fire with s'mores and the chance to meet lovely "neighbors." frank the cat is patient with curious kids, too. great breakfast 8-10am and coffee available all day in the lobby.
the only downside in being so close to the busy road the road-side cabins do rock a bit when a semi goes by, but didn't bother us much. town is a drive, not a walk, from the site, as are the beaches.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Having visited Guerneville many times from Colorado, I have never stayed outside of main business area. I decided to try someplace new and was pleasantly surpised how welcomed I felt as soon as I walked in the front door. All the staff were wonderful and very accomodating. There was a nice mix of couples, families and pets. I had a two bedroom cabin that embodied the Zen atmosphere of the gardens and common areas. The continental breakfast was delicious and filling and the nightime S'mores campfire was a real treat. It gave folks an opportunity to get to know each other a little better in a relaxed environment. I can't wait to visit again next summer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend for one night with our children ages 9 and 12. It's not the usual type place we stay at, which are mostly bigger hotels. We enjoyed the quaintness and how welcome we felt. It's the type of atmosphere you would just never get at any type of larger hotel (which there are none in Guerneville anyway).

There was freshly made cantaloupe juice upon our arrival. We were a little early for check-in, but they suggested that we could either go into downtown Guerneville and/or Armstrong Redwood Park. We did both. We were there to just explore, and we happened across Johnson's Beach while strolling downtown. Being our first time to the Russian River, we didn't know what to expect. What a great place to just hang out for an afternoon.

When we got back to the Cottages and checked-in, we were taken to our cute one bedroom room at the top by the pool (it was the only one left when I booked just three days prior). It was very clean and updated, and the walls are a cheery yellow color. The kitchen is large with a full sized refrigerator. We were only there one night so we didn't use it. The one negative thing I'd say was that there was kind of an anti-septic cleaner type of smell in the room when we entered, and not necessarily a pleasant one. We opened the windows that we could and it was no issue. That was the other thing, only two of the windows had screens, so we couldn't open the other ones. The room also had two pull-out couches -- one full size, one twin size.

What made our stay really special here is the place is small and the way it's set-up it just seems to encourage socializing with other guests. My son immediately made friends with another 9 year old boy, my daughter ended up being a "helper" to another family who was there with their 15 month old. We sat by the campfire on Saturday night doing s'mores and just talking with other guests for over two hours. By breakfast the next morning, it was as if everyone were old friends. To me, that's the best part of the vacation.

The one thing we missed doing, that I really wanted to, was going to the brewery across the street that I had read about in so many reviews. My husband didn't care for the looks of it outside, so we ended up going downtown to a place that was very mediocre. We later heard good things about it from one of the other guests.

There is definitely noise from the road, and there was a barking dog somewhere off property that kept us up. Certainly not anything they can control, but it might be a good idea to bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

Overall, a great stay and I'd recommend it and hope to come again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a fabulous little oasis tucked away in Guerneville, Ca. We stayed 2 nights in a one bedroom cottage and it delivered exactly what was promised. The garden setting in the middle of the cottages is lovely, and the continental breakfast every morning was a welcome treat. Evenings by the fire with S'mores was big fun and the adult company had a blast enjoying the treats. Staff was very nice, and the grounds are immaculate. Would definitely stay again. Did not get a chance to swim.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shingle springs, ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Terrific place to stay in the area. We were two women and were very comfortable in our very cute cottage with each of us having our own bedroom. It was decorated as we would have decorated it. Very comfortable sitting room with sofa, coffee table and tv. Really good coffee in the reception area in the morning with items like bagels, fruit, hard boiled eggs and yogurt for breakfast, which we took back to our room on a tray and was all we really needed. The day manager was very polite and helpful. We enjoyed visiting wineries and walking through Armstrong woods Before heading to Bodega Bay the next day. Be sure to visit the wine tasting room at Korbel, a really good value and free tastings.

Room Tip: Don't be surprised by the road noise
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have stayed at the Cottages sister property in Napa where we had 2 wonderful experiences. This time we decided to give Guerneville and the cottages a try. We had so much fun at this hotel. My wife and I enjoyed massages which were out of this world good, followed by some pool time and capped our evenings off with S'mores at the beautiful firepit located in the middle of the property. The evening campfire is such a nice way to unwind and meet people from all over the world. In the mornings we enjoyed a nice breakfast which we ate on our balcony. This place is filled with thoughtful touches and the staff is extremely welcoming and friendly. We will be back many more times in the future and you should too.

Green Features: The pool is salt water and solar heated and the showers have soap, shampoo and conditioner dispensers.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
3.5 mi away
Monte Rio Vacation Cottages
13.9 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
1.2 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Address: 14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages on River Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.