We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay, and the evening fire is a nice touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages on River Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cottages on River Road to your Saves list
Cottages on River Road
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay, and the evening fire is a nice touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very nice property and great place to relax and stay for a few days. The hosts are great and the evening fire and smores are a nice way to give the guests a chance to mingle a bit. The property sits by a fairly busy road, but the noise isn't bad, particularly if you stay in the inner courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    60
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
68
101
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I, along with our small dog, stayed here for one night recently. The cottages surround a wonderful garden. The studio we stayed in was really sweet (lacking storage/closet...). Our bed was very comfortable.

The hostess lights a fire in the central gardens at 8PM & leaves the makings for S'mores. Just great.

Our dog had a welcome box waiting for him. Although he's not a big eater, he loved the dog biscuits.

The hostess was wonderful. High quality continental breakfast.

The only issue we had was the traffic noise. We were only comfortable in our room with the windows closed and were really bothered by the traffic noise on our patio. It was just way too noisy for us to feel like we were on vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Loved, loved, loved our stay in our cottage! Stayed 3 nights and couldn't have picked a more cozy place. Deanne the manager was absolutely AWESOME! She gave us great tips while on our stay and even booked our wine tour for us, which was just what we were looking to do . As a bonus she even upgraded my husband and I to a 2 bdrm which was great to have the extra space and a nice surprise. Every morning they serve fresh coffee, bagels, bear claws, fresh fruit, yogurt, and provided a tray in case you decide to take it back to your cottage or eat outside to enjoy the beautiful scenery. The property is well maintained and the rooms are very clean. The location is about an hour away from Napa which was our main destination but the drive was gorgeous and we made several stops along the way.Everyone was very friendly. Our money was well spent here. Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Our cottage was right in the middle sandwiched between other cottages and we loved it. There is no A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, during our annual fall vacation.
Living in Southern Ca., we miss the leaves falling, and the cool air. We found everything that we were looking for within a short drive from our cabin, not to mention the fresh apples, and great food.
The cottage itself was modern and tasteful. I don't like clutter and "antiques". Good linens, good tv, kitchenette, spacious bathroom, fresh paint, nice deck with table and chairs. Very well landscaped, we brought the dog, welcome for a small pet fee, he loved it too. There was no traffic at this time of year. There were easily 100 wineries as well as Sonoma, Napa, Healdsburg, and Bodega Bay..all an easy drive. We didn't get to everything on our to do list, but we loved bringing home gourmet treats and cheeses and relaxing in our comfortable cottage.

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom free standing. Nice little living room. Pet area behind our cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

These cottages were a delightful find. We appreciated the great bed linens, wine glasses in the room and the quiet and private feeling of the grounds. The cottages were very close to the road, but the fencing and vegetation gave us a feeling that we were in a private oasis. Breakfast was included and was adequate for the price we paid. This area is close to a wonderful state park with a redwood forest and to manysmall towns with great little restaurants. We had some great meals in that area of California. The owner/manager gave us lots of good information about wineries to visit that fit our criteria, so we could narrow down the choices.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

we made reservations through Bookings.com. Unfortunately Cottages never received them and they were unable to accommodate us for our planned stay. In compensation they comped our room for the first night and paid for our room at another facility for the remainder of the stay. I cannot say enough about how well we were treated. As for the facility itself, the room as clean attractive and very well appointed. Lenin as of outstanding quality, bed as exceptional comfort. while the hotel they booked for the remainder of our stay was more expensive, it as not in the same class as cottages. I would have expected to pay quite a bit more for the quality we received at Cottages.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We're both Sonoma County natives who left for college and then grad school and have missed SoCo ever since. We were planning to come home to visit our respective parents and wanted to stay somewhere that felt very Sonoma County, this place was perfect! The cottages are adorable, the little fridge and microwave were great for storing and later re-heating our Mary's Pizza leftovers (another thing we miss from SoCo). We'd read on TripAdvisor to avoid the rooms on the road side, which we did, but because we were there in March it didn't seem like a big deal. It was amazing to wake up among the redwoods, grab a cup of coffee in Guerneville and then head to Armstrong for a walk in the rain among the giants. I always like places that have resident pets because it makes the atmosphere feel more homey and the adorable cat was a great little bonus. The only thing missing was a fireplace, but the in room heater was more than sufficient. We will be back next time we venture home!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Address: 14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages on River Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.