We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint cottage at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages on River Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cottages on River Road to your Saves list
Cottages on River Road
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

These cottages were a delightful find. We appreciated the great bed linens, wine glasses in the room and the quiet and private feeling of the grounds. The cottages were very close to the road, but the fencing and vegetation gave us a feeling that we were in a private oasis. Breakfast was included and was adequate for the price we paid. This area is close to a wonderful state park with a redwood forest and to manysmall towns with great little restaurants. We had some great meals in that area of California. The owner/manager gave us lots of good information about wineries to visit that fit our criteria, so we could narrow down the choices.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    53
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
81
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

we made reservations through Bookings.com. Unfortunately Cottages never received them and they were unable to accommodate us for our planned stay. In compensation they comped our room for the first night and paid for our room at another facility for the remainder of the stay. I cannot say enough about how well we were treated. As for the facility itself, the room as clean attractive and very well appointed. Lenin as of outstanding quality, bed as exceptional comfort. while the hotel they booked for the remainder of our stay was more expensive, it as not in the same class as cottages. I would have expected to pay quite a bit more for the quality we received at Cottages.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We're both Sonoma County natives who left for college and then grad school and have missed SoCo ever since. We were planning to come home to visit our respective parents and wanted to stay somewhere that felt very Sonoma County, this place was perfect! The cottages are adorable, the little fridge and microwave were great for storing and later re-heating our Mary's Pizza leftovers (another thing we miss from SoCo). We'd read on TripAdvisor to avoid the rooms on the road side, which we did, but because we were there in March it didn't seem like a big deal. It was amazing to wake up among the redwoods, grab a cup of coffee in Guerneville and then head to Armstrong for a walk in the rain among the giants. I always like places that have resident pets because it makes the atmosphere feel more homey and the adorable cat was a great little bonus. The only thing missing was a fireplace, but the in room heater was more than sufficient. We will be back next time we venture home!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I took my wife here for a weekend away and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage was very nicely designed & decorated. Our only complaint is that the TV is visible from the master bed. You can hear/feel the road on occasion...so keep that in mind.
Location is great...~1-mile from downtown Guerneville. You can walk to Stumptown Brewery and across River Road to the river.
Service was great and the grounds are very well kept. The pool is solar heated but a bit cold.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage that is farthest from the road. Enjoy nightly smores. Cottages stocked with micro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I can second most of the previous reviews but I would like to single out Kelly for being very helpful about things to do in the area and other places we were traveling to. She made print outs of maps and restaurant recommendations. (Solbar in Calistoga).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were really very happy with our stay at the Cottages. From the busy road, it doesn't look like anything special. But once you enter through the modest lobby, you see the lovely courtyard garden and cottages all closely tucked together.

The room: newly renovated and really well appointed with all the details in place. Our room had a mini-fridge and kitchen bar with wine glasses, ice bucket, corkscrew, coffee maker, and a cabinet. Ideal for a stay in wine country! Flat screen TV, dresser, comfy bed, and a LARGE bathroom with tub/shower. Every day, our room was cleaned immaculately. We chose one of the smaller studio style rooms with a shared wall. Noise level was fine although I would get the larger individual unit next time just to avoid sharing an entry way.

The grounds: Lovely gardens and the place is ringed with redwoods. And there's a firepit with DIY smores every night! This was so fun. We met so many interesting travelers from all over. Everyone brought their wines down at 9pm and chatted over smores. We had fun explaining how to make them to the non-American travelers.

Staff: Super helpful and really eager to make your stay great. Ted jumped at the chance to help reserve a restaurant or recommend a spot for canoeing. Also, we had friends from England call during our stay and ask to arrange a special gift in our room. Ted made it happen and our friends said he went above and beyond for them. So nice!

Value: Really extraordinary value compared to everything else we saw.

Location: Great spot to easily access all the wine roads for Russian River. We even rented bikes one day to get around. So nice.

My only sour note was that I could smell marijuana faintly lingering in the place all the time. However, it IS California so it should be expected. And I realize I am probably more prudish about that than most.

Room Tip: The rooms all seemed great but I liked the single units best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara,ca.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were driving to Sonoma for a wedding, and had to travel a long way on my birthday. I wanted to stay somewhere different and special, so I booked a room here, knowing that it looked perfect!
I couldn't have chosen a better place. I felt excited and happy as soon as I saw it, amidst the redwoods. Just a spectacular setting, and the grounds were impeccable, as well.
We were cheerfully greeted by Ted, who escorted us to our cottage, and I felt like Queen for a Day. He was charming and helpful, and made us feel very comfortable and welcome.
We just loved the cottage. It was absolutely immaculate and everything was comfortable and worked. The bathtub was great, big fluffy white towels, dreamy bed, a place to sit outside and have our coffee. We drank cold beer and watched the Olympics as a way to celebrate my birthday, and it was one of the nicest birthdays I've ever had. Simple perfection.

We really hated to leave the next day, but we were well rested and refreshed, and ready to continue the celebration. I am already wondering when we might be able to get back to Guerneville. Thank you, Ted!

Room Tip: We were in Cottage 10 and it couldn't have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Address: 14880 River Road, Guerneville, CA 95446 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages on River Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.