We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing Russian River Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Applewood Inn

Save Saved
You added Applewood Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Applewood Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13555 Highway 116, Guerneville, CA 95446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymoon at Applewood
Ranked #8 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Refreshing Russian River Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love the welcome sign to Guerneville, CA ... "Welcome to Guerneville, a hate-free community." That was the start to a fantastic weekend along the Russian River, Sonoma Valley, and up the Highway 1 past Jenner to Ft. Ross. Guerneville is a wonderful, peaceful small town with access to the Russian River and the entrance to the Anderson Redwoods State Park. While Guerneville itself is very casual and laid back, I would chararcterize the Applewood Inn as very relaxing with a touch of Italian countryside elegance. Combined with dinner and breakfast (the latter which is included), the Inn is a great weekend getaway. I think each of the rooms are unique. Ours was #15 and as I understand was just recently rennovated. Small in size but very comfortable with gas fireplace and king-size temperpedic bed. I would probably opt for a room with its own separate bathroom/bathtub and patio however. The restaurant in my opinion is 5 stars. For dinner, I had the squash soup and miso cod and for breakfast, french toast. Both meals were great. Simple, healthy, flavorable and elegant for dinner. And the french toast and bacon for breakfast were delicious. The inn is a 1/2 hour drive to Jenner (where the Russian River meets the Pacific Ocean). Plenty to do in the area and is about 10 minutes from the Korbel winery.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    52
    24
    16
    7
See reviews for
11
180
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
OH
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Applewood Inn provides a peaceful, romantic getaway in Sonoma County! The setting is serene & beautiful amongst all of the redwoods. Staff is extremely accomodating and friendly, and the included breakfast is fabulous! Our room was immaculate and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever found on our travels. We purchased a bottle of wine at one of our tastings and were able to enjoy it sitting next to the cozy fireplace. Some of the rooms in the main house are small, however we chose the Livorno room which was a bit larger and it was perfect. Wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Livorno room is a bit larger with more storage than some other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A wonder to behold in the redwoods all around your windows in your rooms. We stayed at Pisa room. It was a junior suite. It had a very nice new Pillow top mattress. The bathroom remodeled. The breakfast Was gourmet and came with all the mimosas you could drink excellent value

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our third time staying at Applewood Inn and we'll be back again. This time we requested Room #16 with the jacuzzi on the upper patio. The pre-fixe "chef's tasting menu" dinner is some of the best food we've ever had and we are tough food critics. I'd highly recommend you bring a bottle of your favorite from the Russian River wine region to have with dinner.

We purchased a Travelzoo package that included the pre-fixe dinner, breakfast and a discount on a couples side-by-side massage and we were very pleased. Can’t wait for the next Travelzoo special at Applewood Inn.

Only go to Applewood Inn if you're looking for peace and quiet, a large clean room, drinking your favorite vintners' libations, dining on a spectacular 5-course pre-fixe dinner, romance back in the room, and then a fabulous breakfast in the morning.

They also offer a wine tasting pass good during your stay at many of the local wineries.

All in all, one of our favorite get-a-ways ranking up there with the Tu Tu Tun Lodge in Southern Oregon for lodging/food experience.

Room Tip: View the rooms online before you book your reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Inn is a bit of an oasis in the Russian River. Really it's the only place to stay. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds, fireplace & nice bathroom. Staff is very nice & helpful. Breakfast at the Inn is wonderful! I would say the restaurant is just ok for dinner. I would suggest eating there only as to not drive after a long day & plenty of wine.

Room Tip: Spend just a little more to get the fireplace & nice bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our third visit to Applewood Inn and once again, everything was perfect. We happened to pick a weekend when the heavens opened up and drenched Northern California but it made our room all that more cozy. Breakfast was wonderful and when I asked for the recipe for their special Chilaquiles, they typed it up and mailed it to me. Service! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn Dec. 6-8. We enjoyed dinner both nights at their sensational restaurant. The first night we had the incredible tasting menu and the second a la carte. We both had the cod and thought it was fabulous. Service was exceptional, the room devine. The highlight was the couple's massage with wine, cheese and roses waiting for in the room. Wow! Meg and Sharon did a great job thoroughly relaxing us. Would highly recommend the Inn. Found nearby town of Guernville really dodgy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Inn Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County
Address: 13555 Highway 116, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applewood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.