We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis along the Russian River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of boon hotel & spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guerneville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
boon hotel & spa
Save Saved
You added boon hotel & spa to your Saves list
14711 Armstrong Woods Road, Guerneville, CA 95446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 spa voucher!
Ranked #7 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Oasis along the Russian River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed one night there recently and really like the setting and the set up of the hotel.......the place is clean and has a modern style. The pool area and rooms seem well designed and simple.... I was able to get one night by calling when the online reservations would only allow a 2 night min.
We checked in late (after 6pm) and the reservation area is closed but they called us and the key was in our room. The room was #13 and was closest to the road where you would hear road noise .... the bet was comfortable and the room had a small modern fireplace which was a nice addition.

There was a nice "honor" bar near the pool which had great priced drinks such as beer wine sodas.....Nice pool with lounge chairs and a small hot-tub....... The place is really nice and I would recommend.

Pro: Clean and modern design friendly staff on the phone. Comfortable room with fireplace

Cons: a long walk from town (the do have bikes) and our unit one could hear the road noise in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road and or parking area ..... one facing the pool would be nice ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    26
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We brought our two dogs with us to the hotel. The room had dog bowls and treats. The room we stayed in had an outdoor area which was great. The could stay outside and play. The area had small rocks and was very secure. The hotel also has three areas which the dogs could play.

The room had hot water issues and the manager moved us to another room which was very nice! They serviced us breakfast each morning which was yummy. The manager of the hotel was outstanding! He was on top of everything! They lite candles each night around the hotel, many pool towels and a bar with alot to choose from.

Next time were in the area we will be back! Thank you to the hotel for mailing us our dog ID tag which feel off during the stay! Thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I just spent a truly lovely weekend at Boon and recommend it highly. A great oasis of simple design and nice touches (such as candles in lanterns throughout the property at night). Tom, who manages the place during the day, was extremely helpful with tips on wineries to visit and checked in a few times to ensure we had everything we needed. The breakfast brought to your room in the morning is a great luxury. Yes, the food is simple, but it's good and the coffee rocks. We also ate both nights at Boon's restaurant in town and once at their market (Big Bottom Market) and were equally impressed with both. Will return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We found room 9 to be a good one - about mid-way down the property with a nice deck in front, good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When I first walked into our room, I was disappointed. Ratty looking carpet, bad tile job, ikea stuff scattered throughout. However, as the ambiance of the place sunk in, I fell in love with the cool vibe and particular vision of the place. First off, for those who hate eating breakfast with strangers, this is the bed and breakfast for you. In cooler months, the tray with french press coffee and a light continental breakfast is delivered to your room. Ingredients are excellent (eg. delicious yogurt, fresh berries, boiled farm egg), but there are no "choices", so if you are particular, this may not work for you. The stoves (firelog only) are fantastic at night and in the morning. The outdoor area is a blend of whites, blues and weathered wood, with the occasional injection of the places' trademark orange. The saline pool is FREEZING like a plunge pool (we were there late October). However, sitting out in the saline hot tub under palm trees and redwoods is emblazoned in my mind as one of those lovely vacation moments. Also, the place is practically in walking distance of an amazing redwood forest, which just adds to the magic. Staff are friendly, but not on-site all the time (you can call them if need be), so don't expect hand-holding, concierge service etc. This place is almost a whole different model of running a hotel, so if you're up for that, I think you'll love it. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Boon was over priced, the room was too small and out dated, but breakfast was good. The room was clean however, but TV was sooo tiny that it was hard to watch. If you are looking for luxury steer clear.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Like all the other reviews, this hotel was peaceful and relaxing. An oasis near Guerneville. Clean, simple, ---on the verge of being dated. Clean white bedding with an incredibly relaxing mattress. Great in-room mini bar /snack basket and a spectacular honor bar near pool. The wine selection at the honor wasn't super, on our visit-- only red wine. However, I was able to make 2 great gin and tonics. Great breakfast! Was expecting typical continental breakfast foods but was surprised to find excellent savory biscuit sandwiches, muffins and fruit. All items, including coffee were delicious!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Boon is a small hotel on the outskirts of Guerneville; it is an easy 15 minute walk to the Main st. There are 14 rooms around a pool, lawn and bar area, it is very quiet and serene. Our room was a deluxe queen with a small deck off patio doors at the rear of the room. The room is modern, within minimal furnishings but quite stylish. When we arrived it was super hot but Evan has placed fans in the room and by the time we retuned from dinner it had cooled to a reasonable temp.
Breakfast is bagels, fruit and coffee served around the pool; and easy start to the day.
I would return for a relaxing stay or to go hiking or riding in the Armstrong Woods.

Room Tip: There is some road noise, rooms 13 and 14 are closest to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to boon hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about boon hotel & spa

Address: 14711 Armstrong Woods Road, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at boon believe the earth and its resources are gift and we must do our part to preserve them. We believe in luxury, design and amenities. We believe a hotel should amaze you and leave you eager to return as soon as possible. Welcome to boon. You're gonna love it here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boon Hotel & Spa Hotel Guerneville
Boon Hotel And Spa
Boon Hotel & Spa Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage boon hotel & spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.