We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guerneville gay resort spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woods Resort at the Russian River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Woods Resort at the Russian River to your Saves list
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
16484 4th St, Guerneville, CA 95446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Guerneville gay resort spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

My partner and I just returned home after 4 nights at The Woods. The landscaping is very nice (great container gardening), the place is clean, and our room was fun - raised cottage overlooking the pool. We were deciding between here and the Russian River Resort (RRR). They are nothing alike. If you are looking for a quiet resort and not a party scene - but close to everything - stay here. If you want the bar, noise, music, and somewhat seedy guests, stay at the RRR. My suggestion is to stay at the Woods and hang out at RRR during the day or at night for fun. The only "issues" we had with The Woods were minor. There is no continental breakfast but the rooms have kitchenettes, so go to the local Safeway and get breakfast food for your stay. The pool wasn't open until close to 10AM some days and closes early. There is not hot tub anymore. There is no amplified music by the pool (can be good or bad depending on your preference). It was almost too quiet but because everything is so close in this town, you can spend some relaxing time here and head across the street to see what insanity is going on at the RRR or the local bar on Main Street at any time. We met some really nice people at The Woods and would be happy to stay again. The staff was helpful when you approached them but weren't much of a presence at all, unlike most resorts we've visited in towns like Key West. This is a quiet town and The Woods is a perfect spot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Spent last weekend at the Woods. This place is great, always in tip-top condition, and best of all, it is quiet! We've stayed at all of the inns in Stumptown, but the Woods is my favorite. The owner takes real pride in keeping this resort clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

My partner and I have stayed at The Woods on several occasions over the past eight years or so and we keep coming back. Michael and Verna (the owners) have rooms for everyone ranging from the frugal vacationer (rooms in the bunkhouse) to those who want to splurge on apartment-like accommodations with kitchens and patios. We stayed in the bunkhouse! It was, as usual, clean, cozy and comfortable with a queen size bed, shower and bathroom, television and remote and free wireless internet access. The grounds are immaculate and the plants surrounding the pool area are a sight to behold. There's always a fine selection of men around the clothing-optional pool area during the day. Complimentary tanning lotion and moisturizer is provided poolside. The resort tends to attract a friendly clientele - not the party types - so we always make friends with other guests and this time was no exception. We went to dnner with another couple who was staying there and met a second couple from our local area with whom we have stayed in touch. Although continental breakfast isn't provided, there are several excellent eateries within 5-minutes walk. If there is one thing we would add to the amenities that could be provided it would be a microwave oven. Perhaps Michael and Verna might consider making one available so that guests can make quick, cheap meals without going to a restaurant. A fantastic place to stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francsico Bay Area
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

This is I believe the sixth time we have stayed at the Woods and have been in several different cabins and rooms and all of them were clean and well maintained. The gardens outside get more beautiful each year and the pool area is a great relaxing place just to chill, read, swim or just sunbathe. This also a place where you can actually sleep at night since loud noises and rowdy behavior are not allowed in the evening sleep hours, not the case for some resorts in Guerneville. I would not hesitate to recommend the Woods for that little getaway from the city.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Woods for 3 days. The cabin was clean and comfortable. The pool nice and refreshing and the grounds were maintained beautifully. We met a very nice couple: Andy & David from Cincinnati, OH. We hope to come back next summer!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene, oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We (partner and I) spent three days at The Woods: had a deluxe room with kitchen--all perfectly clean with upgrades in appliances, great bed (!), new towels and dishes, wonderful little gas stove. Quiet, and beautiful pool with both eye candy and subtle action going on. Met some great guys, and had good advice from management about restaurants, places to visit. This was relaxing, restful, and we hope to get back there soon. I'd give it a A plus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My boyfriend and two of my friends stayed at the bunkhouses. The owner is very nice and the garden is fantastic. However, when we got to our rooms, we were disappointed. The sheet has some unknown stains and they room service actually got my friend's t-shirt dirty. My boyfriend and i kept bumped into the TV-rack since it is placed so low. When i found out we were charged more than quoted. I asked the front desk, the lady just said she didn't do the quote and expressed no willingness to honor the quote price. The pool is not heated --freezing and it is such a disappointment that the resort has no jacuzzi. It will be wonderful to jump into one at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woods Resort at the Russian River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woods Resort at the Russian River

Address: 16484 4th St, Guerneville, CA 95446
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Resort is the perfect answer for a relaxing, rejuvenating and (perhaps) slightly "spirited" escape to the Russian River. The Woods, centrally located in downtown Guerneville, is situated between the tall, swaying redwood trees and the hypnotic flow of the splendid Russian River for the ideal getaway.Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, dancing and live entertainment, The Woods Resort sits in a quiet corner bend of Fifes Creek. The serenity of the grounds will enchant and lull you, with rooms and suites outfitted with the highest quality amenities.The Woods Resort offers cottages, free-standing guest cabins and multi-room suites with full kitchens, gas fireplaces, private balconies and stunning views of lush redwood forests. The resort has one of the largest swimming pools in the area, has full sun all day long. With an outdoor fireplace, stone fountains and romantically lighted landscaping, your stay at The Woods is guaranteed to make you forget the chaos of the real world.Your hosts, Michael and Verna, are veterans of the local customer service industry with a familiarity of all the area has to offer in the way of recreation, adventure, wine tasting, dining, spa treatments and entertainment. They are happy to help you plan an exciting, memorable stay at the Russian River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Woods Resort at the Russian River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woods Resort At The Russian River Hotel Guerneville
The Woods Resort At The Russian River Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woods Resort at the Russian River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.