We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent place to relax and enjoy the area"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woods Resort at the Russian River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Woods Resort at the Russian River to your Saves list
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
16484 4th St, Guerneville, CA 95446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Excellent place to relax and enjoy the area"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have stayed several times at The Woods, and each visit excedes my expectations. The owners go out of their way to make you comfortable. They are more than willing to give excellent advice on restaurants, hiking, and sight seeing in the area. The resort offers great views of the woods nearby, and a relaxing and quiet environment to really enjoy some "down time". A great place to read or do some writing, or nothing at all!
-Russ V

Room Tip: Michael always helps me choose the best room for my visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

i have been staying at the woods for the last 6-7 years and am infact headed down there next week. michael and verna are like family to me and always make sure i am comfortable as i am disabled......always willing to get me what i need. i wont stay anyplace else in gurneville xcept at the woods love the pool and the peace and quiet but yet so close to town if i wanna be rowdy

Room Tip: all the rooms are good if you are in for just the basics rooms 9-12 are just a bed and bathroom..cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my 4th trip to Guermeville and I have stayed at a different place each time. This is one that I will definitely be coming back to. The grounds and pool are beautiful and the property is within walking distance to anything in the town. We stayed in Cabin #18 and it was so nice, with a lot of light, excellent view of the pool, and a fireplace in the corner. Michael, Verna and the gentleman that took care of the grounds and brought us towels were all very nice and accomodating. I'm definitely looking forward to my next trip to the Rusian River and my next stay at The Woods.

Room Tip: If Cabin #18 is available, grab it. It is located at the end and has extra windows that other cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Woods is lovely, peaceful, nearby to so many things. The staff is warm and friendly, and the accommodations are very comfortable ... I love sitting by the pool all afternoon. We always meet interesting people there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Brazilian boyfriend and I were celebrating our 1 year anniversary and had a DELIGHTFUL experience at THE WOODS !!!

We experienced a totally relaxing environment poolside, NO loud music, but wonderful poolside banter among the diverse guys at the pool.

SERVICE outstanding as owners Verna and Mike attentive to all guests needs !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was up from San Francisco with a friend for a couple days of R&R and was looking for a cheap motel. I'm so glad that I chose The Woods as I got much more than I bargained for. The whole experience was wonderful and just kept getting better. There was ample off-street parking. The grounds were gorgeous, with an impressive diversity of container gardening; their beauty and marvelous scents creating a pleasing and relaxing atmosphere throughout. The staff was very welcoming, knowledgeable, and helpful regarding local information. Michael was the consummate host. Our stay was mid-week just prior to the "season" kick off, and my impression is that there were only two other couples as guests. Even so, Michael laid a beautiful fire in the outdoor fireplace adjacent to the pool. The guests spontaneously gathered with drinks fireside. The cool night air, the warm glow of the crackling fire, and the glowing cinders climbing into a star-filled night sky all made for an experience well beyond anything I could have imagined. As an additional treat for the senses I availed myself of the opportunity to have a brief aux natural dip in the pool. The vibe was welcoming, helpful, and inclusive. The experience was extraordinary and will always be remembered as having become more than the sum of its parts. I need to do this more often; and now I know the best place for me to go. The Woods is truly my newfound "little slice of heaven".

Room Tip: The Bunkhouse Rooms are quite small, but I like small, and they are an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I escape San Francisco a lot over weekends and head up to Guerneville and The Woods is usually my preferred destination, whether it be for the day relaxing at the pool or a weekend getaway.

This resort is very well maintained and has a great variety of rooms to choose from - from very simple and cheap to very well decorated, spacious and relatively inexpensive compared to other places I've stayed at. Rooms are clean, well maintained and pretty quiet.

Michael, the host, is extremely friendly and helpful.

The best feature is the pool - it's nice and quiet and relaxing and you are guaranteed to meet some very charming and friendly locals as well as tourists from far and sunder sunning themselves around the pool. Clothing is optional.

Also a great day-getaway if you just want to soak up some sun in a relaxing, quiet environment.

Off-street parking + wi-fi is included.

I've taken all my overseas friends to this resort and they have all loved it.

Room Tip: If you require a bath in the bathroom, make sure you ask for it, as most rooms only have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woods Resort at the Russian River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woods Resort at the Russian River

Address: 16484 4th St, Guerneville, CA 95446
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Resort is the perfect answer for a relaxing, rejuvenating and (perhaps) slightly "spirited" escape to the Russian River. The Woods, centrally located in downtown Guerneville, is situated between the tall, swaying redwood trees and the hypnotic flow of the splendid Russian River for the ideal getaway.Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, dancing and live entertainment, The Woods Resort sits in a quiet corner bend of Fifes Creek. The serenity of the grounds will enchant and lull you, with rooms and suites outfitted with the highest quality amenities.The Woods Resort offers cottages, free-standing guest cabins and multi-room suites with full kitchens, gas fireplaces, private balconies and stunning views of lush redwood forests. The resort has one of the largest swimming pools in the area, has full sun all day long. With an outdoor fireplace, stone fountains and romantically lighted landscaping, your stay at The Woods is guaranteed to make you forget the chaos of the real world.Your hosts, Michael and Verna, are veterans of the local customer service industry with a familiarity of all the area has to offer in the way of recreation, adventure, wine tasting, dining, spa treatments and entertainment. They are happy to help you plan an exciting, memorable stay at the Russian River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Woods Resort at the Russian River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woods Resort At The Russian River Hotel Guerneville
The Woods Resort At The Russian River Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woods Resort at the Russian River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.