We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REDWOOD Heaven !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Woods Resort at the Russian River

Save Saved
You added The Woods Resort at the Russian River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
16484 4th St, Guerneville, CA 95446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“REDWOOD Heaven !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My Brazilian boyfriend and I were celebrating our 1 year anniversary and had a DELIGHTFUL experience at THE WOODS !!!

We experienced a totally relaxing environment poolside, NO loud music, but wonderful poolside banter among the diverse guys at the pool.

SERVICE outstanding as owners Verna and Mike attentive to all guests needs !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was up from San Francisco with a friend for a couple days of R&R and was looking for a cheap motel. I'm so glad that I chose The Woods as I got much more than I bargained for. The whole experience was wonderful and just kept getting better. There was ample off-street parking. The grounds were gorgeous, with an impressive diversity of container gardening; their beauty and marvelous scents creating a pleasing and relaxing atmosphere throughout. The staff was very welcoming, knowledgeable, and helpful regarding local information. Michael was the consummate host. Our stay was mid-week just prior to the "season" kick off, and my impression is that there were only two other couples as guests. Even so, Michael laid a beautiful fire in the outdoor fireplace adjacent to the pool. The guests spontaneously gathered with drinks fireside. The cool night air, the warm glow of the crackling fire, and the glowing cinders climbing into a star-filled night sky all made for an experience well beyond anything I could have imagined. As an additional treat for the senses I availed myself of the opportunity to have a brief aux natural dip in the pool. The vibe was welcoming, helpful, and inclusive. The experience was extraordinary and will always be remembered as having become more than the sum of its parts. I need to do this more often; and now I know the best place for me to go. The Woods is truly my newfound "little slice of heaven".

Room Tip: The Bunkhouse Rooms are quite small, but I like small, and they are an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I escape San Francisco a lot over weekends and head up to Guerneville and The Woods is usually my preferred destination, whether it be for the day relaxing at the pool or a weekend getaway.

This resort is very well maintained and has a great variety of rooms to choose from - from very simple and cheap to very well decorated, spacious and relatively inexpensive compared to other places I've stayed at. Rooms are clean, well maintained and pretty quiet.

Michael, the host, is extremely friendly and helpful.

The best feature is the pool - it's nice and quiet and relaxing and you are guaranteed to meet some very charming and friendly locals as well as tourists from far and sunder sunning themselves around the pool. Clothing is optional.

Also a great day-getaway if you just want to soak up some sun in a relaxing, quiet environment.

Off-street parking + wi-fi is included.

I've taken all my overseas friends to this resort and they have all loved it.

Room Tip: If you require a bath in the bathroom, make sure you ask for it, as most rooms only have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I read about this wonderful place in Westways Magazine. It lived up to it's great review and more. We arrived late at night and my sister was not happy about the bed. The host was able to upgrade us to a different room. Well worth the extra money. We had a wonderful relaxing 2 days. Would definitely come again as the host recommended many great places to visit while we were there.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony was worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stumbled across this place, and what a great time I had. Spent 2 nights there, Michael the host was extremely friendly and made my stay great! I left and actually return a week later for 3 more nights. The atmosphere was so relaxing and loved laying by the pool sunbaking!
I will definitely be back next year when i return to the USA!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was our first visit to the Woods, and we'll definitely be back. We opted for one of the Cabin rooms, which proved ideal for a long weekend retreat from the city. The room had a nice gas fireplace that quickly warmed it up during the cool nights, a large comfy king bed, a kitchen with refrigerator (perfect for chilling champagne from nearby Korbel), microwave, and coffee maker, along with all the necessary accessories for a great breakfast in bed each morning.

The entire property was clean, well-maintained, with lots of plants, flowers, etc. Clearly the owners put a lot of time, effort, and heart into this place. It has a courtyard style layout, surrounding a large pool, with lots of sun and plenty of lounge chairs. The location is perfect as well, just a block away from the main drag through town, with easy access to all the restaurants, bars, and shopping it has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We spent two relaxing, happy days at the Woods in February. We were the only guests, but the owners and staff were welcoming and available, despite the slow season. Our room had a small but very adequate kitchen, and we cooked our dinners and lunches and one breakfast, which was not only cheaper, but a very nice way to make the time relaxing and intimate. (Even in our "deluxe cabin" the king sized bed took most of the floor space in the bed room, so the extra room in the kitchen was definitely worth the modest extra cost, even aside from being able to fix our meals.) There is a big safeway in walking distance, so it's easy to get stuff to cook. The cabin was on the second level, with a deck in front overlooking the pool -- it was too cold to swim, tempting as it looked, but clearly in warm weather it would be neat to sit around the pool naked and soak up rays. Free wi-fi, flat screen TVs,decent selection of free DVDs to borrow, good "amenities" package (tailored to a gay clientele), ample parking. Only suggestion -- a small table in the bedroom would be useful and so would a hot tub near the pool so winter guests could enjoy the pool area..

Room Tip: The modest extra cost of a "deluxe cabin" was definitely worth it -- space, access to deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Woods Resort at the Russian River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woods Resort at the Russian River

Address: 16484 4th St, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Resort is the perfect answer for a relaxing, rejuvenating and (perhaps) slightly "spirited" escape to the Russian River. The Woods, centrally located in downtown Guerneville, is situated between the tall, swaying redwood trees and the hypnotic flow of the splendid Russian River for the ideal getaway.Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, dancing and live entertainment, The Woods Resort sits in a quiet corner bend of Fifes Creek. The serenity of the grounds will enchant and lull you, with rooms and suites outfitted with the highest quality amenities.The Woods Resort offers cottages, free-standing guest cabins and multi-room suites with full kitchens, gas fireplaces, private balconies and stunning views of lush redwood forests. The resort has one of the largest swimming pools in the area, has full sun all day long. With an outdoor fireplace, stone fountains and romantically lighted landscaping, your stay at The Woods is guaranteed to make you forget the chaos of the real world.Your hosts, Michael and Verna, are veterans of the local customer service industry with a familiarity of all the area has to offer in the way of recreation, adventure, wine tasting, dining, spa treatments and entertainment. They are happy to help you plan an exciting, memorable stay at the Russian River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Woods Resort at the Russian River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woods Resort At The Russian River Hotel Guerneville
The Woods Resort At The Russian River Guerneville, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woods Resort at the Russian River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.