We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Biscuits and Gravy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Grill

Garden Grill
17132 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446
707-869-3922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Guerneville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Santa Ynez, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Biscuits and Gravy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Had breakfast here based on Trip Advisor reviews. We chose to sit on the patio since it was a beautiful July day. My husband immediately saw they had biscuits and gravy and looked no further. I went for the standard bacon and egg breakfast. Both were really good. This place is just good old fashioned comfort food. The food is good and the service is friendly. We love Guerneville and hope to come back and try this place for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    42
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really great baby back ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was a very generous portion, it made two meals. I love the meatiness and leanness and taste of these ribs. A wonderful find. Also, the garlic bread that came with it was the best of my entire life!
The baked beans were great too.

My dog sat with me on the shaded deck. This is my favorite casual place in Guerneville!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant gets very crowded for lunch. Good service, and the turkey is baked by them. Very nice outdoor seating area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A tried and tested informal family enterprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Meeting with my Grand-Daughter for Saturday AM Breakfest date; she brought her Smart Phone and found this great place on it and provided the directions.
15 miles W of Santa Rosa, Sonoma County, CA. On the edge of a Russian River Resort town; on the edge of that town at the intersection of "Old Cazadero" Road and State Highway 116. Few businesses in the immediate vicinity, on the highway, noise was bearable as was the music.
It was surprisingly busy for a Saturday morning but the wait was short and food was long on flavor and quantity.

A former Railroad stop in late 19th Century, Second Growth Redwood lumber area - clear cut after San Francisco 1906 earthquake and fire.

Lots of hospitality in the area. Russian River recreation area but parking is limited almost everwhere in the area. Too close to Ocean for many vineyards; which are all east of Korbel/Hop Kiln sales operations.

All 3 of us would go back for the cooking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stopped in here for dinner on my day trip and was happy to see the Trip Advisor favorite sign on the door. I have to say I was a little disappointed. I felt invisible after being seated. Not totally unusual when travelling/dining alone but terribly rude of the staff. I watched 2 other tables be served despite arriving after me. The garden salad with grilled chicken was good but nothing special. The patio was nice, I did take a couple of pictures of the trees there. Overall it was OK but I did leave feeling disappointed in the service and the food. It makes me regret not having chosen my restaurant more carefully that evening as there are many other options nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Grill also viewed

Guerneville, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 
Guerneville, Sonoma County
Guerneville, Sonoma County
 

Been to Garden Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.