We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough great things!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breakers Inn
39300 S. Hwy 1, P.O Box 389, Gualala, CA 95445   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Laguna Niguel, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Can't say enough great things!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2005

After seeing the photos and reviews of the BREAKERS INN, I chose it for our one night stay on our car trip. Unfortunately, we got severely detoured and arrived VERY late and VERY stressed at 8:30 pm. We were greeted very warmly at the front desk and made to feel 'at home'. We only booked their partial ocean view room for this trip, but it was perfectly fine. I did view/photograph their luxury room before leaving the next morning (see photos).

The rooms are very quaint and comfortable, each with their own decor. Ours was the 'Napa' room and one of the three partial ocean view. Even so, we had our own private deck that had an ocean view, as well as an ocean view from part of our room. Some of the jacuzzi rooms have tubs that are oceanfront in the room, some are in the bathroom, and two have a sauna in the bathroom.

Our bathroom was basic and very clean. The room was average sized, but the luxury oceanfront rooms are very large. We had a high four-poster king bed, real fireplace, two chairs and a table, a coffee maker, and wet bar.

The lobby is very cute. There is always coffee, fruit and cookies available. In the morning, they do an excellent job with their free continental breakfast and provide trays for you to take your breakfast to your room.

The town looks very cute -- though we didn't have time to explore it. We're looking forward to that on our return trip. There is also a market, which I believe has a deli, right next door to the Inn, as well as a few other resturants within walking distance.

Onsite with the BREAKERS INN is the Oceansong restaurant. It shares the same stunning view that the room at the Inn have. Everyone in the restaurant is very friendly and helpful. They couldn't have been nicer to us. We were trying to get take out food at 8:40 before everything closed. We only wanted sandwiches and they let us order from the bar menu. We had two sandwiches to go and ate in our room -- with wine and the fireplace. The sandwiches were EXCELLENT. I would definitely recommend the restaurant.

The BREAKERS INN has a stunning location that would be hard to beat.

It's one of the nicest places overall that we have stayed, and a huge value compared to some other properties. Don't forget to ask for your AAA discount!

It was a great stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    37
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

The Breakers Inn most notable features are first and foremost the absolutely incredible location and amazing view of the ocean and Gualala Point/Beach from inside the room and on the balcony. Situated on a bluff directly above where the Gualala River meets the Pacific Ocean - pictures cannot do it justice. I reviewed the pictures in their online gallery before I booked the reservation and thought the location looked decent; I was blown away when I walked through the door and looked out over my balcony.

I booked one of the Deluxe Corner Oceanfront Rooms with Spa and the room itself was quite nice. It looked to be recently renovated, well maintained, clean, nicely appointed with the standard 4-5 star amenities. Don't expect a Hyatt Regency or Ritz Carlton quality room; it's slightly more motel'ish, but still very nice. This comes from someone who frequently stays at resorts such as the Ritz Carlton Kapalua or the Grand Wailea Resort and Spa, so I'm accustomed to pretty nice places. The room had a large King bed and a nice couch and love seat near the fireplace and window overlooking the beach. The bathroom had a nice deep ceramic and tiled Jacuzzi tub with plenty of room for two. The jets were decent and you can easily and quickly adjust the temperature by adding hot or cold water which could be dispersed at a ferocious pace if you cranked the valve open. Bring some candles and bubble bath for extra romance. I'd recommend spending the extra dough to get the Luxury Oceanfront Spa Room with the tub inside the room overlooking the view.

The town of Gualala is also quite nice; a few little shops, some places to eat, and not too many people unlike Monterey/Carmel. The drive on Hwy 1 South of Gualala is simply amazing; blows Hwy 1 through Big Sur away hands down. Lots of little State Parks where you can stop and walk on trails down to and along the rugged Pacific Coast where Redwoods meet amazingly blue waters. The Hwy snakes in and out of gulches along the coast and at some points you'll find yourself hundreds of feet above the ocean with incredible views - keep your eyes on the road, or stop to look.

It's a wonderful place to visit, and I'll be back again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2004

My expierence with the Breakers Inn was horrible! I was so disappointed in the lack of professionalism from the hotel manager and the cleanliness of the hotel! When we arrived in our room we greated with seven huge spiders and many other strange insects. When we were looking for something to kill the spiders with we found ROACH killer! There were spiders webs all over the room and it was obvious that the room was just not clean! The room was three hundred dollars and when you pay that much money for a one night stay you should not have to deal with being an exterminator. When we contacted the hotel manager with our disgust with the room we were offered another room in the hotel and because we declined we were verbally attacked by her. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone! Never Stay at the Breakers Inn!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2004

We have stayed here twice. The first time we got the most expensive room which was a large corner room with a spa for two and a sauna. We had the greatest time and the bed was so comfortable! They have a lovely continental breakfast included with your stay in the morning with coffee, pastries, fruit and some other things. My husband would go get it for us and bring it back to our room. We were on the top floor and hear no noise from any other patrons. It was as if we were there alone. The second time we stayed, we got the more inexpensive room which was much smaller and had the spa in the bathroom as opposed to in the room by the fireplace. This time someone was above us and we could hear them running their spa. It wasn't horrible though but more noisy than before. We were close to the restaurant next door and late one night after the bar closed we could hear people outside fighting, drunk. The less expensive room had no robes and no VCR but still very nice, clean and comfortable. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2004

Spent 1 night at the Breakers Inn on the advice of a friend. The reception personnel were very friendly. The reception area was tradionally nice, with coffee, cookies and brochures available. In the mornings, a complimentary breakfast was available to take back to your room, which was quite good. The rooms themselves were a little disappointing, somewhat dated. They did include a nice deck, with a view of the river, fireplace and spa in the bathroom. TV reception was poor, and operating spas could be heard and felt! The biggest disappointment was access to the beach. The only access was thru a state park approx. 1 mile away, which charged #4.00 parking fee, then it was a very long trek to the actual beach! All things considered, would most likely not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2004

Subject: Breakers Inn Location: Gualala, California, United States, North America Title: Nice getaway ID#: 1644418 Here are the directions from their website. Hopefully this will help you figure out where it is. They do not give a street address.Take Highway 101 North past Santa Rosa (approx. 1 hour without traffic conditions) it is best to fill up with gas before leaving Santa Rosa Exit Guerneville/River Rd. Head west on 116 through Guerneville towards Jenner Take Highway One north through Jenner (approx 1 hour from Santa Rosa) Drive on Highway One along the the coast to Gualala. (approx 1 hour) We are the first oceanside inn at the entrance of town. My husband and I stayed at the Breakers Inn in Gualala for a weekend in February. We rented a "deluxe corner room with a regional theme and a two-person whirlpool spa" for $198/night. This is their second-tier room. The top-tier, which have the hot tub in the room near the window instead of in the bathroom, rent for about $50 more.Pros: - The view from the room was very nice -- across a freshwater lagoon to the ususally unoccupied beach right beyond. Seagulls congregated in the lagoon and we enjoyed watching them. - There was a nice, private balcony. We felt comfortable leaving the balcony door or windows open at night to hear the sound of the surf. The balcony has clear walls so you can see the ocean from the room. - There's a decent continental breakfast and you are welcome to load up and take it back to your room to enjoy on your private balcony. - The two-person spa was just what we were looking for (but see cons). - The room was spacious, though the "regional theme" was minimal. - The heating is in the floor, which means it's silent. - There's a nice glass fireplace in the room, with one of those presto-logs. You get one log free, then you have to pay $2 a log -- quite reasonable.Cons: - Although the very deep spa had what we were looking -- namely it held two people in comfort and it filled up nice and fast -- the jets were really weak. This didn't matter to us, but if you wanted any kind of a bubbly "Jacuzzi experience," you would be disappointed. - The spa wall was so high that it was actually a little challenging to get in and out of. Anyone with mobility problems, who was obese, or even just very inflexible in the legs, might not be able to do it safely, if at all. - You were only supposed to use the spa between 9 a.m. and 10 p.m. I'm not sure if this referred to even bathing, or just to using the jets. It was INCREDIBLY noisy when your neighbors turned on their jets, so I see why they had this rule, though I didn't like it. - They didn't provide terrycloth robes to use, as most resorts do. At these prices, they should. - There is TV with cable in the room, but there are no rent-a-movies available. You can rent a VCR -- we did, and we had brought videos -- but the hookup was poorly thought out. The very short cable did not reach to the fastened-down hookup in the TV cabinet unless you precariously balanced the VCR on the TV. - Although the rooms are right on the coast, they are not actually on the beach. Because there's the lagoon if front of the rooms, if you want to walk on the beach itself, you have to drive or walk about a mile to a state park entrance that has a path to the beach. I think this may be true of all the three or four resorts on the coast in Gualala.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breakers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Inn

Address: 39300 S. Hwy 1, P.O Box 389, Gualala, CA 95445
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Inn has graciously greeted guests for fifteen years. Dramatic and ever changing ocean views provide a breathtaking backdrop for your stay. Offering twenty-eight individually decorated rooms built on a cliff overlooking the mouth of the Gualala River and the Pacific Ocean. Along one of the country's most storied roads, the Pacific Coast Highway. Custom designed with European elegance, the inn is enhanced with large private decks, whirlpool spas, fireplaces, radiant floor heat, fine furnishings and artwork, kingsized beds, wet bars, microwaves, refrigerators, television and DVD players, free wireless internet, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, beveled glass windows and copper roofs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Gualala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Breakers Inn to your Saves list