We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance with a view and natures entertainment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breakers Inn
Save
You added Breakers Inn to your Saves list
39300 S. Hwy 1, P.O Box 389, Gualala, CA 95445   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Romance with a view and natures entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent a glorious weekend in Gualala, California at the Breakers Inn. We stayed in one of the larger rooms but did manage to peek into a smaller room and found it equally charming. Every room is directly on the water, the surf was pounding so hard we could hear it all night and the sunset and moonset were directly in front of our windows. There is a fireplace (logs are included) and a marvelous jacuzzi for 2 in the bathroom. Oh, and kitchenette with microwave and fridge.
This was definitely a recipe for romance. We got up a few times during the night to marvel at the stars and then the moon while the surf continued to break.

I would recommend this to anyone. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is they stopped serving breakfast in the morning. We had anticipated a B+B as the website had stated and were not informed of the change until we checked in. Still, it is a dramatic and restful place to stay.

Room Tip: we loved the Normandy room but Holland is next door and has an equally great view. A top floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    39
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
18
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Underhill, Vermont
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Pick the 'German' room which is more like a suite with a very large balcony that is right over the river and ocean just on the other side of a sand bar. You will hear the surf all night. The room was very clean and exceptionally large. Met the owner 'George' in the restaurant for breakfast and told him how pleased we were with the room. He comped our breakfast which was very nice. Also when we checked in the receptionist offered us port or sherry in very large stemware to take back to our room; a nice touch. Off season rates are very good for this high quality Inn.

Room Tip: Loved the 'German' room. All rooms are situated right over the river with the ocean surf ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Great rooms with great view. Nice welcoming staff at the front desk. The catch - there was no breakfast with the room and they did not mention it though their site says "Elegant continental Breakfast". The staff just refused to address this issue when my husband said that he booked a room w/breakfast. The staff simply said "the restaurant is now open so you can go and have breafast there if you wish". We learned from former employee that after the opening of the restaurant next door "The Shoreline" , the Breakers Inn would give its guests a voucher for their breakfast. Breakfast at the Shoreline was Mediocre and quite expensive.

Room Tip: every room has a great view, but you can hear the guests above if you are in the lower level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

really used to like this place, but they are letting things get too old and need refurbishing. The bed is uncomfortable---and the comforter smelled funky, the rug is dirty, no matches to light the log in the fireplace, chairs on deck are cracked. The worst was the gas smell on the deck, the whole reason to be at this hotel is for the view, but when I went outside there was a definite gas smell, and I don't think management believed me. Must have heard 3 different units use the spa bath, got tired off hearing that even though by 9p all was quiet. Had trouble with the TV, DVD player never worked. Sign on one lightswitch plate, says bedside lamp, nope doesn't work for that. One lamp unplugged from wall---just getting sloppy with the care of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was a fabulous room that felt like a small home. The decor was great, the view was wonderful of the ocean from the balcony and the fire place just added the finishing touches. I loved the canopy bed but hubby thought a little too firm. Staff wonderful and continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeport, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stopped here on a Saturday night and the only room they had left was the Scotland Room, so I can't speak to the condition of the other rooms. Pros: The room was clean, and the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom was an added bonus. The lanai was large and the view was very nice, looking over the river and out to the ocean. Very relaxing, we watched Ospreys hunting and kayakers paddling up the river. There were a couple of decent places to eat within walking distance, and the continental breakfast was generous. Cons: Carpet was threadbare in a couple of spots, the furniture could use a good coat of Old English, there were a couple of dead spiders (better than live ones!) and the beds felt worn out, but our real problem was with the sheets. The sheets did not fit, they were too small and had no elasticity. All night long they kept coming loose and we found ourselves pulling the sheets back over the corner to keep from sleeping on a bare mattress. We did attempt to call the office when we discovered the problem, but they were closed. We did not get a good night's sleep in this room. The real disappointment came the next morning when we told the management of the issue and the only response we got was "Oh, guess we need new sheets". Based on the views & the lanai, I could've overlooked the other flaws if the management had a more appropriate response. We visit the Mendocino Coast at least once a month, and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Our stay was originally for 2 nights but we had such a great time that we decided to stay annother night. Sue and company did a wonderful job making us feel welcome and comfortable. They made some great sugguestions on what to do in the area. The Inn and our rooms were both very clean. The rooms have floor heating and fireplaces. The beds were perfect. Our first 2 nights were in the Mendocino room (GREAT VALUE) which had a awesome view!! Our last night was in the Washington room which was spacious with a even better view. The tv never came on, the sound of the Ocean was enough. The breakfast was small but PLENTY. We spent a entire day at the beach, which was very close. By sugguestion we tried Bones BBQ (twice) up the road walking distance. The BEST BBQ in Nothern CA, hands down. We went to Point Arena for the Seafood & Harbor festival, good small town fun. There is a market right next door Surfs supermarket with everything needed. Thanks again for the great stay and we will be back.
Daniel & TC

Room Tip: Mendocino room is a great value!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Inn

Address: 39300 S. Hwy 1, P.O Box 389, Gualala, CA 95445
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breakers Inn has graciously greeted guests for fifteen years. Dramatic and ever changing ocean views provide a breathtaking backdrop for your stay. Offering twenty-eight individually decorated rooms built on a cliff overlooking the mouth of the Gualala River and the Pacific Ocean. Along one of the country's most storied roads, the Pacific Coast Highway. Custom designed with European elegance, the inn is enhanced with large private decks, whirlpool spas, fireplaces, radiant floor heat, fine furnishings and artwork, kingsized beds, wet bars, microwaves, refrigerators, television and DVD players, free wireless internet, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, beveled glass windows and copper roofs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Gualala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.