We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seacliff on the Bluff

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seacliff on the Bluff
Save Saved
You added Seacliff on the Bluff to your Saves list
P.O. Box 1317, Gualala, CA 95445   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Believe it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

I came to Seacliff, like the Overleaf Lodge in Oregon, because of the reviews of Tripadvisor. Like the Overleaf, it is an great value - the rooms are immaculate and the amenities amazing - soaking tub, champagne, balcony, huge windows everywhere and fireplace. Off season, we got our second night for 1/2 price! Its location on the ocean and estuary is unique and Gualala Point Regional Park is not to be missed. You can walk on the ocean bluff for hours. We loved that we could walk to restaurants and shops. We cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
85
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marin County, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Seacliff in Gualala -- We picked it because there were excellent Trip Advisor reviews on the hotel, more a motel, really, but that doesn't capture it at all. Be sure you get a room on the second floor. If you're on the first floor, you have the same balcony, but you're looking at bushes. From the balcony of the second floor, you sit in the sun, look out over the Gualala estuary with its big brown tongue of sand with lots of sea birds, then sand dunes, and there's the ocean waves rolling in. Gorgeous. Folk are quite nice, the restaurants in town are okay, but another great thing -- in Anchor Bay, just up the road, there's Mariachi's Mexican restaurant -- have fun.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elk grove, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

This was our 3rd time visiting Gualala and staying here. The view is worth a million dollars. The units are very, very clean and well taken care of. They have put in new beds since our last stay and they are very comfortable. We have already booked our return visit. Go for the top floor units for the best view and privacy. The tub and fireplace are so great with the cool coastal weather. We just LOVE this place. And I am picky...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

SeaCliff Hotel, Gualala Review
December, 2009

The Seacliff Hotel is located on a bluff, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The Gualala River runs directly in front of the hotel. The sweeping vista from your hotel room of the ocean, with the sights and sounds of waves breaking on the beach, is the best aspect of this hotel and makes it well worth the price.

The hotel is relatively low key. Reception is staffed from 8:00 AM to 9:00 PM. There are no telephones in the rooms, and cell-phone service is sporadic at best, but a pay telephone is available by the reception area.

This is actually nice, since you really get a feeling of being disconnected from everyday life and having a chance to relax. New this year is a pay-for-use wireless internet connection service (I didn’t bother with it). Digital TV service was also being installed when I stayed, but was not yet available in my room.

Each room has a gas fireplace and a nice deep Jacuzzi tub for two. Bubble bath is provided, and a complimentary bottle of champagne or sparkling cider is provided. The rooms are simply, but comfortably, furnished. Robes and binoculars are provided for lounging and whale watching.

The owners have continued to invest in upgrades to the facilities, with renovations to the balconies, and installation of double-paned windows. New carpet was also in my room. The mattress in my room had been upgraded since my last visit, and was much softer and more comfortable than previous visits.

There is no room service at the hotel, but there are a variety of restaurants nearby, all within walking distance. However, this area has been hard hit by the recession and a couple of restaurants had gone out of business. There is a good local grocery store. The room has a small microwave oven, and a small fridge.

If you’re looking for a quiet, romantic, restful place to get away, enjoy the sights and sounds of the ocean and relax with a glass of wine and a book by the fire I would highly recommend this hotel. Check the website for off season specials, and mention the internet special when you book.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

We went up to Gualala last minute to surprise our family who was camping up there. I tried going to Mar Vista Cottages and I was told they had rooms available but the owner did everything he could to talk me out of staying there "they won't like it here, we don't have tv or radio" referring to the two teenagers with me. He actually said as I left "I'm really struggling about taking your money". At $255 I decided to leave since I knew we weren't wanted. Went into town where there was plenty of space available and got this gorgeous ocean view room with fireplace and jacuzzi tub for around $160 per night, top floor with high ceilings. Front desk was helpful, there was a bottle of champagne for me and she gave the kids sparking cider which they were really excited about. It is a one bedroom but the bed is so big it can hold three of us. When our family came to visit before the holiday parade, the kids were making too much noise, and they kindly confronted us without making a huge issue out of it. Trinks is walking distance and had a great little country breakfast. I would go again however I'd leave the kids at home.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Drove from the Bay Area for our anniversary up the coast. Liked what we saw on Tripadvisor for this motel, and it was just as described. We reserved an upper room and enjoyed the high vaulted ceilings made of knotty pine. It may cost a bit more, but I'd recommend the second floor rooms, just for the more spacious ambiance.
Every room has a perfect view of the river and ocean. There is a small private outside balcony and each window has drop shades for your choice of sun and view or "sleep-in" darkness.
The room was clean and the bed was as comfortable as you'll ever find, with nice linens and a beautiful comforter. Terry robes are provided, but they could use some hooks in the bathroom to hang them as you won't want to ignore the very large two person spa.
They will provide a bottle of champagne in the fridge on request, (or you can bring your own) and there is also a small microwave on the counter.
Even though the bathroom is large with a separate toilet room and shower, the long counter gets smaller after they provided the coffee maker and microwave.
They are in the works to provide flat screen TVs in each room, and so far have completed four rooms. The cable selection is vast, but you may not need it with all there is to do in the fresh out doors.
The two recliners in front of the window can be turned around to face the sea for unlimited relaxation (commercial free). who needs a TV?
Of note, there are no phones in the rooms, and cell phones have poor signals out here, if any.
They have a pay phone at the ice machine. The inn keeper closes at 9:00 PM, but you can call for assistance 24 hours on the phone and someone will be there if needed.
We tried to have dinner upstairs at the "Top 'O the Cliff" just a short walk from the motel, but they were only serving drinks at the bar that evening, (a Wednesday.) They suggested to try the Redwood Grill up the highway in Anchor Bay. An excellent choice!
Fantastic food, reasonable prices and a good wine list. We would go here regularly if only they were closer to home. But we plan to do this all over again just as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We took the long way to wine country from San Francisco for our Honeymoon. After a gorgeous drive up the coast we found our way to this hotel. We had reserved in advance, which was lucky since all the places we past seemed to have no vacancy signs up. The rooms were lovely and it was nice that the balconies were on the side rather than front of the room. We watched the sunset in pure silence - you wouldn't have thought anyone else was in town! The room was spacious, but the pillows both my husband & I found really hard and so didn't sleep that well. The only real complaint is that the rooms don't have a phone. Ordinarily this wouldn't be something I'd note, except that there is not really cell service in Gualala. While we were checking in people from two rooms came to ask to use the front desk phone to make dinner plans. There is only one pay phone outside near the front office if you needed to make a call other than to a restaurant that the staff will do for you. Still, we really enjoyed our visit and found the room to be above average in cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seacliff on the Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliff on the Bluff

Address: P.O. Box 1317, Gualala, CA 95445
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Seacliff On The Bluff Hotel Gualala
Seacliff On The Bluff Gualala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seacliff on the Bluff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.