We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Crust Pizza

Upper Crust Pizza
39331 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445
(707) 884-1324
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Gualala
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This pizza place is a real small feel-good local place in a tourist town. It's small with a few tables inside, friendly workers, and a real nice clientele. However, the pizza did not live up to what we were hoping to get. The thin crust was tough and the toppings were quite ordinairy. We ordered a pizza with onions (hardly any were put on), garlic (could not even taste the garlic---did they forget to put it on?), ground sirloin, and sausage (couldn't tell if that was on the pizza either!). Both my wife and I felt we would have gotten a tastier deal if we bought a frozen pizza an brought it back to our place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“I wasn't expecting such a good pizza in Gualala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was by myself, so I had a small pizza with all the good stuff on it. It was a 45 minute wait, but I was staying close by so it didn't matter. The pizza was one of the best I've had in a long long time. The restaurant is very small, but they have takeout. Would definitely recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verde valley
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“maybe we caught them on a bad night?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

after reading all these glowing TA reviews on Upper Crust, i was at least expecting a decent pizza. what we got was TOUGH, CHEWY, and lacking flavor. maybe they ran out of tomato sauce this particular night?

Ok true i got it take out, but even pizza-hut take-out was better than this place. and its a bit overpriced too.

sadly, next time i think about a pizza, i will head to the nearest Costco rather than experience this again. And next time in Gualala, i will head to bones bbq instead!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foothills..ca.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a margarita...and a meaty thing too...very good hey i ' m from Brooklyn and have learned to bend a bit..it pretty darn good!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Pros: Friendly Service, good pizza for a good price, and right in town by the hotels.

Cons: They use paper plates and plastic cups to serve with.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Crust Pizza also viewed

Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 

Been to Upper Crust Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Crust Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.