We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Azul Bar & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cove Azul Bar & Grill
39102 Ocean Drive, Gualala, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Gualala
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: (707) 884-1835
maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stopped at Cove Azul while touring Route 1 Coastal Highway and hit Gualala around lunchtime and stopped here. Great views, very friendly, quick service and the meals were great! My wife had the dungeness crab sandwich and loved it! Prices were very reaonable and we were pleased as we took a chance and tried Cove Azul on a whim. Great choice!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Solid and reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I agree with the earlier review "solid and reasonably priced." Patio dining is nice if it's not too chilly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food/ nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended by several locals. With a 12 year old, a vegetarian, and meat eater it can be hard to find a place to suit all us. Cove Azul did just that. The food was good. The service was good and the price was good. We will eat her again the next time we are in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good place in Gualala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Good food and friendly atmosphere.
One of our favorites.
Family run.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Gem in Gualala!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hubby and I walked into this place and were nicely surprised at the ambience....and loved the view....of the dining room. The dining room is not fancy (paper tablecloths) the fine dining aspect is there in abundance! The waiter we had was great….very knowledgeable in the menu and forthcoming in his recommendations. So many things listed looked good it was hard to choose. Hubby ended up with the calamari steak (which he LOVED) and I had the chicken marsala which I also enjoyed very much! We shared a berry cheesecake for dessert (yummy). We will definitely be back!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cove Azul Bar & Grill also viewed

Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 

Been to Cove Azul Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Azul Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.