We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic BIrthday Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Ranch

Sea Ranch
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Ranch
Save
You added Sea Ranch to your Saves list
Gualala, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Romantic BIrthday Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We usually rent a house when we go to Sea Ranch (we have been going to Sea Ranch or staying in that general area for over 20 years), but this time we decided to stay at the Lodge.
We were pleasantly surprised,
The room had a great view, was clean and comfortable bed. Although the Lodge itself has had a few renovations the last few years, like updated bathroom, it could us a little bit more TLC, since it has a spectacular location,
It was very romantic considering there was no TV or radio, etc, in the rooms. So that was a nice change of pace.
The staff were nice, and the Black Point Restaurant was good, but it had a great free breakfast included in the room fee, the bar and bartender Kelly were a lot of fun, and the wait staff wonderful.
Although at first we were skeptical of staying at the Lodge rather than renting a house, we would definitely consider staying at the Lodge again.

Room Tip: Rooms #10 and #12 have the best views, although all rooms have some view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Sea Ranch many times over the years. Homes are available very near the water, in the meadow, on the hillside and in the mountains. The homes are always supplied with all the necessities and are much more than comfortable. The attractions around the Sea Ranch are awesome. Nature excursions, restaurants, shopping and much more await you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We are madly in love with Sea Ranch. My husband is an Architect, so this was sort of a pilgrimage. The hotel portion is 70's barn chic. I believe they renovated only 4 months earlier. The rooms have great gas fireplace, comfortable pillow cushion near the window for hours of ocean viewing and reading or relaxing. The beds were super comfortable, great linens, fluffy comforters. Bathrooms were nice and open, newly laid Slate tile, crackle tile on the shower and contemporary fixtures and fittings. Very Clean, simple modern barn like rooms. They are not super spacious, but that didn't detract for us. I recommend going en route driving through Point Reyes, pick up a picnic at the Tomales Market for some Cowgirl Creamery cheese, salami, wine, bread. Then pass by Marshall Oysters in Tomales Bay for the best BBQ oysters in the world. dreamy, delicious oysters. Also, yes do not be shocked. Go to Bones Roadhouse about 20 minutes north. Shocking good Brisket. completely unexpected. There is a nice long walk along the coast. Make sure you check out the non-denominational church up the road. I call it Nouveau Art Nouveau. Breakfast is good, lots of option and a great setting. Only negative was the dinner. I really wanted to like it, they try so hard and the staff is so nice, but the food was pretty bad and expensive. I can't dock them for the food. The room was great and love our stay in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

The house was beautiful, spacious, well appointed & loaded with all the creature comforts of home. The two master suites were a plus - plenty of room for 4-6 adults. The views of the Northern California coast were stunning (we saw a whale from the kitchen window) - including the views from the eight miles of private coastal trails. We highly recommend this vacation rental.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

We spent 3 nights at the Sea Ranch as our last "before school starts" vacation -- and, what a relaxing treat it was.

First, the weather. I fogot how clean air can be! It was sunny and cool, a little windy in the afternoons, but what a breath of fresh air!

Activities -- I was a little worried that our son, 4 years old, would find it boring. But, there are a number of nature exploring activities to do -- the beach, which is great for digging sand, and dumping water is great, but they also have a recreation center with a heated pool and tennis courts. There is a place called the "Hot Spot" which is a river with a rock bed. Lots of trails to walk on, and even a playground with swings and slide. The large Cypress(?) trees create these interesting tunnels with lots of wood for building "forts".

Lodging -- we rented a house from Don Berard Sea Ranch Rentals and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They spent a lot of time on the phone going over each house and what it had to offer. They really made sure we knew what we were getting ahead of time. The house itself was a pleasant surprise. Fully functional (like your own home) and clean. It was very conveniently located to trails, pool, beach. And, almost all houses have hot-tubs (YAY!)

I would recommend a trip to the Sea Ranch be no more than about 3 days, because it really is a place to escape.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Sunny windows -- need darker shades in the master bedroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

The Sea Ranch is a beautiful community with lots to do for both kids and adults. We spent every day exploring beaches and going swimming in one of their 3 large swimming pools. Also visited nearby Point Arena to do some fishing of the pier (free!) and visiting the lighthouse.

If you want to just relax, you can do that too. Quiet, no traffic, lots of wildlife and coastal scenes to view and admire.

We didn't eat out at all, but Gualala was extremely close (5 minutes drive) for grocery stores and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch

Address: Gualala, CA
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A yoga retreat that includes accommodations, all meals and instruction. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.