We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Whale Watch Inn by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
35100 S. Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“such a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

What an overpriced joke. I have no idea why these previous visitors were so taken with the place. You can't get by on a view forever. The place has not been updated since at least the 80's. It looked like my first condo (built in the 70s). Mold in the (teeny) tub-not suitable for sharing. Formica sink. No clock, no phone, no TV, no VCR, no DVD--a fireplace and a bed and a view. If you want extra soaps, they SELL THEM in the "lobby". How cheap can they be? The owner is a doctor and his wife who live in S.F. The wife (the primary owner) has taken comments guests have written in journals in the room and turned it into a BOOK that she sells! Such entrepreneurial bunk. This place is supposed to be romantic (no phone and no TVs under the guise of relaxation--really utter cheapness. Mold is not romantic, and even lovers like to know the time eventually. The room smelled (like dirty feet), the carpet was stained. There is a "community room" with a few World Books and oh yes, a framed article about the owners' daughter who is a gymnast or something. Even a small B&B has paperbacks and decent games to loan. The "Community Room" looked like--so help me G--d--a camp community hall.
There are no amenities, and nothing compelling except the beautiful California coastline and a lot of fog-which of course keeps you indoors--in the moldy, smelly room. And this might be a bit more acceptable, if it weren't $250+ a night. Highway robbery. And a waste of money we didn't have to waste. It was supposed to be the highlight of our romantic trip away from our kids.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    29
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
75
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

This bed and breakfast offers privacy and great ocean views. A hot breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. The decor is dated and the linens need replacing. At close to $300 a night one should expect newer bedding. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2005

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights at the Whale Watch Inn. The Inn is stunning and the staff is great. An outstanding breakfest was served warm and on-time in our room. Our room (Crystal Sea) was breathtaking. The grounds are well kept and the Whale Watch Room is open to relax in while you are exploring. The walk to the beach is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2004

What a perfect place to end our our honeymoon. We couldn't have asked for a more romantic and beautiful setting. The service was excellent, the room was amazing, and the views were spectacular. They accomodations were certainly bettern than I thought they would be. The inn keepers put a lot of effort and detail into making your stay perfect and it shows. All in all it was the best Inn we have ever stayed at.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2004

My husband and I spent a few days at the Whale Watch Inn in April 2004. We are in our mid 30s. We loved the setting, and the peacefulness of the place. The ocean views are amazing. Our room was large and well equipped with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. However, the decor needs updating - it is very 80s and it all looks a bit tired and cheap. They deliver hot breakfast to your door - a plus, but they were not happy to accomodate requests, and argued when they got it wrong. For this price I would expect a higher standard of decor, food and service.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2004

The suite was a perfect setup for good friends to share an effortlessly romantic evening and get to know one another without automatically committing to more. We were welcomed with wine and cheese, not to mention a 180 degree white-water view of the ocean from the Whale Watch Room. Our room's fireplace and blue-water view windowseats were a great followup for relaxed conversation and sharing of dreams and aspirations. Breakfast the next morning was on time, piping hot, and healthy but scrumptious. Everything was clean and welcoming. Hiking, Biking, Golf just 10 minutes in any direction right on the ocean bluffs... what better way to get out of the city for mature singles looking to take their time in a good relationship!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2004

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary at the Whale Watch Inn in Gualala. It's a very peaceful, romantic place. We loved the inn and didn't even want to leave our room. We stayed in the Crystal Sea room with a fantistic view of the ocean bay and a private balcony. A couple of suggestions would be salt with breakfast, new linens on the bed and hot water for tea or coffee in the room, other than that - it's a truly magical place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whale Watch Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Watch Inn by the Sea

Address: 35100 S. Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a motto here at the Whale Watch Inn and it is to provide you with "World Class service in a World Class setting." With 18 beautifully decorated guest rooms each with a dynamic view of the ocean, our rooms also all include a private deck and wood burning fireplace. Also included with your stay is a full gourmet breakfast delivered right to your room every morning of your stay! Our staff here is committed to making your stay an out of this world experience by accommodating your needs, and paying attention to the details. We hope you will join us soon, the ocean is waiting! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whale Watch Inn By The Sea Hotel Gualala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale Watch Inn by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whale Watch Inn by the Sea to your Saves list