We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So, so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere House Resort & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windermere House Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 3 more sites!
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2508 Windermere Road, Windermere, Ontario P0B 1P0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Windermere
London, On
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“So, so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently I visited Windermere House for a wedding. This review is mainly regarding the food at the reception. The hotel is beautiful, presents very well. Everything is very clean and tidy. The scenery is gorgeous. The food, was not to my liking. We had a choice of 2 entrees. Starting with a very strange spinach salad with mushrooms and a lot of vinegar. This did not appear to be to everyone's liking. Next for the the main dish, there were two to choose from. People with the crispy skinned trout said that it was quite good. The beef that we requested was to be well done. Well done was not the case, (therefore we could not eat it) as many people that requested well done were not satisfied to see the meat so rare and left behind a beautiful piece of uncooked beef. The dish was not accompanied with any other sides such as potato or rice or vegetable. There was an onion ring and that wasn't very good at all and a turnip puree. The dessert was a pecan tart with maple ice cream, it was ok, but rather sweet. The coffee tasted very salty and others told the waitress it smelled like burned dead fish. They promptly removed the cups and returned with another pot. They thought that the cause was cleaning packets for the decanter that had left behind a residue. The next cup of coffee did not taste any different from the one that was taken away. Overall, the meal was very disappointing for what I would have expected it to be. I had such high expectations prior to the wedding. The Windermere deserves great food to go along with everything else it has to offer, hopefully menu foods are somewhat better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
33
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

It's almost like Windemere House has always been in beautiful Muskoka, a picturesque vacation district an hour north of Toronto. At least it was there first because it got the best location overlooking a pristine bay of Lake Rousseau. I recently had dinner with friends on the covered flag stone patio. You can choose between the O&B kitchen or the sushi bar or mix and match as we did. The view was spectacular as was the food but the people watching was the best. We watched a wedding being performed on the spacious front lawn with guests arriving by float plane. Then we got to watch a colourful sunset. The perfect ending to a magnificent Muskoka day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Lensmania,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your verandah experience on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you had such a great dining experience with us. I have forwarded your positive comments to the Food & Beverage Manager of the hotel so she is aware of your experience.

We are excited to welcome you back to the resort at some point in the near future!

Enjoy the fall season! It's the best time of year to visit to see the fall colours. Thanks again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently went to Windermere House for dinner on a beautiful Saturday evening. Given the choice, we ate our meal in the dining room rather than on the wonderful porch. The Cesar Salad was great and three of our party really recommended it. We all had different mains - Roasted Chicken (excellent, moist), Steak and Frites (perfectly cooked) fries could have been a wee bit more crispier, Mac N Cheese (so rich and good) and the Sausage Gnoochie (very rich and tasty). We all shared desserts and highly recommended both the Warm Butter Tart - just the right size and the Skillet S'Mores - be sure to share that one. Service was attentive and very helpful. They had recommended their favourite entrees and desserts and made a point to follow up to see if we enjoyed our selections. We will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear j2b2m2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your dinner experience in the Rosseau Grill. We are glad you enjoyed it so much. I want you to know that I've forwarded your comments along to the Food & Beverage Manager at the hotel so she is aware.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Rosseau Grill or Pub at some point in the near future. We are open until Thanksgiving weekend!

Thanks again, see you soon!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This trip was a last minute decision for our 35 wedding anniversary. Prior to this we had never heard of the Windermere House, friends had been there and highly recommended it. We made our booking and drove almost 2.5 hours through some of the most beautiful country side one could ever hope to see. On arrival we were greeted with a well manicured property and a absolutely stunning facility known as the Windermere House. The next three days and two nights met all of our expectations. From the front counter to the wait staff and everybody in between we found all to be friendly, courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet was always well stocked with an excellent variety. As it ended up both our dinners were spent at the pub because we felt very comfortable there and the food and service was excellent. Priced a little on the high side but pretty much what we had expected. We found our room to be quite nice with a comfortable king size bed and a balcony overlooking Lake Rosseau. If you like a bath you would find the tub quite small but the rest of the room spacious and well equipped. Over all our experience was very nice and we look forward to going back one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Colleen & Willy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Windermere House on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you had such a great experience while staying with us. I have forwarded your review to the General Manager of the hotel so she is aware of your positive experience.

We are excited to welcome you back to the resort at some point in the near future!

See you again! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in a family suite (2 rooms with option to open or close the door between hotel rooms) and this worked well for us, having 2 young children under 3 years at the time. We found the hotel and decor to be a very nice blend of being tastefully updated, yet still holding some of the cottage country charm. The views of the Lake were lovely, food very good, we enjoyed playing a bit of tennis, and spending mornings at the public beach, swimming and playing in the sand, a short walk from the hotel. We did not have the opportunity for Spa or Golf on this trip, but all looked great.

The only negative for us as a family with young children (under 3 years at the time who are very much hand to mouth) was the goose poo on the public beach and some fuel in the water due to close proximity to the marina. The beach is quite small and there is no means to clean up the goose droppings once there. The goose issue on the beach prevented us from returning this summer 2013 despite our enjoyment of Windermere House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Krista,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the Windermere House. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. I just wanted to follow up with you in regards to the "Goose Poop" on our public beach. I did forward this feedback to our Maintenance Department and they were able to get the town to come clean up the beach, docks and surrounding areas. We appreciate your comments on this. We now have the town visiting every week to ensure that this area remains clean for our guests in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Windermere House at some point in the future. Hope to see you again this fall.

Thanks again for your feedback

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked a golf package for two for one night the last week of July for $414 plus taxes. This was a waterview room which turned out to be technically correct - but it was a small window that one needed to stand up on the very left side of the room beside the window to see the water. No view from chair or bed. The golf packaged did not include cart - another $40 plus taxes. On the positive side, the pub downstairs had very atmosphere and god food. Disappointed the fancy restaurant was closed on the Monday night during the height of the tourism season. Postice - breakfast is included. Basic buffet is included but closed at 10 am. At 930 there was a small amount of dried up scrambled eggs and two eggs Benny, sausages and bacon. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Parking is free but again limited. Rooms are spacious but do not offer coffee. Internet is slow and a bit of a hassle to get onto but again included. I understand Windermere frequently has mid week specials on discount websites that can save you big $$!!! Wished we had looked here first...

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear JohnMene,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at the Windermere House. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and offer our sincerest apologies. I have forwarded your comments along to the General Manger of the hotel as well as Oliver & Bonacini's Food & Beverage Manager so they are aware of your comments.

We hope that despite your concerns that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Thanks again for your feedback

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Summer staff who make up a large portion of the staff complement are not sufficiently trained to offer a level of service that one would expect from a 4 star resort. We went to the pub on two separate occasions and were ignored by staff each time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear COLL1550,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at the Windermere House. We appreciate all feedback we receive as it helps us improve for future guests. I want you to know that I've passed along your comments regarding the staff in the pub to the General Manager of the hotel as well as Oliver & Bonacini's Food & Beverage Manager so they are both aware. On behalf of the hotel, we offer our sincerest apologies.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Windermere House to make up for this negative experience you had in the pub.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windermere House Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House Resort & Hotel

Also Known As:
Windermere House Hotel
Windermere House Resort And Hotel
Windermere House Hotel Windermere
Windermere House Resort & Hotel Muskoka District, Canada
Address: 2508 Windermere Road, Windermere, Ontario P0B 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windermere House Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Lady of the Lake.”Windermere House Resort is an iconic landmark located on prestigious Lake Rosseau in Muskoka, Ontario, Canada. The country's oldest hotel, it has welcomed guests for over 140 years. Fine dining, boating, tennis, golf, spa services and five star service make Windermere House a preferred destination. New at Windermere House is The Cottages at Windermere, a private enclave of 6 three bedroom luxury fractional ownership cottages.Experience everything Muskoka has to offer in unsurpassed comfort. Luxuriate in plush pillowtop beds, indulge in sumptuous dining and relax amid plentiful, carefree recreation. We're here to spoil you.Offering family vacations, romantic getaways, golf packages, weddings and conferences facilities, Windermere House resort on Lake Rosseau offers the ideal backdrop for your Muskoka getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Windermere House Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere House Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.