We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe it was great because of the wedding?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windermere House Resort & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Windermere House Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2508 Windermere Road, Windermere, Ontario P0B 1P0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Maybe it was great because of the wedding?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Was just at the Windermere house for my good friends' wedding. The weather was perfect, the wedding was incredible and the Windermere was okay.
They put on a great wedding and the food was incredible at the reception. However, the rooms were tired. Nothing to fancy. Thought that the rooms had been redone, but didn't seem like they remembered to do the bathroom floor. Still old. The beds were comfortable.
We were not in the room much because the weather was great, so it was mostly good. It was the first weekend of the season, so staff were still learning.
The food options were great, but a bit expensive. The pub was fun, but if your room is near the main stairwell and you want to go to bed before the band is done, you won't. Could hear the band clearly.
We were able to use the paddleboats and the kayaks, which were good. We ended up swimming off the boat docks and not the little beach. The view from the muskoka chairs was nice with a cold beer.
Again, because I was there for a wedding, the experience was all in all great, but not sure I would visit again unless in a large group like we were.

Room Tip: If you want quiet for sleeping on the weekends, pick a room away from the stairwell. Pub is at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    37
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
49
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had our wedding at the Windermere on August 13th 2011 and it was fantastic. The grounds are beautiful, we had our ceremony on the lawn overlook the lake then moved to the huge covered porch for drinks and apps while we took pictures by the water. We then had the ceremony in the room over looking the lake. The food was amazing and right in line with the O&B experience we've revieved at Toronto resturants like Canoe. We also rented out the cottage beside the main building for family to stay in and we host a welcome bbq for all of our guests on the Friday night on the lawn in front of the cottage and windermere provided all the food which was awesome. The staff was great and helped us with the through out the wedding and wedding planning. Arlene in particular was a great help.

I also have to mention that the beds were so comfortable and our rooms were great (particularly the 2 bedroom suite the girls used to get ready).

In short I couldn't ask for anything more for our weekend and our guests agreed. A couple of our friends have already booked return visits for next summer.

Thanks Windermere!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balconey, deffinetly worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed at Windermere House for one night in July 2011. On our way back to the Ottawa area after camping in Georgian Bay/Bruce Peninsula, we decided to break up the long drive home by staying in the Muskokas. I was able to get a WagJag deal for our stay - only $125. It was well worth it. The king size bed was amazing, and the pub had some great food and drinks. The only downside was that when we went down for breakfast at 10:15am, we were told that breakfast was only served until 10:00am. I have never seen any other hotel or restaurant that ended breakfast so early, and it kind of ended our stay on a sour note. Other than that, it was really nice! The staff were down to earth and pleasant, most of the guests were snobs though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Gorgeous tranquil setting. Rooms a bit tired. Bar/porch staff scattered and a bit inattentive. Pub sound system loud and sport tv theme inappropriate for such a grand place. Boats should be available to guests through Thanksgiving. Rosseau Grill very good!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We made the trip to Windermere to experience the Oliver and Bonacini restaurant and menu at the patio restaurant.

The restaurant opened for lunch at 11 am. We arrived at 11:30 am. We had an 18 month old and did not want a fuss with a hungry child. There was no one working the patio, so we seated ourselves and waited for service. After 15 minutes, I went to the front desk to find out if the restaurant was operating (on Thanksgiving Weekend!). I was told a waitress would be dispatched.

After 10 minutes more, I went to the bar and asked the staff for a waitress..the staff were busy socializing. I was told the waitress would be right out.

After another 10 minutes I went to the bar and asked if the kitchen or wait staff needed help, as there was NO service on the patio. I was followed out by a reluctant worker, and he took our order.

The food arrived at 12:30 pm, one hour after our seating. The staff were extremely busy, socializing most of the time.

The food was mediocre. The view is fantastic.

Take a sandwich with you. I can't imagine that the staff would know or care, and you will enjoy the view.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We got a sale through wagjag and went for our anniversary.

We would not have paid more than $100 for the room (227) it wasn't anything special. Tho the Bed and pillows were outstanding!

Food was great at the pub.

Room Tip: rever view would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The one thing that is for sure, the people and service here is great. We didn't meet a single person that wasn't nice

This place does lack a few things I would expect from a resort:
newspaper at my door
pool with a few
place with lounge chairs (there is no place on the water to sit)

When i go to a 'resort', I typically want one spot where I can go and spend the entire day and relax if I want...and ideally go for a swim. There is a pool, but without scenery, what is the point in going here? Muskoka is all about being on the lake.

Room are spacious, but the bathrooms are very cramped, and seem dated.

The hallways and rooms also have a musty type smell

It is a nice spot, but relative to most luxury resort spots we have visited, it doesn't compare. If you can get a deal, go. But I wouldn't spend top dollar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windermere House Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House Resort & Hotel

Address: 2508 Windermere Road, Windermere, Ontario P0B 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windermere House Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Lady of the Lake.”Windermere House Resort is an iconic landmark located on prestigious Lake Rosseau in Muskoka, Ontario, Canada. The country's oldest hotel, it has welcomed guests for over 140 years. Fine dining, boating, tennis, golf, spa services and five star service make Windermere House a preferred destination. New at Windermere House is The Cottages at Windermere, a private enclave of 6 three bedroom luxury fractional ownership cottages.Experience everything Muskoka has to offer in unsurpassed comfort. Luxuriate in plush pillowtop beds, indulge in sumptuous dining and relax amid plentiful, carefree recreation. We're here to spoil you.Offering family vacations, romantic getaways, golf packages, weddings and conferences facilities, Windermere House resort on Lake Rosseau offers the ideal backdrop for your Muskoka getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Windermere House Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere House Resort And Hotel
Windermere House Hotel Windermere
Windermere House Resort & Hotel Muskoka District, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windermere House Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.