We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How much should a piece of fried fish cost?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fin's

Fin's
25 W Grand Ave, Grover Beach, CA 93433-1934
805-473-3467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Grover Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Grover Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How much should a piece of fried fish cost?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The food here is pretty good but at the same time it is over priced in my opinion. The place has nice atmosphere albeit a little dusty, and the service is okay. When you get a dry piece of fish and dry plank potatoes, you start to wonder if its really worth the price. It isn't.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    21
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fin's fine for drinks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We dropped in for drinks just before sunset. The restaurant has a nice location and the outdoor patio faces the Pacific Ocean. We had clam chowder which was not very "clammy" and the calamari had too much batter. Our waitress was very helpful and attentive. We would go back for drink's/location but skip the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Dinner Stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Fin's is located next to Grover Beach. We ordered the clam chowder and the sampler platter. The clam chowder was average, nothing stood out with it. We shared the Sampler Platter which had Clam Strips, Calamari Strips, Onion Rings, Mozzarella Sticks and French Fries. The platter items where all very good especially the onion rings. We also had some potato skins that was very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This a a great place to come and spend a couple hours with a few beers and affordable happy hour appetizers. Happy hour is 4 to close. The staff is great. I will definitely be visiting this place on future visits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Locals' spot on the sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I was visiting friends in Arroyo Grande and we came here for very casual dinner after an exhausting weekend. Tuesday evening, not many folks here. I had the 3 piece fish and chips with a green salad. More than enough to fill me up. Large pieces of battered (not soggy or greasy) fish and lots of fries. Patio dining in the afternoon would probably be great given the location. Don't expect a 5 star experience.....this is a very casual beach spot. You can park in the free lot, take a long walk along the shore, visit the Monarch Butterfly grove and have a nice meal. What more would you want? Next time I come to Pismo Beach area, I will make this a stop.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fin's also viewed

 

Been to Fin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fin's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.