We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but a touch overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   775 N. Oak Park Blvd., Grover Beach, CA 93433   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Manteca, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but a touch overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed over Labor Day weekend, so maybe the rates were a little high because of that. I expected something a little nicer for what we paid. On the other hand, the hotel was easy to find right off the freeway, there was plenty of free parking, and the room was large and comfortable. The breakfast was OK. No real good views from this hotel. Overall, probably a good place to stay if all you need is a comfortable bed and a convenient location, not so much if you are hoping for a hotel that is part of your travel experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralCoastGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
60sd, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that the hotels location was convenient for you and your needs and that the hotel was comfortable. Thank you, Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    68
    32
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
59
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was booked very last minute on our journey down the coast and was actually a great place to stop over.
We arrived at about 2pm but the room was ready and we were then able to use the little pool they have.
Room was a good size and clean.
There is no laundry on site but the front desk staff directed us to one just a five minute drive away.
We had dinner at the steak restaurant in the grounds of the hotel and it was really good value for money.
Breakfast the next morning was complimentry and there was a great choice too.
Can highly recommend it and the location is great if you're travelling along Highway 1.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafalgar, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is an older hotel with about 3 separate buildings. It had a nice garden and the staff were friendly.
However, after asking for a quiet room, we were given one overlooking the noisy freeway! The balcony was so small that there was no room for chairs let alone a table!
The room was clean and comfortable and nice and big but a bit dark. The bathroom floor flooded because the shower curtain was not long enough to reach the top of the bath! Breakfast was nice but some of the choices we had been used to were missing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the freeway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosarito, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Room was fine, hot tub also nice. Front Desk accommodated my request for ground floor. Breakfast was good value with the usual plus cheese omelets and sausage. We had hoped for a property closer to the beach but on Hotwire you cannot choose - this is convenient for an overnight stop, and right off the 101 freeway, so it is easy to hop right on in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked a room at the Grover Beach Holiday Inn Express through Hotwire -- they classifed this hotel as a 3* property. In the past, I've tended to be pleasantly surprised by the Holiday Inn Expresses that I've stayed at -- they're usually nicer than I expected. Sadly, this wasn't the case here. In reading through Hotwire's website after the fact, I saw that they sometimes classify HIX as 3*, and sometimes as 2 1/2 *. This property should definitely be classified as a 2 1/2 *.

There weren't any major problems with this hotel, it just felt kind of old and tired. It seems like it might have previously been a different brand of hotel and was converted to Holiday Inn.

I thought my room had a bit of a stale, funky smell when I first went in -- opening the window helped, though I then had to deal with street noise. The rooms have a very dark brown carpet, and I just kept thinking that it probably hides dirt pretty well, and they don't have to clean the carpets as often as they otherwise might -- not the way I want to feel as I'm walking barefoot around the room. The bed was a bit soft/lumpy, though I slept comfortably enough. The walls were somewhat thin, but not too terrible. The biggest annoyance was that the TV reception was terrible, especially in the lower channels (2-10) -- so I couldn't watch HBO, NBC or ABC.

All in all, you could do worse, and if you just need a place to stop for the night, it's o.k. (but a bit pricey for what you get). I wouldn't stay there for anything more than just a quick stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear chbruce,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations with the condition of our facilities. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Right off the 101 freeway, it's very convenient. The entrance is tricky to find as the sign is blocked by plants. We were upgraded to a fireplace suite. Very nice. On the backside of the hotel, so away from the freeway noise. As with every HIX, great shower head, very nice mattress and a satisfying breakfast. Love the cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the backside of the property, away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and this is our second time to stay here. Like before the hotel was clean, looked clean and smelled fresh. There is a small balcony if you want to drink your coffee and enjoy the crisp cool air. This hotel is within 15 minutes driving distance of anything you might visit in the area. It comes with free WIFI and had a small refrigerator. Adequate size of TV in place but who would want to just watch TV while visiting the Central Coast? Free breakfast is adequate but don`t expect 5 star buffet quality. Remember it was free. Front desk staff is friendly, professional and helpful. Bed is good enough but the pillows are way too small. Whoever made the choice of buying those pillows should be punished by using those pillows for a week.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area

Address: 775 N. Oak Park Blvd., Grover Beach, CA 93433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Grover Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grover Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach, California is placed perfectly in between Los Angeles and San Francisco on the sunlit central coast. Hotel guests are just two swift miles away from the attractions at Pismo Beach, where they can enjoy beach recreations such as surfing, sailing, fishing, and ATV riding. Guest can also take full advantage of the areas numerous outdoor activities like golfing at over ten prestigious golf courses, tennis, walking trails, horseback riding and bike riding in addition to an abundance of wineries and tasting rooms. We are just a quick drive from San Luis Obispo where California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly) is located. The neighboring communities of Cambria, Morro Bay, Nipomo and Paso Robles are just a short drive away. Our hotel offers a calming getaway with newly revamped, spacious rooms. All of our rooms have a balcony, mini-fridge, new beds and linen and new bathroom fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area Hotel Grover Beach
Holiday Inn Grover Beach
Grover Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.