We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price ~ crappy hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Inn

Save Saved
You added Seaview Inn to your Saves list
Seaview Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seaview Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   150 North 5th Street, Grover Beach, CA 93433   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Grover Beach B&B and Inns
Ontario, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great price ~ crappy hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Price was excellent, location was okay and staff (Harry) was nice however the lobby smelled strongly of curry. Room was clean, but the bed and the pillows were horribly uncomfortable and we didn't get a good nights sleep. Windows opened, but screen was all bent up and we couldn't leave the window open for fear someone would break in. Continental breakfast was a total joke. Coffee & crappy individually wrapped little muffins and no place to eat except back in the room. It wasn't a totally horrible experience since it WAS clean, but I definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I recently stayed at the Seaview Inn for a family function in the area. Initially the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in a downstairs room that was ok at first, but we found that the walls were very thin when first our next door neighbor yelled at us to shut up at 10:00, and then our upstairs neighbors checked in after midnight and proceeded to tramp up and down the stairs, move furniture (it sounded like) and then take multiple showers with the noisy plumbing reverberating in our ears. Cars entering and exiting the parking lot were nearly as disturbing. I would recommend an upstairs room, on the end. Unfortunately we had to check out the next day to return home unexpectedly, and the once friendly staff became irate and hostile - even while they were renting the 2 rooms we checked out of as we were leaving the office! Fortunately for the rest of my family they had a pleasant stay. The proximity to the beach and train station is a plus - just bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanoTX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2006

I went to CA on business, and one of my friends suggested I try the Seaview Inn at the Beach. I was there for a week in the fall. I was so impressed with the hotel that I took my family back at Christmas for a vacation.

The staff is outstanding, rooms above clean, and the hotel has many extra services without extra fees.
Parking is included without charge!!!

This is the first time that I have ever written a recommondation for anything. I just wanted to tell everone that the Seaview is an Outstanding Find.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2006

clean rooms with great ocean views-two blocks from ocean-attentave staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2005

Me and my family stayed at the SeaView Inn for exactly 2 days. The rooms were really clean, with the 3 minute walk to the beach it was a great convienence. We had a great time with awesome staff and fair prices

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2005

Wife and I rode Amtrak to Grover Beach Station. Perfect overnight getaway. Seaview is about a 10min walk from station. The Seaview is Simple, but very Clean. It looks like the hotel was revovated recently. Microwave/Fridge in room a plus. Owners are Very Friendly.

Seaview is right in the heart of Grover Beach and is only about 1 blk from Irish pub and Pizza. Perfect after a long day at the beach.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2003

My husband and I stayed at the Seaview Inn over the fourth of July weekend this year. We were extremely impressed with the low rates when we booked the room. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to find the staff very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean, large and had a microwave, small refrigerator and coffee machine. We would definitely stay there again and be glad to take our children with us!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Inn

Address: 150 North 5th Street, Grover Beach, CA 93433
Location: United States > California > Grover Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grover Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaview Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Seaview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Grover Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.