We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap accomodation with low budget feeling” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grover Beach Inn

Save Saved
You added Grover Beach Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grover Beach Inn
150 and 135 S. 5th Street, Grover Beach, CA 93433   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cheap accomodation with low budget feeling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We paid 57$ incl tax for one night. Nice king bed. The carpet was dirty, the interior really need to be fixed and it was reasonably clean. Not more. No breakfast, but one block away there is a 7/11 where we bought sandwiches and tea. The motel had a very low budget feeling and we would recommend another place to stay if you can spend some more dollars.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    5
    32
See reviews for
7
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Grover Beach Inn. This hotel was recently acquired by a hardworking entrepreneur - Kevin Shukla. Like most small businessmen, Kevin is working hard to bring the hotel up to his standards. He first replaced the beds to insure his customers a good night's sleep. He is working on paint and fixtures now. While this hotel is not at "resort" standards, it was clean and comfortable. Kevin was responsive and eager to please when we encountered a few "quirks" with the plumbing. The hotel is within blocks of the beach and the price more than compensated for the work Kevin is still completing. If you want a nice vacation on the California coast with a comfortable night's rest at a very accomodating price - you have found your place... and supporting a local small business owner is a plus in my book.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This place has been recently renovated by the new owner Kevin, and the place looks great! Perfect location maybe 2 blocks from the beach and 1/2 mile from Pismo. Stayed on a Wednesday night and payed only $43! Kevin is more than willing to accommodate you with your every need and gave some great tips on the local 5 cities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

When we read the reviews we were scared. When we got there it was not as bad as the reviews. The sheets where new and the room was remodeled new paint and carpet. when speeking to the owner he said he had just bought it so he was working to remodel all the rooms. I saw no roachs or rodents. The beach is just a couple of blocks away. At night we drove down on the beach right there and had a camp fire. We loved it the room is cheap and the are lots of things to see the butterfly trail is right down the street too. Its worth the trip. we had plenty of towels the owner was very polite. I would take my daughter back. Planning another trip in April.

Room Tip: The rooms by the office are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Definitely the worst hotel i have ever seen let alone had the misfortune to stay in for a night. The walls are peeling paint and dirty. The carpet had lice and grease and dirt dirt dirt. The bathroom toilet seat was broken with masking tape on it to fix it. The toilet itself was dirty and the shower was full of mold and smelled of rotten eggs. There were bed bugs in the bed. When I asked the manager to clean the room, he said, "we don't do that here, we only provide sheets and towels. It is the responsibility of the customer to clean and you see how they treat the place." Unbelievable!

Room Tip: Don't stay in any room for any reason. You will regret the experience and may need a doctor to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grover Beach hotels

Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The rooms are very dirty feeling. Marks on the walls and big stains on the carpet and furniture. A lot of drunks/druggie types stay at this hotel. Very low class and dirty. Also, I am very fond of the Holiday Motel in Santa Maria, so my standards really aren't very high.
What I did like about this place is that it is pet friendly. It is $10 extra per day per pet, and it was nice to find somewhere that allows pets. However, it was $64.90 out the door and it was honestly the worst motel I have ever stayed at. If you stay in Santa Maria, you can get a much better one (that doesn't allow pets) for $44. I figured I would give this place a shot even though I read the terrible reviews and there were many of them, but found out for ourselves... we do not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Lobby is dirty and stinks. Guest rooms are filthy and smell of cigarettes and body odor.Walls and carpets are covered in dirt and spots.Bathrooms are worse than most gas station restrooms. Parking lot has old mattresses and garbage all over.Manager is uncooperative. Had to fight the charges because we booked online then refused to stay when we saw the rooms. Wished I had taken pictures of hotel and their guest rooms to show how terrible they are.

Room Tip: Get a room anywhere but the Grover Beach Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grover Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grover Beach Inn

Also Known As:
Grover Beach Hotel Grover Beach
Grover Beach Hotel
Address: 150 and 135 S. 5th Street, Grover Beach, CA 93433
Location: United States > California > Grover Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grover Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful 45-room property, with amazing weather, and many local attractions just a few miles or even feet away. Such as the lovely local Grover Beach within 1-2 blocks from the motel, and Pismo Beach, Avila Beach Pier, and the sand dunes perfect for a ride on the 4-wheel drive, for a small fee. We welcome visitors and newcomers, and support our troops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grover Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grover Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.