We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good recommendation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Westgate Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Good recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Three of us had a very good 2 night stay here, using the motel as our base for a Tuolumne River white water rafting trip with AO Rafting.

Our double queen room had a 1 person futon sofa bed, air conditioning, dinette table, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, and updated tile bathroom. Outdoor pool and spa are great amenities to come back to. No complaints. But expect to pay +$200 during summer weekend.

We would say this is the best motel accommodation on Hwy 120 on the approach to Yosemite. About 1 hour drive to the Yosemite Valley floor, add an extra 90 min more if visiting on a Saturday as Valley traffic is horrible beginning at El Capitan on Saturdays. Everything else is either a B&B or very rustic and funky. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    233
    70
    25
    13
See reviews for
179
219
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

You know that a hotel room is likely to be clean when you open the front door and you smell bleach. And in this case I was right. The room was spotlessly clean. It was a comfortable room with two queen sized beds and everything needed for a single-night stay. Note that the hotel no longer supplies Wi-Fi. You’re a long way from the big city here, and even my mobile phone didn’t get a signal. You’ll have to settle for cable T.V. or make sure you’ve downloaded your entertainment before you leave home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

It's technically a motel. And it feels like it. The rooms are fine, just very generic. It definitely looks better on the pictures. The bathroom seemed older and too basic.
The motel is 10 miles outside of Yosemite park. The park itself is huge. So from the park village to the motel is 1 hour drive. It's something to consider. Also next to the motel there is a restaurant (which we thought was good) and that's all for another 10 miles or so. And there is no internet connection or phone reception of any kind. So plan accordingly.
Overall not a bad place, it does the job. Just ends up being overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The hotel is very basic and the Wi-Fi does not work at all. The hotel is very close to the entrance of Yosemite. There is a restaurant next door which is Ok. It is a good choice of hotel for the location, which is basically what you are paying for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Neil:

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your honest appraisal is valued. We do wish we got a few more ticks of positiveness. We're sorry we do not have WiFi--it's unfortunately out of our control. You won't find high speed internet anywhere up in this corridor because of the remote location unfortunately. We barely have any cellular coverage as well so we advise our customers to visit Yosemite with this in mind and to come with the mindset to disconnect and leave it all behind and really absorb nature. We're the closest and most modern hotel to The Park and we'd love to host you again in the future.

Book direct at yosemitewestgate.com and you'll save some more next time.

Regards,

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A good Hotel . Big and clean room and bathroom. Not very expensive because it is outside the Yosemite Park, but not very far from the entrance. They don´t have a restaurant but there is a good one next to it . A good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Joseli:

Thank you for your positive review of your stay at Yosemite Westgate. We are glad that you had a good stay and see the value of our property. While many may see our rates as expensive, we actually offer a tremendous value compared to the few options within The Park and offer the most amenities in The Yosemite Area. We're glad that you highlighted this.

We'd love to see you again and hope you can spread the positive word. Book direct at yosemitewestgate.com and enter the promo code: tripadvisor to get $5 on each night.

Thanks,

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in room 202 for one night on our way into Yosemite. Location of hotel is acceptable-was about 1 hour from Yosemite valley floor in little traffic. Upon check-in, the room seemed acceptable. Liked the tile floor at the entrance and bathroom area. No apparent problems that evening. However, in the morning, we found that ANTS had found our breakfast that we had brought into our room the night before. There were 500+ ants crawling up the wall, on the ceiling, all over the microwave/coffee area. And all over inside and outside of our donut packs! It was very gross and unacceptable! When I tried discussing it with the front desk upon checkout, I wasn't offered any apologies. I was told that I should not have taken food into my room, or ants would get it. I was told they had a pesticide company working to get rid of the ants, but I shouldn't have brought food into the room. Needless to say, no apologies or refunds were offered and I felt like I was being told it was my issue, not the hotel's. For this reason, I cannot recommend this hotel and would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Tina:

I wanted to take the time to address your complaint regarding ants at our hotel. Yosemite Westgate Lodge does not have an ant problem in the traditional sense. We are sorry that ants were attracted to your room and you had such an unpleasant stay because of it.

The reality of the situation is that as humans, we have to share the planet, even with little critters. See, The Westgate is located deep in the forest. We're lucky to even have such a facility in this location and most people love it's remoteness. Just like it is imperative to ensure your food is stored properly to keep safe from Bears, it is important to ensure that your food stuffs is sealed property to avoid attracting marauding ants. Our hotel is extremely clean and we continuously spray the hotel so we do not have a problem with insects whatsoever.

If we as humans fail to realize that we share the forest with animals of all types, even ants, then we fail to realize that we are in nature. Ants are highly attracted to food stuffs in our area. Even if we spray, if you leave crumbs, ants will seek them out from the surrounding forest and make their way into your room. We actively inform our guests to seal their food to avoid this. We've seen animals varied from Squirrels, beautiful Mantises, Rattlers, Bobcats, Hares, and many Deer on the property. We are in the forest and this is our draw. We are not afraid to tell you that there are ants, beetles, spiders, frogs, etc. in the surrounding forest. We hardly if ever see any of these critters in our accommodations, but we cannot guarantee that you won't find an occasional visitor. After all, we are in their land.

We'd love to host you again and show you such natural beauty with the mindset that we share the forest. We do whatever we can to ensure that no critters are in your rooms or pose any danger, but mother nature is beautiful and we want to share this with you so come back, sit on the park benches on our property and listed to the birds chirp in the morning or walk up our meadow to stare at the stars at night while the toads ribbit. Just remember to seal your food and you will not see any ants. ;)

Regards,

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked this room directly, well in advance. Reviews were good, and prices in the Valley higher. My wife would not like a tent cabin or other place with shared bathroom/showers. We were disappointed with the lack of WIFI, but the room was quiet, large, and had the microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The shower water never got hot for us,and the shower stream itself was very poor. The flushing mechanism on the toilet was very loud. We also had ants around the microwave. All things considered, we spent very little time in the room and it served our needs well. We would stay there again. The pool did not appear to be heated when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., and a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California.Our hotel boasts 45 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Westgate Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.