We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night at Westgate Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Westgate Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One night at Westgate Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We were on our way from San Francisco to the Yosemite National Park and I had previously booked this motel and it was about 10 miles from the western entrance so quite conveniently situated. The surrounding forest was very nice and the Motel which was quite large had a swimming pool in the middle. Groveland which was the nearest town boasted one of the oldest saloons in California and I guess this was a staging post to the goldmines. The motel was clean bright and very convenient parking with trees around so very attractive. We had dinner in the adjacent restaurant and also breakfast the next morning and that was fine.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Stephen:

Thanks so much for your positive review of your stay at The Westgate. You're right, we're located in the Gold Country. There's alot of history up here in these hills. We are located smack dab in the middle of the forest and while we may seem far to many, we are the closest to Yosemite. Groveland is a fantastic spot.

Do come see us again or share our hotel with others. You can book direct at yosemitewestgate.com and save.

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    233
    70
    25
    13
See reviews for
179
220
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We planned our Yosemite family vacation too late to get any accommodation within Yosemite, so the Westgate seemed like the closest (acceptable) hotel to Yosemite.

I stayed here for 4 days in June with my husband and our 12 month old baby.

Proximity to Yosemite: I'm not sure how some people were getting to the valley floor in 30 min. Even on our earliest day (leaving at 7 am and speeding), it took 15 min to get to the entrance of Yosemite and another 45 to get to the Valley floor (an hour total). There were some days when it took a little longer. That being said, the commute was acceptable.

Rooms: They were more spacious and modern than I expected. I loved having the refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. (the freezer section actually worked to re-freeze our icepacks each day). They set up a little crib for our baby which was handy to not have to travel with his portable crib. I know it's the wilderness, but we did have an ant problem getting all over the fruit and bottles we brought with us for the baby. We solved this by keeping everything in the refrigerator.

WIFI: The Wifi was out. The free wifi was one of the reasons I had chosen this hotel in the first place and I booked through Expedia (which is still listing on its site that this place has free Wifi--which it doesn't. Much the opposite--there is hardly any cell signal at all. To me that was the major downside because I needed to keep in touch with the office.

Convenience: There is a restaurant right next door- Buck Meadows Lodge. The food there was pretty average, however after a long day of hiking when we couldn't be bothered to search out food - it was convenient. Once we wised up to the area, we drove further west into Groveland (about a 12 min drive) where you can find many restaurants with various options- pizza, Mexican, pub food etc.

Property - loved having the little slide and jungle gym for our baby. The pool was an amazing way to wind down after a long day. Love how it stays light out so late here in the summer, so we could come home from hiking at 5pm and still enjoy a couple of hours near the pool. The baby also loved the pool.

I would stay here again if we couldn't find something within Yosemite Village, however, next time we go to Yosemite, I would like to book far enough ahead to actually stay within the Valley. Having those extra 2 hours per day would be awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The motel is located very near the park entrance. It is about a 30 minute drive to the valley floor. The rooms are basic but very clean. The pool and hot tub are great to come back to at the end of a day hiking in Yosemite.

The owners and office staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. I would stay here again when visiting Yosemite.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at the Yosemite Westgate Lodge for one night and were incredibly impressed! The rooms were much more spacious than we had originally thought, and when we explained that we had one extra person, the owner only charged us $10 extra for a much bigger room, which was an excellent deal. The hotel is very close to Yosemite and was a great place for our family to stay for the night. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked to stay at Yosemite Westgate lodge knowing we would want a good nights sleep after a long day in Yosemite national park. Westgate lodge was roughly 40mins drive away from Yosemite valley. It was much longer on the way out of Yosemite however because of all the traffic. Westgate lodge was quite spacious pool and hot tub in the middle of the grounds. The bedroom was quite big lots of space, 2 large beds, iron and ironing board and hair dryer. Shower was good also with plenty of hot water. There were plenty of towels also.
Pool area was clean, plenty of seats and tables to sit around and relax after a long day. The restaurant next door was pretty good food I had the rib steak special which came served with soup to start, steak and fries and corn. Think it was 15 dollars the steak was cooked to perfection and just melted in my mouth.
I was under the impression I would have wifi at this place, but on arrival I had no signal on my phone and no wifi which was a shame, it was fathers day and I should have contacted home but not to worry. It was nice that everyone was chatting and getting on with life without a phone/internet. Peaceful relaxing place and I would stay again.
The restaurant bar does take away beers think it was $8 for a 6 pack of bud.
I had a really good nights sleep.i stayed in the block opposite reception

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is the closest motel to the Westgate of Yosemite and we chose it to get an early start at the park.
We were very pleasantly surprised by this exceptionally clean and very well maintained establishment. The cleanest hotel we experienced in our 2 week stay in California.
The restaurant next door served good food and great pies at reasonable prices, with 50's music.
Only downside was no WiFi and no AT&T service, if that matters. We would recommend to friends

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The rooms here are nice enough and the onsite diner/bar is pretty good too. The downside is there is nothing else within walking distance and the lack of wifi was a drawback for us as we like to keep in touch with our family when travelling (there's no mobile signal either). Not a bad place by any means but we'd probably try somewhere else if we returned that way

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., and a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California.Our hotel boasts 45 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Westgate Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.