We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Overall Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Westgate Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special: $5 Off Room Rate
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Good Overall Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Although a little rustic looking from the outside, our room was updated, fairly large, and most importantly clean. We stayed three nights in a first floor room. Parking was available right outside our door. The front desk personnel were friendly and efficient. It’s about a 20-minute drive to the west entrance of Yosemite and another 40 minutes or so to Yosemite Valley. However, this is the closest motel outside of the Park near the west entrance. We ate breakfast each day at The Buck Meadows Restaurant located right next door, a short walk from our room. We would stay here again if ever in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    247
    72
    28
    14
See reviews for
191
227
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Westgate during the Rim fire. The people were AWESOME! I can not imagine our experience being any better. The accomadations were great. The price was right. The location is perfect. The people were great!! Definately on my list for the next time I visit Yosemite. Do yourself a favor and staty here next time you visit Yosemite.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi room was super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived late and had called beforehand to make sure that we could get a late check-in.The owner told us to just ring the phone at the front but she was actually waiting for us when we arrived at 11pm. The room was clean with 2 queen beds. Very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the bathroom! OMG the marble floor and granite counter top. The room came with a little fridge and microwave (which was also a pleasant surprise). We ate breakfast next door (AWESOME omelets!) before we headed to Yosemite to start our Half Dome hike. I'm so glad that we had stumbled upon this very clean and comfortable Inn before the 2 day hike.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked a Deluxe Queen Room directly from the lodge’s website, which was easy and they were quick to confirm our booking via a confirmation email.

We had flown in from the UK to San Francisco and after getting our rented car and braving the heavy traffic, we arrived at the Lodge at around 11pm. We had tried to call on our way to the lodge to inform them that we will be arriving late but received an automated message to say that the number we have dialled was not in service. There was no mistake in my dialling. The number was that as per printed on the confirmation email. Perhaps it was just down to my UK registered mobile not being able to make the call. We were totally exhausted upon our arrival and found the reception area to have closed but there was a sign for us to ring someone in order to get checked-in. We rang and were shocked to receive the RUDEST reception we have ever encountered from any hotels/lodges that we have stayed at in our travels around the world.

The man who checked us in was in his 60’s and he was obviously not happy at all that we had arrived late. Saying that, there was nothing on the confirmation email to say that there was a limit to the checking-in time. Upon his very cold attitude towards us, I explained to him that I had tried to call but was informed that the number was not in service. He replied rudely to me that there is nothing wrong with their phone, as if I was lying to him! He then made us sign some documents and gave us the key to our room, all done in a very rude and unacceptable manner. Before we walked out from the reception, he said to us, like a headmaster telling off some truant kids, to keep quiet while bringing our luggage to the room so that we do not disturb other guests!

This very experience has undoubtedly affected the rest of our stay at the hotel. Although the room was alright – large and spacious, the free wifi was erratic and weak. We had to practically sit near the window facing the reception to get any signal. The lodge is near enough to the Park, about 20 minutes’ drive and the restaurant next to the lodge served really good food at very reasonable price.

If you ask us whether we will we stay at this lodge again if we return to the area, our answer is no. Not if we have to see that man who checked us in again! First impression ALWAYS counts and in this respect, the lodge has hired the wrong person to do the job. If you are not happy to check people into their rooms after certain hours of the day/night, specify that clearly on your website or booking conditions. We paid for our stay and should not be subjected to such rude and unacceptable treatment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hannis:

I wanted to take the time to personally apologize to you for your bad experience, or more namely, your bad first impression. You are absolutely right--first impressions are very important and clearly your late check in was not handled with grace. We have addressed this situation with management. We do clearly have a Late Check in process and it appears that this was not communicated hence the unfortunate situation. Anyhow, there's no excuse and we are sorry it soured your entire stay.

Sincerely,

Lucy - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights but due to the fire evacuation we only got to stay one night. On our first morning outing we left the hotel early for our first day in Yosemite. The road was closed/evacuations in place before we returned. Unfortunately for us, that meant all of our belongings were left behind in the hotel. After some initial panic on our part, we checked the hotel website to discover that they had arranged lodging for us at a sister hotel. We ended up staying there for the remainder of our Yosemite visit. After heading back home to VA, and assuming all of our belongings were lost to the fire, we got an email from the Westgate manager indicating that she had sent our things back to us. Once received, I called and spoke with her and discovered that she herself had entered the rooms and packed up each person's belongings and returned them. I couldn't have been more appreciative and thankful. That extra touch was amazing! In addition, during the one night we were able to stay at the Westgate we loved it. The rooms were spacious, clean, and updated. The location is great. Just a short drive to the entrance of Yosemite. Didn't get to try the pool but it looked inviting. There's a great pizza place a few miles into Groveland. We will definitely be heading back to the Westgate!!

Room Tip: First floor is great if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Sandra:

Phew! That was a close call. We were saved from the RIM Fire by the grace of God and heroic firefighters. We're so sorry that you had such a poor stay, or lack thereof because of this great calamity. Great news is we were spared and now we are open and back in business. We're glad to have gotten your luggage back to you. We'd love to host you again so please do come and visit us again so we can make sure you have a proper stay and visit to Yosemite.

Next time, book directly at yosemitewestgate.com and leave us a note in the Special Requests form field and we'll do what we can to make sure you have a wonderful and complete stay.

Thank you for your support and prayers during this trying time. See you again.

Lucy - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I found it hard to find a good hotel for us to stay which is relatively close to Yosemite. We initially wanted to stay in a hotel in Yosemite but the prices are quite steep and the hotels in the park look very dated.

We opted to stay at Yosemite Gateway Lodge after reading the reviews and looking at the pictures of all our options. Although the lodge does not look good on the outside, the rooms have been renovated and is complete with an LCD TV and Wifi access for all guests. It still is not a 5-star hotel but it met basic standards.

There are no establishments within walking distance except Buck Meadows restaurant which we did not go to. During our stay there, we opted to drive 10 minutes to the little town of Groveland which has a pharmacy and a few small restaurants.

It's about an hour's drive to Yosemite, which isn't so bad. The drive is quite scenic anyway.

Unless there will be newer (or at least newly renovated) options near Yosemite, I will still choose to stay in Yosemite Westgate Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place was perfect for us as we spent the 2 1/2 days at Yosemite - It is 12 miles from the Highway 120 entrance to the park which is still another 1/2 hr to Yosemite Valley - and the Hetch Hetchy entrance road (Evergreen rd) is about 11 miles away but to get to the park it is about 15 -16 miles from there - - But as you will find you need a car to get around in the park - I don't know if it was because we booked our room relatively late - June for an August trip - but we ended up in the Bridal suite - it was huge - clean and very spacious for the 3 adults in the room - There was a pull out couch for the 3rd adult in the room- It had a separate area and TV - We are active people so we basically got on the road by 8 am and returned from the park around 8 pm so we didn't use the pool however there were many people enjoying it - The Restaurant next door was wonderful for us we ate there every night and ordered lunch to go as we went into the park in the morning -
Again the staff was friendly - Room was very clean - bed was comfortable - Area was quiet - - there is a coined operated laundry facility on the 1st floor -

As I write this I know we were lucky to have booked the week we did because there were mandatory evacuations the following Monday after we left - hopefully there is no damage to the great place -

Room Tip: We got the bridal suite - Huge and quiet with our AAA discount was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Bill:

Thanks for your concern regarding our hotel and staff surrounding the Rim Fire. We had a real big scare and almost lost our hotel, but God and real good firefighters saved our property. We are open for business and ready to host you again.

Do come visit us again. Book direct with us at yosemitewestgate.com where you'll find our lowest rates and discounts.

See you again, soon.

Lucy - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., And a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California. Our hotel boasts 48 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. Sorry, we do not have WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Westgate Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.