We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Westgate Lodge to your Saves list
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We will be back...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We live about an hour from west gate but after camping a week & driving 10 hours decided to stop. What a gem! Daughter loved the pool & swing set. I loved the hot shower, coffee pot, blow dryer, & comfy pillows. Can't wait to visit in winter...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay at Yosemite Westgate Lodge. Please do come back and visit us. Next time, book directly at YosemiteWestgate.com and find our lowest rates.

Hope to see you again,

Lucy - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    233
    70
    25
    13
See reviews for
179
220
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were extremely pleased with the location of the lodge, it's the nearest accommodation to the west entrance of Yosemite. The rooms were spacious clean & well presented & it was great having free wifi. The reception staff were friendly & helpful, they advised us to visit Rainbow pool (3 miles down the road) which was a lovely natural water pool & waterfall - it was great taking a dip in the pool after a long drive. The staff were great about advising an alternative route to avoid the mountain roads of the 120 as we left to make towards Carmel. The restaurant next door comes highly recommended too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Kezza:

THANK YOU! Your awesome, Perfect Score, review really makes us super happy. Our staff and ownership really work hard to make The Yosemite Westgate Lodge the best place to stay in regards to comfort, location, and value when visiting Yosemite and your review really affirms the hard work we put in day in and day out.

We hope we get to see you again. Book directly at yosemitewestgate.com and come visit us again.

Regards,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fantastic place. All the rooms have recently been redone and are fantastic. Splurge and get a deluxe room on the end and you have more room than you can imagine. Our room had a microwave and fridge along with a coffee maker. The staff was very kind and helpful. I highly recommend you stay here. You can't get any closer the the park entrance. Thanks for helping us with a great vacation.

Room Tip: Get a suite, it is worth the little bit extra - lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Leta:

WOW! Thanks for the Perfect Score review. We are always excited to receive such glowing reviews. Staff and ownership work really hard to make Yosemite Westgate Lodge The Place to Stay when visiting Yosemite and reviews such as yours really help highlight our hard work, so thank you.

Yes, to book all of our different room types, book directly at yosemitewestgate.com where you will find our Queen Deluxe and several King size room types.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the property for just 2 nights on August 1-2. We arrived several hours ahead of check in time, but thought we'd stop before heading to the park to see if we could atleast drop luggage off. The person checking us in said our room was not ready yet, but she would let us in so we could drop off our luggage. The only thing not ready were the beds being made, and we really appreciated being able to drop our bags off, and re-arrange our things for spending the rest of the day at the park. There is not much else close to this except Buckmeadow restaurant next door. You can drive into Groveland - probably another 15+ minutes up the road, but at the end of a long day of hiking, we enjoyed just being able to walk next door. The rooms had a microwave, mini-fridge and the shower/toilet were separate from the sink. The bathrooms look like they have recently been redone and were spacious for 3 of us trying to get ready at the same time. If we come back to Yosemite, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This lodge was clean, great location to the park, and a very yummy restaurant next door. However, upon arrival the manager and staff were very rude to us. They questioned our reservation and number of people in our party. I explained to the manager that I had called when I booked the room on May 16 and the person I spoke with said all would be fine. After much debate and additional cost we were given a room. We stayed for two nights and on the second day our room wasn't cleaned or given new towels.
Not a customer friendly place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Jlatkins:

I wanted to personally write to you to apologize for your poor experience at check in at Yosemite Westgate Lodge and consequently any issues that might have arisen due to the your party's extra persons. Our property does charge extra person fees and they are assessed at check in so we apologize if there was any miscommunication.

We do appreciate the time you have taken to leave us a review and hope you give us a second chance to make things right. Please book directly at yosemitewestgate.com to get the lowest rates and accurate reservation details.

Sincerely,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed July 27, 28, 29 2013 and was quite pleased with the facility and room. Property is very modern and our room was surprisingly large including a table with chairs, a couch and another table plus two queen beds. Air conditioning was efficient and quiet and room offered microwave and frig with freezer (great for freezing water bottles for long hikes). Free wifi in a relatively remote area was very helpful.

Property has multiple two story buildings with a courtyard containing a pool with hot tub (never used either) and small playground for children. An important plus is the restaurant directly next door via an easy 1 minute walk. The area lost power in freak accident with car hitting pole. The very curt businesslike Owner/manager did provide a partial refund for the trouble.

As other reviews mention 20 minutes to the park entrance. We made the trip several times and and it's really a full 50-60 minutes of mostly constant (and scenic) curves to Yosemite village even though its one of the closest places outside the park. After seeing the area we were very pleased with this place.

Room Tip: We were in 506 at the end away from the road on second floor ... Larger than average room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of this hotel can't be beat unless you stay on the park grounds. It's a scenic 15-20 min drive into Yosemite directly outside the West gate. The hotel itself provides large, comfortable rooms. I very much appreciated the small fridge in the room, which allowed us the freedom to buy perishable food and drinks for use during our excursions into the Park. Everything in the rooms was modern and up-to-date, even with a flat-screen TV and DirecTV (a huge luxury when you think you're going to rough it in Yosemite for a weekend). My 2 year old son loved the little playground in the middle of the complex. The only downsides - (1) they don't offer any breakfast at all, not even little pastries, which made for a very hungry drive home and (2) the door separating my room from the room next to us is apparently very thin because we could hear EVERYTHING our neighbors did to such a point that we had to ask them to be quiet as we were sleeping. Even with those issues, we will definitely consider staying there again in our future trips to Yosemite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Tynante:

We're thrilled with your review. I think it accurately reflects what Yosemite Westgate is all about--a great facility nestled in the forest which offers the creature comforts of home. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the closest and most modern hotel to Yosemite on Highway 120 and your review highlights what makes our hotel a great place to stay, so thank you.

Do come visit us again and book directly at yosemitewestgate.com to find our lowest rates.

Regards,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., and a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California.Our hotel boasts 45 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Westgate Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.