We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Rooms close to Yosemite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Save Saved
You added Yosemite Westgate Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct Promo Code
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Groveland
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Rooms close to Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Closest Hotel to Yosemite. Good Clean Rooms. Bathrooms were around a corner from the main bedroom and well insulated so that noise did not transmit while taking a shower. Did not get AT&T wireless service in the room but the free wireless was good so I could do Face-time. Staff was friendly. There was a small microwave and refrigerator in the room. Parking was right outside. The restaurant next door (Buck Meadows) was ok..
Cons: About 12 miles from other restaurants. No Cell phone service in the whole area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    205
    58
    25
    9
See reviews for
162
195
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in two America's Best Value hotels (here and in Mariposa) while visiting Yosemite, and this one was the better one. The property is well-maintained. Front desk check-in was quick and friendly, and the room was clean (especially the spotless bathrooms). Beds and pillows were comfortable, though the linens were a bit rougher than those in most hotels. Free wifi worked well and there were more channels on the cable tv than I had expected, which was nice. Microwave and fridge in the room were very convenient.

It's about 7 minutes away from Groveland and 12 minutes away from the Yosemite gate. GPS was a bit confused about the hotel's location, so just be on the lookout for the hotel sign on your left hand side as you leave Groveland heading east.

For the price, I was very happy with the convenience and quality of this hotel and would definitely stay again if heading back into Yosemite through Groveland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marin county
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We found this lodge easily during a last minute trip to Yosemite. All of the other lodges were much more expensive . The room was very clean and appeared recently updated. Clean rugs and furniture , microwave and refrigerator. The staff was professional and kind. An impromptu dinner of soup after a hike almost did not happen . The manager found a can opener (that had been damaged by prior guest) and spent over 5-10 minutes opening the cans for us.

Room Tip: no elevators and therefor a downstairs room with the car parked right outside your room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst exploring Yosemite. Clean, comfortable and fantastic value. About 10 miles from the entrance to park. Reliable wifi for free in rooms. Great restaurant next door where we enjoyed food and shuffleboard. Wonderful service from staff, so pleasant and helpful. Thanks Sharad, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteSouthgate, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Jennie!

We wanted to quickly thank you for your review. We take alot of pride in our property and are trying as best we can to make experiences like you had a reality for every guest who walk through our doors. Please do spread the word about Yosemite Westgate Lodge especially since we offer the best lodging experience on Highway 120. Our goal is to have one of those real hidden gems which provide some quaintness and charm with modern amenities within a reasonable budget. Thanks for reflecting this in your review and making our job a whole lot easier.

We look forward to hosting you again. Next time you book, book directly on our website at yosemitewestgate.com for the lowest rates. We are soon going to be giving out special promo codes to folks like you which you can redeem directly at our website. We hope to see you soon in Yosemite at the Westgate Lodge and playing shuffleboard at Buck Meadows Restaurant right next door!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed a very nice stay at the Yosemite Westgate Lodge the night before entering the park. The recently renovated rooms are clean, have high fiber count bed linens, large soft towels, granite topped vanity and shower walls, and are very comfortable. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Raj, the desk clerk, assisted us with an issue that developed with the American Best Value Inn reservation made through their toll free line. The nearby restaurant serves very good food, too. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is just 10 minutes outside the west gate of the park. You need to pay attention or you might pass by and miss it. The staff is very friendly but not that the office is not open all day. The room was comfortable, large and clean. Free wifi worked fine. They also have washing machines and dryer but you will need coins for these. These is a restaurant next door but that's it; do not expect any other kind of thing to do there. Just eat and sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Motel is actually 15 mins east of Groveland in Buck Meadows (closer to Yosemite). This property is extremely clean and the rooms have been recently updated with modern looking furniture, granite counters, granite surround in the shower, new fixtures, flat screen tv, and frig. It has the look of a standard 2 level motel, but everything from the front lobby, to the grounds, and the rooms is well taken care of and spotless. We were traveling with an 8 & 12 year old and chose the deluxe queen room which had 2 queens and a fold-down futon style couch perfect for us to spread out since the room is over sized. The restaurant next store was good for breakfast, we didn't get to try dinner or lunch. Good pizza at the Camp Curry visitors center at Yosemite Village. Quick, easy, and good value with kids. We did eat dinner one night at a Mexican restaurant in Groveland, about 15 mins west of the hotel called Cochina Michocana. Great food after a long day of hiking.

We did a lot of research on lodging and this place fit our needs as we were arriving from San Francisco then traveling on to Sequoia NP. If you are planning a trip to Yosemite and are not staying in the park, this place is great. The gate is about 15mins from the motel, then you have a 40min ride to the Valley. Keep in mind that all lodging outside the park is about an hours drive to the valley, then other sites in the park can be another hour drive. Hey, it's a big place. Enjoy the views.

PS- early October was perfect for this park. Easy getting around, perfect temps mild days and cool nights, no crowds, drove our car all around. I think you need to take the shuttle buses in the summer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YosemiteSouthgate, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear TazGator:

Thanks for the AWESOME REVIEW! It makes us super happy when we hear from guests who appreciate how hard we are working to create a great Yosemite Experience. We also own a great hotel in Oakhurst, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel, so if you are traveling via either gate, we've got you covered. Book directly on our website at yosemitewestgate.com or yosemitesouthgate.com and save by finding our lowest rates online!

You are super awesome! :)

Thank You,

Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., and a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California.Our hotel boasts 45 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Westgate Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.