We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Inn at Yosemite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackberry Inn at Yosemite
Save
You added Blackberry Inn at Yosemite to your Saves list
7567 Hamilton Station Loop, Loop At Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Groveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Actually, it is somewhat expensive rate comparing to other inns, but it is worth living and enjoying. Elegant room decorations with comfortable bed totally attracted my wife. Taking shower in a huge bath tub can release travellers' tiredness. What astonishing is the breakfast. It is no need for customers to go to a public place to grab the food. My wife and I had a romance private breakfast just outside our room in our own balcony. Generally speaking, I will visit there next time when I go to Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
262
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had an amazing experience staying at the Blackberry Inn. The room that we stayed in was part of the newer addition to the lodge and it was outstanding. It was spacious, immaculately clean, beautifully furnished and the bathroom was superb.

Steve was friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was also fabulous. The setting is surreal and it was our favourite lodging during our recent trip to California from New Zealand.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Only good things to say about our 2 day stay here last week. Stayed in their El Capitan suite. Absolutely beautiful room with well chosen furnishings. Comfortable, clean, outstanding service. A few horses grazing close by added to the very nice views from the 'wrap around' porch - this room is in the corner of the newer building so it has two different sides to sit on. Private entrance, really nice bathroom. Steve went out of his way to help us decide how to get the most of our 2 days in the park. Breakfast was excellent. Cookies, fresh drinking water. We were very impressed to stumble across this gem, especially considering the other choices nearby and outside the park. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I tried to book this inn for one night next week - there was one room free on that night so suspected owners might be keen to fill this and we need a stopover. Firstly the person I contacted 'Steve' asked me to call in 5 hours - 2 am in the UK! Although he didn't know we are in the UK I think its a bit rude to ask a customer to call in several hours. I then enquired about whether our daughter (4 months) could stay and he said no, 'we have a 113 year age limitation here'. When I asked exactly what that means I was ignored. Kind of glad to not be staying somewhere with such rude staff/owners!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackberryInn, Owner at Blackberry Inn at Yosemite, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
As this person stated, we did receive an email from her asking about a single night stay. The room was available, so we replied to her email, yes, she could have the room. Our reservation system does not allow for Single Night reservations to be made online by a guest. We ask guests wanting a single night to call us to book their stay for confidentially of their financial credit card information. We do not ask for financial information in an email for the guest's privacy protection.
It's shocking and disappointing to realize that trying to protect this guest's financial information by requesting a simple telephone call is now considered RUDE to the level of a 1 star review when they have never stayed with us. We are just a mom and pop business trying to do our job properly.

This is a B and B and we "wear many hats". We are very often not available by phone during the day, as there are many errands to run and duties to perform. Someone is always available after 5:00 PM, PST, to help people with questions and reservations, etc., so we asked this customer to please call at this time. She responded that she was in the UK and it would then be 2:00 am. (of course we had no way of knowing this previously), so we apologized and requested more information through email. At that point she was asked to send pertinent info and we would be happy to make the reservation for her and send her a confirmation with driving instructions..

We have a double occupancy restriction and a minimum age requirement that is stated on the website. When asked to confirm the number of guests in the party, THEN the guest responded that there was a 4 month old child.

We responded that we are an adult facility and have an age restriction of 13 years. Because the computer keyboard sticks sometimes, the response sent said 113 years instead of 13.
When the guest responded that she didn't understand. We apologized yet again, saying that the keyboard sticks and reiterated the proper age restriction.

The entire email stream including our responses was completed in 2 hours and 3 minutes. We do not ignore our guests and this incident is no exception.

We work tirelessly throughout the season to provide our guests the best possible service along with clean, well appointed rooms, as evidenced by over 300 past and present positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely B&B from May 24-27 this year. I can't even begin to tell you how wonderful it was. The owners of the home, Steve & Alexandria, have left no stone unturned when it comes to providing a home away from home. First, the property is just beautiful. Quiet, charming and luxurious all at the same time. The huge wrap around front porch is a delight and watching the plethora of hummingbirds at the feeders is really a treat. The home was built in the 1990's with a Bed & Breakfast in mind, so every room is designed for comfort. We stayed in the Brameberry Suite and it was incredible. The bed was more comfortable than my own! One night I even took a bubble bath in the soaking tub; so relaxing! Breakfast was also a treat and Steve and his helpers made sure we had what we needed and always asked ahead of time if you had any special dietary needs. They truly go out of their way. The Inn is about 13 miles outside of the Oak Flats entrance to Yosemite. They have virtually no cell phone service, but they are prepared if you need to use their land line phone. But it was wonderful not to have cell service....more relaxing, for sure. My husband and I really didn't have a "plan" for touring Yosemite each day, so Steve offered his guidance and made us a picnic lunch for one day's journey. His "day tour" was spot on, and we had an incredible day. The only thing that I would have changed was how long we stayed. We were only there for 3 days and I could have stayed forever, and I was sad to leave....I would definitely go back and stay with Steve & Alex! Thank you so much for your hospitality!! (Hello to Catorce & Cricket!!)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Although I could have booked a hotel inside Yosemite National Park itself, I was not keen to do so after reading reviews on the service and noise in the rooms. It took me some time to trawl the net to find something quiet. I finally stumbled on Blackberry Inn by accident and boy, am I glad to make this decision.

This is a rustic country home-style but with modern amenities and elegant decor both in the rooms and the gardens. You can see the owner's passion in the design, commitment to keep standards high and care for the place. Steve personally cooked the breakfast according to my dietary needs and baked the cookies that were left in the room each day.

There are intricate classic details at every corner. It is like a dream home with understated beauty and practicality. I appreciate the adaptor with 2 USB ports and a 3-pin power-point. This allowed me to charge both my mobile phones and camera at the same time. There is a night light in the bathroom when you turn off the lights. There is also an electric fireplace and air conditioner. The bed is ultra-comfortable and grand.

I'm glad I took the initiative to talk to busy Steve after guests had left for their daily outings and found him to be energetic and attentive. (That was when I discovered the cookies were home-made by him.) There are common areas such as a library, lounge and verandah for guests to relax in. Watching the humming birds feed and hearing a bird sing was a joy. A restaurant with good burgers is 5 minutes away.

This pretty inn with the owner's personal touch each day is a rare find and sets the bench mark for boutique lodging. It is a destination in itself. It was a delight returning to the tranquil grounds each day, watching the sunset and horses. Blackberry is like a grand dame that is young at heart. It was hard leaving her!

Room Tip: If you like breakfast served at your patio, you will need to choose the rooms in the newer wing - at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our quick trip to Yosemite. Because we made our plans just a few months ahead of time, there was no availability at any of the lodging options inside of the park (not to mention, lodging in Yosemite is quite pricey). So we chose to stay at the Blackberry Inn for its affordability and location.

We stayed in the Berry Patch, inside the main house, which was no big deal at all. We had no problems with privacy or noise. Our room was very spacious and extremely clean. We were greeted with freshly baked cookies each evening and enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning. For $15/person, Steve packed us a healthy sack lunch so that we would have plenty of food to take with us for our day of hiking.

The inn is a 15-minute drive to the park entrance, and from the park entrance, it takes about 45 minutes to drive to the valley floor. I was very glad we stayed near this entrance of the park, and the drive each morning was actually quite enjoyable.

Guests are provided with guidebooks and maps, and Steve will offer any advice on where to go and which trails to hike. There were board games in the cabinet upstairs and plenty of books and magazines to borrow for down-time. Keep in mind that this is a B&B, so things like chatting with the innkeepers and sitting down to breakfast with strangers just come with the territory. On the plus side, your breakfast is included, and you'll receive excellent customer service. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackberry Inn at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn at Yosemite

Address: 7567 Hamilton Station Loop, Loop At Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to simple pleasures and total comfort in your home away from home. The Blackberry Inn Bed and Breakfast is a romantic country farmhouse surrounded by National Forest, with a wraparound porch and hundreds of hummingbirds that visit daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackberry Inn At Yosemite Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Inn at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.