We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Inn at Yosemite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackberry Inn at Yosemite
Save
You added Blackberry Inn at Yosemite to your Saves list
7567 Hamilton Station Loop, Loop At Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Groveland B&B and Inns
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Peace in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Chef and proud co-owner Steve makes great breakfasts here - not huge, but gourmet! This big-hearted Southerner will accomodate any reasonable requests, to make your stay happier. The Inn is off a paved loop road from the main highway, ensuring quiet sleeping at night under a big starry sky. Most guests will, we suspect, head off to Yosemite National Park for the day, but a little-known secret that Steve will reveal is that Evergreen Lodge, about 20 miles away on the road to Hetch Hetchy, offers gourmet dinners, with an outside patio too.

We stayed in a ground-level room in the new Ahwanee wing. As promised, it was shaded and cool in temperature, even during the heatwave. The air-conditioning, when needed, was modern, easy to adjust, relatively quiet, and highly effective. The bed was just firm enough, as we like them, not mushy. The bathroom has a dark-sensitive night-light, something that all hotels and B-and-B's should have. Water was hot (when required) and plentiful. The sunflower-shaped shower head does a good job. Children are allowed, and we did hear them overhead, but only momentarily.

The open deck outisde our room served well for eating alfresco breakfasts with a sense of privacy, delivered to us PROMPTLY (the staff knock on your door) at 8 am. (If you stay in the main house, you will probably dine with other such guests at breakfast; if you stay in the Ahwanee wing, you will probably be served breakfast to your room.) Presumably, the early time is to allow people a good head start on the drive to Yosemite, a park that cannot provide overnight accomodation for all of its visitors. If you don't want to dine outside, then you can always dine inside at the large table with two chairs, (There was also a fridge.)The friendly staff at Blackberry can clean your room a little later if you're not the first out on the road. WiFi should prove adequate for most needs (it's a satellite connection). The two resident cats may gently demand your attention outdoors for grooming purposes. Parking is on-site and paved and sufficient. Birdwatching from your rocking-chair should be good (we saw quail, woodpeckers, even a black-headed grosbeak). A local three-meals family restaurant is just a half-mile away. Further food is available roughly 10 miles west in Groveland, which has a surprisingly good English tea room, among other things (but check their hours).

This is the best B-and-B that we have found in 5 years of staying at B-and-B's, not all of which we reviewed. Given time and money, we will return to this peaceful and comfortable property in the mountains. Yosemite is within an hour's drive, making the location overall a very good one.

We have only one suggestion to improve the experience, which Steve might think unnecessary considering the large bathtubs. That is, we would like to see a big California-style outdoor hot tub for night-time bathing under the stars after a long day of hiking in Yosemite. Children excluded, of course.

Room Tip: Ground-level rooms in the new Ahwanee wing stay cool in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
257
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the honeymoon sweet, beautiful new room! Large with lots of space and full privacy! The breakfasts were really good and it was nice to sit around the table and meet others and share stories of the park, also a great way to find out about what to do. While waiting for breakfast we would sit outside and watch the dozens of hummingbirds feeding, the pictures were great and the peacefulness of the setting was surreal. I would definitely stay here again, the owners do a great job of making their guests comfortable! Only about 15-20 min outside park entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is just the most amazing place to stay and unlike any other you will find so the Blackberry Inn will not disappoint. The rooms are carefully thought out and very inviting with every comfort available and touches of real luxury without losing the warmth of this lovely accommodation. The personal service received from Steve and Alex is rare these days and their efforts to keep the B&B running to high standards is much appreciated by everyone who stays. Yosemite is not too far away but the breakfasts are a delight and the areas for guests to sit and just relax and read a book or look at the wonderful humming birds on the porch makes you want to stay awhile.
All the rooms are different but none will disappoint. Steve is only too happy to happy to help with individual needs and with his his knowledge of the area. Cannot praise this place enough and would only stay here if visiting Yosemite again. Wish there were more places like this around the world but then it would not be a unique experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Blackberry Inn is a just wonderful. The attention to detail is apparent in every way- from the beautiful rooms, great bathrooms, fabulous breakfasts, and warmth of the owners. We stayed 3 nights in the Brameberry Room - which we loved. It has its own entrance and is on the same level as the parking are so we didn't have to carry our luggage up any stairs. The room is very spacious and has a small refrigerator with cream in case you want a cup of coffee (there is a kettle with instant coffee, tea, and hot chocolate). They also leave homemade chocolate chip cookies every afternoon on your dresser. It's the small touches that are a constant here!

Breakfast is different each morning and just delicious! They also will accommodate any food issues - you can let them know in advance when you book through their website. The photos on their site are true to life so you can feel comfortable selecting your room. Steve is very helpful answering any questions you might have.

Room Tip: You can really figure out what suits your needs from their website. The info and pictures are extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is an outstanding B&B nestled in the woods near Yosemite N.P.
We were there for 5 days and we had a different breakfast everyday on a different china place setting every day. Food was very good...prepared by the owner Steve !!
The personal service of the owners and the staff was first rate.
Steve's knowledge of Yosemite was very helpful in planning our visits to the park each day.
We met travelers and made friends with folks from England, Germany and the USA.
A great place to stay if you're going to Yosemite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed at a lot of B&B's over the years and this one by far is the nicest we have ever stayed at. The attention to detail and comfort are a 10! Highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at 'Half Dome' room in the new building for 3 nights from May 20, 2013.

Room: The room was excellent! We love it! It was tastefully designed, big and the bed was extremely plush and comfortable. The bathroom is huge, clean and comes with luxurious towels. It comes with its own private patio where you can take your breakfast. Steve made a point to come by every morning to see how the guests are doing and offer suggestions on where to go for the day and dining options. Do note that this room is on the same level as the parking area and it is easy for us to park right in front of the room and roll our luggage into our own private entrance. The only thing is that at night if some visitors return to the inn late, their car headlights may shine into the room. Overall, we don't have an issue with that as there is only a limited number of guests at the inn and the curtains provided adequate shade against the glare. The room is quiet and you awake to the sound of chirping birds in the morning.

Breakfast & Service: Steve was a very attentive & considerate host. Throughout the booking process, he patiently answered all my queries about visiting Yosemite. As I had special diet requirements, he made a point to ensure that the food I was served met my needs. My husband, who do not usually enjoy cookies, devoured all of Steve's cookies! It was certainly something to look forward to whenever we return from the valley. We also went over to the old building to look at all the buzzing hummingbirds swirling around! Love it!

Location: I was a bit hesitant about staying away from the valley at first since we were not familiar with the roads and it is the first time driving in US for us. However, my fears were soon put to rest. It was quite an enjoyable drive and the view is spectacular. It is about 30 minutes to the entrance of the valley and another 20 - 30 minutes to the valley itself. It was easy for us to also head to the Tioga Pass from the inn, where we even managed to drive all the the way to Mono Lake to see the tufa structures.

Pricing: The pricing of the rooms at the inn may be higher than what some other properties in and around the valley may offer, especially a B&B. However, I think it is a really beautiful property and the owners have taken great care to ensure the stay experience of their guests are memorable. I think if budget is not a big issue, it is certainly the place to stay while visiting Yosemite. That said, I also do think that you may wish to consider staying one night in the valley if you wish to do some very early morning hikes within the valley or the night valley tour which ends really late (10 - 11 pm) making the drive back tiring. But if it is just mainly day visits, the inn will more than adequately serve your needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackberry Inn at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn at Yosemite

Address: 7567 Hamilton Station Loop, Loop At Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to simple pleasures and total comfort in your home away from home. The Blackberry Inn Bed and Breakfast is a romantic country farmhouse surrounded by National Forest, with a wraparound porch and hundreds of hummingbirds that visit daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackberry Inn At Yosemite Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Inn at Yosemite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.