We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lillaskog Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lillaskog Lodge to your Saves list
Lillaskog Lodge
27557 Packard Canyon Road, P.O. Box 542, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Groveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helsinki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Lillaskog was very nice place to stay. Breakfast was good and location was beautiful.
Big El Capitan room was a good deal for four person. It takes a while to drive to Yosemite Valley, but I would say that if you cannot stay in the Valley this is one of the best places outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The lodge is peaceful and warm, with beautiful views. It was amazing to wake up and look out at the mountains. Everything was great and we had the best time!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay in Yosemite for several weeks. Finally we decided on this lodge and it rose above expectations. It is the closest to the western entrance to the park (just 7 miles), very quiet, clean, warm atmosphere, beautiful views, excellent breakfast and a good price compared to the price within the park. We missed the first night because we were unable to find the lodge, and had to sleep in the car somewhere in Groveland (Motels, pubs, restaurants and gas stations are all closed before 9PM, and no GSM cellular reception there). Our advice is to be careful using GPS - Enter it only the coordinates found in the lodge web site or get there in light hours (don’t leave SFO after 15:00 like we did). Kathy, who greeted us in the morning, knew how to make us forget that night in the car and compensated us in a sweet way. It is a great place to stay in Yosemite. The more days the merrier.
P.s - Don't miss Kathy's BlackBerry - a superior experience.

Room Tip: Make a reservation on their site directly for better prices. Do not forget not to rely on the addres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This lodge is quiet and out of the way (between Groveland and the west entrance to Yosemite). It's a bit hard to find, and DON'T use your GPS--directions are provided on the website. But the hostess did a great job of making us feel at home. When she found out we were on our honeymoon, she quickly rustled up a bottle of wine and a gift, scolding us for not letting her know beforehand! The kitchen is large and accessible to the guests, which was great for us to be able to prepare our own dinners. Breakfast is ample, with lots of fresh fruit and good coffee. The hostess gave us a recommendation for a restaurant for our final night and it exceeded expectations- delicious! The rooms are comfortable and quiet. In all, we had a great experience and will recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Lillaskog is only 10 miles from the Yosemite gates and sits upon a hill overlooking a beautiful valley. Ron and Tim stopped in long enough to make sure that we had everything we needed (a warm fire, eggs from the chicken coop next door, etc.), cleaned up the place, and otherwise left us the Inn to ourselves. I should say that our experience was atypical as we visited on weekdays in the middle of the winter, so we had the place to ourselves. On later visits, we'll have to share the lodge with other travelers. Still, our visit was absolutely wonderful. They upgraded us to a nicer room and took wonderful care of us. The first night, we arrived to a blazing fire and a freshly baked pie. After returning from the park on the second day, we came back to a bottle of wine and chocolates. There was a piano and guitar and many games to keep us amused. It felt like home... just a very big and beautiful home with gorgeous views. We're looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos,CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I must confess I had never stayed at a lodge and as a hotelier I did not know what to expect. It was clearly a new experience for me with respect to the coziness of the spaces and the kind of togetherness with other guests which I had not experienced before. The keeper was warm and kind but a little unprepared for the "curved (snow) ball" thrown at her by the storm which came through and knocked the power down. I was a little unprepared for the "that's just what happens when we have snow storms" exclamation, and was surprised to be the one to suggest plugging in the generator to regain (some) lighting. The lodge has a delightful dog, but be sure to ask what to do if he begins barking in the middle of the night. Please note these are not rants as I truly enjoyed the setting, the location and the lodge. The room we stayed in was on the second floor and was large and comfortable with its private bathroom. Great "brand new" experience for city folks like us! We plan to return in the summer with family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We had a change of plans and had to look for a place to stay in the last minute. We didn't know what to expect. We got there and it was like heaven in the middle of nowhere. The kitchen was fully equipped (including a dishwasher) and the fireplace was warm. They even had wi-fi and satellite TV! Bill, Joan and Jordie (the resident pet/helper) provided us with excellent hospitality. We woke up in the morning to a stunning view from the balcony. Just a short drive to Yosemite NP we decided to stay another night there instead of finding somewhere else.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lillaskog Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lillaskog Lodge

Address: 27557 Packard Canyon Road, P.O. Box 542, Groveland, CA 95321
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort and beauty of Lillaskog Lodge during your next trip to Yosemite. Our lovely 5,000 sq. ft. three story log cabin on a mountain top overlooks the beautiful snow-capped mountains of Yosemite and is just 10 minutes from the park's entrance. Relax in the Great Room and enjoy a beautiful view, the stone fireplace, or the entertainment center. Amenities include satellite TV, DVD, VHS, and Wireless Internet. Swim or fish in nearby Rainbow Pools or enjoy Yosemite National Park and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lillaskog Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lillaskog Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.