We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yurts in Yosemite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Lakes RV Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yosemite Lakes RV Resort to your Saves list
Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   31191 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321   |  
Hotel amenities
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yurts in Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The property was quiet and peaceful. It was a great place to read, sleep and hang out.
In the evening, we built a fire. They have a fire pit which we used to roast marshmellows and sit around to chit chat. We cooked on the propane gas grill. Inside there is a 2 burner stove, no oven. The kitchen was functional--apartment size refrigerator, microwave, 4 cup coffee maker, table for four, cooking and eating utensils, plates, cups, glassess...all in sets of four so if you have company, bring along extras.
The bathroom was big, but since it is a partition, whatever went on in the bathroom could be heard on the other side. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic and the water got hot quickly.
The bed and the futon were firm, which I didn't mind but my husband woke up sore. I recommend taking extra pillows--they only provide 6. The front desk was nice enough to provide an extra blanket upon request.
The staff was helpful when we asked for the extra blanket and when we informed them that the tv was not working. Both times a staff member came to our yurt. All staff members we were in contact with were helpful, polite and friendly.
The store up the road doesn't offer much for convenience. So, make sure you don't forget anything at home otherwise you will have to do without.
At check in we got a pass for Yosemite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
50
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed just last weekend and was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations upon our arrival. We checked in late around 10:30pm and the gentleman who helped us was friendly and welcoming. Our hillside yurt was spacious and very clean however the bed was pretty miserable to sleep on. My husband compared it to sleeping on a slab of concrete, luckily we thought enough ahead and brought an air mattress. The yurt is supplied with paper towels and tp and a 1st days worth of coffee and sugar which was a nice touch. Although we were placed in #17 up on the hill and pretty far away from the rest, we still had to endure a very rude/loud "red neck" crew across the road. Sleeping and relaxing was impossible due to their revved up 4x4's going up and down the hill throughout the night. I'm sure they kept the entire camp up. We mentioned the problem to the lady at check out and she nodded knowing exactly who we were talking about but only stated we should have came down and complained in the middle of night. Who wants a bunch of crazy drunk red necks mad at you for complaining? Aside from not being able to sleep we did enjoy the yurt itself. The "family" lodge is really dated and in need of paint and dusting. We went on a travelzoo deal for approx 65 a night. I wouldn't pay any more than that. This place has potential of being really nice if they gave it some tlc.

Room Tip: number 17 is great as long your neighbors across the road aren't too roudy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's half camping, half hotel. There's just something wrong about seeing Yosemite and staying in a hotel. Of course, a February visit means the climate is cold and unforgiving.

Enter... the Yurt. It's not camping. It's not a hotel. It's a little bit of both. You are in a warm indoor tent-like structure, with all the benefits of camping (campfires, smores, hiking, etc.), with the luxury of sleeping in a bed, a basic stove, refrigerator, even a tv (we never turned it on). It's about 30 minutes to drive to Yosemite Valley, though you will stop a few times for some of the scenic overlooks.

Don't expect it to be as nice as a hotel. The amenities are very basic... but compared to camping, it's the Ritz! I'd recommend to anyone visiting Yosemite to visit the Yosemite Lakes Yurt Village. At the end of the day it's a quiet retreat on a hill, as opposed to thousands of the great unwashed camping down in the valley. Amateurs.

Bring in food because it's in the middle of nowhere. The local store is closed after 4, and the next town is probably 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family of 4 just returned from a February trip to Yosemite and stayed in a Hillside Yurt. We absolutely loved it. I was quite nervous about staying warm with snow on the ground and nighttime temperatures in the 20s, but we were nice a toasty - even without using the extra linens. Everything we needed was there including a nice sized kitchen, microwave, coffee pot, toaster, stove and refrigerator. It was perfect for us. Oh, and only ~10 minutes from the park. A GREAT trip!

Room Tip: We were in Yurt 9. It was nice that we didn't have really nearby neighbors. Across the road, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our yurt was toasty warm and cosy (despite it being November, and rainy), and equipped with everything you need - including kitchen gear and a fridge, so we could cook our own food. There's not much in the way of shops nearby, though, so bring things to eat with you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We booked our reservation on line for a tent site and double checked it twice. They booked us in an RV site, we requested to have a tent site and we were told to go check out what may still be available. So we did! Found a nice large site on the river however, it was all blocked by trees. We proceeded to pitch the tent and set up camp only to find out the showers/toilets by our site were closed due to repairs. It would have been nice for the lady checking us in to let us know that ahead of time, we would have picked a different site. Too late to pick up and move everthing... I asked how long the restroom would be close and the man working on it said "Awe who knows a couples days maybe a month!" Really! Hmmm. Well they did finally open it the next day so at least we had toilets and 1 shower near-by. There were no benches in the restrooms to put your things on, they were filthy no one ever came to clean them, they must of restocked the paper towels because they never ran out. I finally went to the office to ask when do the restrooms get cleaned. The lady replied "Everyday!" I told her" I don't think so no one has been to ours it's filthy". There was a couple checking in and I made sure they overheard me. Well, as it would be 2 ladies showed up on the morning we were leaving to clean. We have been camping the better part of 30 years and this is the worst I have come across. The whole camp ground just looked run down, the lodge was a mess, very spotty WI-Fi coverage in the lodge only, No cell service, and to boot don't think your going to put up a clothes line to dry your towels Not allowed! I brought my hammock which I do on all camping trips and I was told "You can't put that up no hanging it in the trees!" that's a first for me. Other than being with my family & friends and enjoying their company, as well as Yosemite there needs to be some major changes before i will come back here. For the price they charge you would think they would take better care of the campground. I must say the campground was very quite day and night no rowdy people even though there were a big group of small kids having fun they were very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Our experience was awful. The staff was rude to us and treated us as if we were beneath them. We were there for one night only because of the treatment we received and the fact that the bathrooms were dirty and old and broken down. Their wonderful wifi was only available in one room at certain times o the day-- plus there is NO CELL SERVICE. We were stuck but only for that one night. Be warned

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yosemite Lakes RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lakes RV Resort

Address: 31191 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321
Location: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lakes RV Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Yosemite Lakes RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lakes Cabins And Hostel
Yosemite Lakes Cabins Hotel Groveland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yosemite Lakes RV Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.