We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Groveland Hotel's Cellar Door

Groveland Hotel's Cellar Door
18767 Main Street, PO Box 289, Groveland, CA 95321
+1 209-962-4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Groveland Hotel's Cellar Door is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Groveland
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Back Street
Transit: YARTS stop is a block away at Mary Laveroni Park.
Groveland, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a wonderful dinner at the Groveland Hotel. Our server Kim was very attentive and personable. The food was excellent, the atmosphere was great. The owner came by our table and shared some history with us which was nice. We are part time in Groveland and have both stayed at the hotel and dined and have never been disappointed! Thanks you!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    43
    17
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went for dinner on a Friday night. What an awesome find! We meet Kim who greeted us for the front desk, then also gave us a very cool tour of the infamous "Lyle's Haunted Room". Later, my wife and I decided to eat in the restaurant and had yet another woman named Kim serving us. Fantastic server who just happens to make great martinis! As for the food, Chef Andre does not disappoint...I would STRONGLY suggest the risotto appetizer and the sirloin...oh, and the salmon! Great staff and the owner is a sweetheart as well, an all n'all spectacular experience!!!

Looking forward to coming back and staying there next time!

Brett and Cari Myers

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Christmas Dinner!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We made reservations for a party of 6 for Christmas Dinner on 12/25/13 at 7:30PM. When we made the reservations by phone, no one mentioned that there would be a special Prix Fixe menu and that items on the regular menu would be unavailable. Two of our party are vegetarians. Several items on the regular menu (that we had checked online) would have been suitable, but nothing on the Prix Fixe Christmas menu. The waitress was extremely nice and accommodating, and said the chef would put together a vegetarian plate for the 2 vegetarians. Her pleasant attitude and good service are the only reasons we are rating this restaurant "Poor" instead of "Terrible." The vegetarian dish consisted of a plate of undercooked (crunchy!) rice, sauteed onions, tomatoes and mushrooms (just OK), and RAW fennel. Virtually inedible (for $30)! The meat eaters' dishes were not much better (for $35). One of our party sent back the fish because it was overcooked and inedible. The 2 who ordered prime rib enjoyed their beef, but they did not enjoy their sides. The salads were OK, but the pumpkin soup tasted like watered-down pumpkin pie filling from a can. We ordered the chocolate cake for dessert and agreed that it tasted like frozen SaraLee supermarket cake. Really disappointing. Maybe it was just too late and the staff were ready to go home? Maybe the regular chef had Christmas Day off? We cannot imagine a less festive meal. At least we were able to laugh about it after a couple of days!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“christmas dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We traveled on christmas day, and this was only resturant open for dinner,. We were very happy about that ! We showed up early, and were greeted warmly, They had a specific menu just for that night's dinner, I had prime rib, my hubby had the lobster special, the lobster special wasn't all that great, but good for a small town. We had the salad special, which was amazing, it was spinich leaves, with apple slices, and an amazing vinergarette. Very cozy place, the owner greeted us, and was very sweet, we could tell she knew many of the locals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The steak is to die for! Not to mention the s'mores for desert! The night we ate was also their weekly quiz night which was a lot of fun despite our dismal performance!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Groveland Hotel's Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Groveland Hotel's Cellar Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.